PDA

View Full Version : This is how to get Saber Hilts you downloaded into Jedimod 1.1!


TheWhiteRaider
07-29-2002, 05:57 PM
I found this out by accedent. This will get it so the saber hilts are skined in the game not that ugly grey color. This is so you can update saber hilt that are made by someone else just don't put it up for Download without permission.

1.Get a hilt you want
2.Open the pk3 files(I used PakScape for this)
3.Make a folder in the models/weapons2/ folder named Saber
4.Make a folder in the models/weapons2/ folder named Saber_*** (replace *** with what the hilt name)
5. Put the files for the saber in both folders

This by itself would make the the saber to be skined, but then it messes with Kyle's saber so here is what you do.

6.Open assets0.pk3
7.find models/weapons2/saber
8.Make a new pk3 file and name it Kyle_saber.pk3
9.Make a folder models/weapons2/saber and models/weapons2/saber_kyle
10. Copy the files from assets0.pk3 models/weapons2/saber to both the folders in the kyle_saber.pk3
11. Save the file and you are all set

Also what this does is adds Kyle's saber to the menu in Jedimodv1.1

Hope this helps

TheWhiteRaider
07-29-2002, 06:01 PM
Oh, one other thing is I put all the Saber hilt Pk3 files in the Jedimod folder. That way it doesn't mess with the SP game.

TheWhiteRaider
07-29-2002, 06:05 PM
I you find any problems let me know I'll try to fix it.

Gooey
07-29-2002, 06:11 PM
this might fix the problem I was having with the hud icons

I will try it

TheWhiteRaider
07-29-2002, 06:15 PM
It may not work with Huds, but give it a try.

Dest
07-29-2002, 06:41 PM
Hmmm i thought adding files to the saber/ directory would make it so you always got pk3 unpure errors when trying to join a server. Also if you have two hilts with the same texture file name then one texture will over write the other one. Like a hilt with texture saber.jpg would overwrite the texture of kyle's hilt. But the only way to fix that is to edit the texture path in the model with a model editor. New models should put everything in the saber_hiltname dirrectory and link to the texture in the same directory. Remake is working on a hilt pack that redoes a bunch of hilts in the correct way.

The hud icons dont work cause I never added the ability to have it load hud icons. It crashed everytime I tried to register the hud icon so I think they actually would have to be hardcoded or maybe registered on startup somehow.

TheWhiteRaider
07-29-2002, 07:15 PM
That is what I thought too, but it worked for me.

Gooey
07-29-2002, 07:18 PM
wait, you ADDED things to the assets0.pk3?

I thought from your description that you only copied things from it into a new pk3. Adding things to the assets files may not allow you to join pure servers, but I am not sure which assets files effect that.

I think that the reason my hud icons were getting messed up was because there WAS no kyle, reborn, and desann saber pk3 files for jedimod to look for, as they are just referenced in the jedimod pk3. If you actually create a kyle, reborn, luke, desann saber hilt file, I think that would solve the problem.

Gonna try that.

TheWhiteRaider
07-29-2002, 08:23 PM
No I left the assets0.pk3 alone.

TheWhiteRaider
07-29-2002, 08:27 PM
Alright two things I must tell about.

1.This method does work for on-line play on pure servers and doesn't give an unpure message.

2.If the server is pure to others that don't have to same file the saber will look like Kyle's saber, but it also does this to properly updated files too.

This method works I tested it on 7 computers so it works!