PDA

View Full Version : Love the Yoda Model but miss my grappling hook. Combining Mods ?


Bird Of Prey!
07-30-2002, 04:18 AM
First let me say that Dest did one hell of a job on the Yoda model. Since its release, I've only been playing with that model and Jedi mod 2.2.

However, I miss the grappling mod, it made levels like the Bespin Exhaust shafts fun to play. I couldn't begin to count the times that I was able to use the hook to save myself, after being thrown off of a high place, and then frag the unsuspecting opponent. I've been a fan of the grappling hook since the Quake 1 and 2 days.

My question is, is there a way to add the grappling hook to the Jedimod v2.2 mod? The yoda skin is only fun if it is the correct size and the grapple mod does not include sizing.

My cousin suggested that simply dropping the Grapple1.pke file into the Jedimod file might work. I told him that I didn't think it would be that easy. Any suggestions??

razorace
07-30-2002, 04:48 AM
actually Dest wasn't involved with the Yoda Model OR JediMod 2.2++. Both were made by other parties. As for grapple, just try putting it in the base dir. It MAY just work. Some mods are compatible but not all. If that doesn't work, you'd have to manual edit the JM code to accept the grapple code but that's probably behond what you're willing to do.

Lightning
07-30-2002, 04:52 AM
were did you get the grappling hook mod??:confused:

Bird Of Prey!
07-30-2002, 05:05 AM
Originally posted by lightning clock
were did you get the grappling hook mod??:confused:

D/led it when I joined a Grapple server.

Lunatic Jedi
07-30-2002, 05:52 AM
Where did that server get it? Need... grapple! GAH!

Lightning
07-30-2002, 07:35 AM
Originally posted by Lunatic Jedi
Where did that server get it? Need... grapple! GAH!

me 2:(

WitchDrAsh
07-30-2002, 10:44 AM
If mods include code they are not compatible, so I can pretty much guarantee your grappling hook will not work with any version of Jedi Mod

razorace
07-30-2002, 03:06 PM
But it's worth a shot. :)

Lord Nodata
07-30-2002, 04:13 PM
Originally posted by Lunatic Jedi
Where did that server get it? Need... grapple! GAH!

We'll be running the grapple mod on our server today.

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=51955

Lightning
07-30-2002, 04:47 PM
Originally posted by Lord Nodata


We'll be running the grapple mod on our server today.

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=51955

can you please sent me the grapple mod??

Blaize1234
07-30-2002, 04:52 PM
why doesn't he just put auto-download for the server?

Lord Nodata
07-30-2002, 05:04 PM
the server DOES have auto-download enabled

Bird Of Prey!
07-31-2002, 03:55 AM
Originally posted by razorace
As for grapple, just try putting it in the base dir. It MAY just work. Some mods are compatible but not all. If that doesn't work, you'd have to manual edit the JM code to accept the grapple code but that's probably behond what you're willing to do.

razor, I've tried putting the mod in both the Jedimod, and base folders. Neither work. I'm not beyond editing the JM code with the right instructions. Can you help??

Lightning
07-31-2002, 04:10 AM
hey Bird Of Prey! can you please sent me that grapple mod of yours??

razorace
07-31-2002, 04:24 AM
uuurrrr....uuuhhh... I don't think I can really help. I have spent the time to really mess with the code yet. First, you're going to need teh source code for the grapple Mod and Jedi Mod. I know the JediMod Source is available but I don't know about the grapple mod. Heck, I don't even know where the grapple mod is downloadable from. :P After that, it all depends on how complicated the grapple code is. If the grapple code is simple, you could probably just cut and paste the code over Jedi Mod.

I hope that gets you started in the right direction. :)

Razor Ace

Lord Nodata
07-31-2002, 10:10 AM
I combined BOTH codes before the 1.04 patch fixes. If you have the source to JediMod, I can just email you the source to the Grapple mod (if I've still got it around here). The Grapple mod is pretty well documented, so all you have to do is open up each source file and search it for "Grapplemod" and it should pull you right to what you need to copy/paste over to the JediMod.

One thing though, if you DO get it compiled and working, you HAVE to email me the final result. :D

Lightning
07-31-2002, 02:13 PM
nice for you now PLEASE sent it to (my mail is the_supermonkey@msn.com)

razorace
07-31-2002, 02:15 PM
But for the LOVE OF GOD, please don't release it as JediMod 2.5+++++ or some crap like that. We're still getting over the whole 2.2++ situation. :P

TheWhiteRaider
07-31-2002, 02:35 PM
You can find a Grapple mod over at

www.massassi.net (http://www.massassi.net)

Lightning
07-31-2002, 04:03 PM
Originally posted by TheWhiteRaider
You can find a Grapple mod over at

www.massassi.net (http://www.massassi.net)

what's the name of the mod en does it have any thing elles in it??

Bird Of Prey!
07-31-2002, 07:21 PM
Originally posted by Lord Nodata
If you have the source to JediMod, I can just email you the source to the Grapple mod (if I've still got it around here). The Grapple mod is pretty well documented, so all you have to do is open up each source file and search it for "Grapplemod" and it should pull you right to what you need to copy/paste over to the JediMod.

