PDA

View Full Version : Npcs and sabers


Londo Mollari
07-21-2002, 07:03 AM
Is there anyway to assign a specific saberhilt to a spawnable npc?

Thank You

idontlikegeorge
07-21-2002, 07:55 AM
i think saber hilt is controlled by the .npc's class

ie class luke would have lukes hilt

ronbrothers
07-22-2002, 01:04 AM
That appears so. At first, I thought it could be controlled by naming the particular saber folder ie saber to saber_desann. But "desann" does not refer to the character name, but the character class. So all npcs that have a "luke" class will have whatever saber you have installed for Luke.

Emon
07-22-2002, 01:57 AM
What if you make a folder called saber_newclass with the new saber in it and change the class to newclass?

idontlikegeorge
07-22-2002, 04:07 AM
nice idea

Harukaze
07-22-2002, 06:13 AM
How will it handle that character's AI though?

I think - although I could be mistaken - that I saw a line for npcs.cfg that could change saber models... and if not, it might be possible to use the Icarus script to force a different model to be chosen. Let me see if I can play around a little with that and I'll see what happens.

Londo Mollari
07-22-2002, 10:20 PM
I know you can assign custom sabers to the sp mods but I was hoping to do this with the spawnable mods

Emon
07-23-2002, 12:44 AM
Dunno about the AI. I'm not sure how much of the class really influences the AI. Doing the JediStormie/RebornStormie thing has a much greater impact than the class.

Say you wanted Desann to have a new hilt without overwriting the old one, maybe you could make the class as Desann_New and the saber hilt folder as saber_desann_new? Perhaps it could work something like the JediStormie method.

Merritt
07-24-2002, 12:36 PM
Someone work it out-i want my maul character to use his saber hilt - i may have to try this method :cool:

Emon
07-24-2002, 03:41 PM
Whoa, it almost works!

I've got the hilt folder as saber_jedinew, and the class as jedinew, and the model and NPC name as JediWookiee.

He spawns with the NEW SABER HILT, except that the blade never extends. I don't know why. He fights as if he is a Jedi, just doesn't have his saber extended.

Harukaze
07-24-2002, 07:24 PM
Hey, great call on that. Problem is, I think it's cause the class doesn't really exist. I had a similar problem when I messed up the class on my Reborn-prefixed skin. It got the saber, but wouldn't ignite; it was kinda funny how quick his Jedi counterpart killed him.

I have no clue why Raven did things the way they did, honestly. I mean, they could have just had a line on the .npc for a custom saber, but instead it's controlled by class. Other weapon-related issues could have been controlled by something similar, but instead it needs a special prefix. And to get most Jedi and Dark Jedi to work, they need special prefixes too. Except what, three? Maybe four? Luke, Desann, Tavion and possible Kyle [never tried spawning him] work without having Jedi or Reborn prefixes. But WHY? There's no rhyme or reason to it. They make everything else far more accessible to us than other game developers might have [XWA anyone?], but it's like nothing here makes sense.

Well, I'm not really helping, so I'll just end this on a good luck wish. Definate props to you if you succeed.

Emon
07-24-2002, 10:33 PM
Like Chang said, there was a ton of stuff he wanted to impliment into npcs.cfg, but didn't have time. That's why I'm hoping that an expansion will allow for some access to some of the SP source or at least some more freedom for SP editing. They don't have to give us ALL the source, just the stuff in jk2gamex86.dll or whatever. Something is better than nothing.

-Chrono_MOT-
07-24-2002, 10:44 PM
emon, did you go into the data file that contains the different model directories and make sure yours was in there? I'm fixing to try that now.

Emon
07-24-2002, 11:11 PM
Uh, what?

I said the hilt works, but the saber is whacked because it's trying to use a class that doesn't exist.

-Chrono_MOT-
07-25-2002, 06:02 PM
yea, yea I know. I tried the method you did and my mace windu is still holding obi wan's hilt. Did you put all the hilts in one pk3? the directory was models/weapons2/saber_jediwindu and I set his class to jediwindu. he spawned with obi's saber.

Interesting though...if Chang would only convince raven to add a class-definition script we could have any kind of NPC we wanted (rancor, etc) given certain setbacks.

Then again, the answer could also lie in the MP source code, of which various things have been found related to NPCs. I know it doesn't apply very well to SP source code but most of the commands are the same.

Anyway, we'll see.

EDIT: Emon, what kind of fan do you have? I have the EXACT same system except mine won't run at 1.53 because it keeps overheating. I'd be interested to know what you run for CPU cooling so I might try that.

Emon
07-25-2002, 08:05 PM
1. It's not up to Raven about source code and such. Chang said he wanted to impliment classes and AI into npcs.cfg but had no time.

2. I have a Thermaltake Volcano 6+, however I recommend the 7+, it's much better.

-Chrono_MOT-
07-25-2002, 10:00 PM
does this mean Chang could implement that into npcs.cfg right now (if he wanted to)?

Emon
07-25-2002, 10:27 PM
Perhaps, but it would require doing so in the next patch.