View Full Version : zip to PK3!??!?! NooB question

07-18-2002, 07:11 AM
Hey, I just got my FIRST skin completed. Now, I need to know how I take the zip file, and make it a pk3.... its so simple I dont know...

Any help is apprecative.... Thank Ya.:duel:

07-18-2002, 07:26 AM
Try renaming it. Instead of whatever.zip, make it whatever.pk3.

07-18-2002, 07:27 AM
hmmm Well, it still says it is a WinZip file

07-18-2002, 08:02 AM
you need to change the extension from .zip to .pk3, to do this you have to remove the "hide extension from know file types" tag. Open anyfolder go in the tool menu---> folder options----> view tag and remove the tag from "hide extension from known file types".

07-18-2002, 08:30 AM
if a "pk3" is still recognised as a zip file, that is fine. I use winzip for all my pk3'ing needs. Works better and faster than anything else I've tried.

07-18-2002, 08:32 AM
Ok im gonna go test. Thanks guys, Ill report my results right here.

07-18-2002, 09:57 AM
I use XP's built in zipping dll, which for some reason I can't adapt to open up pk3s. So I gotta rename them every time I make a change, which is often when I'm tweaking an NPC and making a skin. Anyone have suggestions for that btw?

07-19-2002, 12:30 AM
The best program for working with .pk3's is definately pakscape.

It is very simple to use and it allows you to open the .pk3 with the directory structure displayed clearly. It saves to .zip, Quake III .pk3 as well as the Quake .pak file extentions.

You can grab it here;


The only limitation I found with the program was that previous versions could not handle large .pk3 files. The new version however has no problem in opening large files such as the assets0.pk3


Darkhold X
07-19-2002, 01:43 AM
I just use winzip, and have no problems.:o

07-20-2002, 10:11 AM
definitely use pakscape. i use it all the time. it rules, and its incredibly easy 4 me 2 use. it makes everything go smoother.