:confused: I hate to sound like a nOOb but this is a bit confusing. What is a "Source Code" vs. a "*.pk3 file" vs. a "*.cfg" file? I'm very computer literate but this is above my head??

Bird Of Prey!
07-31-2002, 07:27 PM
Originally posted by Lightning


what's the name of the mod en does it have any thing elles in it??

Lightning there are two different versions of the Grapple Mod. One is called "Grapple" and the other "Grapple 1." I think Grapple 1 is faster and more accurate.

I cannot send you the file because I do not have it in zipped form. If I zip up the files that I have then it would include my "jk2mpconfig" file which has my username, settings etc. I don't want to forward this info.

However, if you give me an idea when you'll be on this evening, I'll start a Grapple Server and all you'll have to do is search for my player name, connect to the server and the Mod will D/L.

snipedog
07-31-2002, 07:32 PM
I didn't find any grapple mod at that site.

Bird Of Prey!
07-31-2002, 07:39 PM
Originally posted by snipedog
I didn't find any grapple mod at that site.

Snipe, I've searched Massassai, JediknightII, and a few other Jedi Outcast sites and can no longer find the grapplemod.

However, read the post above yours, I'll extend my offer to you as well!

Lord Nodata
07-31-2002, 08:40 PM
The mod is running on my server at this very moment. Just connect and download it.

razorace
08-01-2002, 12:43 AM
I hate to sound like a nOOb but this is a bit confusing. What is a "Source Code" vs. a "*.pk3 file" vs. a "*.cfg" file? I'm very computer literate but this is above my head??

Source Code = The normal readable text files that consists of the game code. You can just alter them by using a simple text editor. But to "compile" them (turn them into useable game code) you're going to need the JK2 SDK (software developer kit) from www.ravensoft.com.

.pk3 Files = JK2 uses zip files called .pk3 files to conventantly organize your complied source code and data for the main JK2 program and Mods.

.cfg = configuration files that tell JK2 what setting to run. These can also contain custom scripts and such. These may or might not be readable text files (it depends on the .cfg files).

Lightning
08-01-2002, 02:34 AM
Originally posted by Bird Of Prey!
However, if you give me an idea when you'll be on this evening, I'll start a Grapple Server and all you'll have to do is search for my player name, connect to the server and the Mod will D/L.

what's the name of that server??

Bird Of Prey!
08-01-2002, 03:06 AM
Originally posted by Lightning


what's the name of that server??

You're too late tonight, I'm heading to bed. I'll be back Thurs or Friday. My server name changes depending on my mood. Search for Bird Of Prey!

Lightning
08-01-2002, 03:09 AM
Originally posted by Bird Of Prey!


You're too late tonight, I'm heading to bed. I'll be back Thurs or Friday. My server name changes depending on my mood. Search for Bird Of Prey!

can you just sent it to me who cares if i have your settings not that i can do any thing with it

razorace
08-01-2002, 03:57 AM
Yeah, only took over the world with them. :)

Bird Of Prey!
08-02-2002, 02:42 AM
Originally posted by Lightning
can you just sent it to me who cares if i have your settings not that i can do any thing with it

Lightning, I worried more about it messing with YOUR system's game settings than anything else. However, if you insist, I'll zip it up and you'll just need to do the following after you unzip the files.

1) Open your own "jk2mpconfig" file with the Windows Notepad. This file can be found in your "Base" folder.
2) Open it with Notepad, then click "Edit" and "Select All." After that click "Copy" and close the "Base\jk2mpconfig" folder.
3) Next open the "Gamedata" folder, open the "Grapple1" folder, and click on the "jk2mpconfig" file in this folder.
4) Open this file with Notepad, then click "Edit" and "Select All." After that click "Paste." Your own "jk2mpconfig" settings should now be in the "Gamedata\Grapple1" folder.
5) Now click "File" and then "Save."
6) Close this window.

After this activate JediKnight Outcast, goto your "Mod" list, and load the Grapple 1 mod.

All I need now is your e-mail address!

Lightning
08-02-2002, 04:49 AM
my mail is the_supermonkey@msn.com

btw can yopu use that mod with all the jk 2 game's??

mythren
08-02-2002, 12:44 PM
I DL'd my grapple mod from Nodata's server just fine - the address is in my sig; just go to Setup->Options and turn Autodownloading on, wait about 2 minutes and bam! There you have it :).

Bird Of Prey!
08-02-2002, 10:46 PM
Originally posted by Lightning
my mail is the_supermonkey@msn.com

btw can yopu use that mod with all the jk 2 game's??

Lightning, I have your e-mail and I have the file prepared. :) However, we had a big storm here and my ADSL Service is down. Right now I'm connecting through a molasses 56K modem. Anyway, the service is supposed to be up by tommorrow or, worst case scenario, Monday. :(

I have not forgotten about you and I will send that file as soon as my "Lightspeed" ADSL Modem is working. I'll keep you updated!

snipedog
08-03-2002, 03:27 PM
please send me the grapple mod also

trickdaddy1319@yahoo.com

thanks,

Bird Of Prey!
08-03-2002, 11:29 PM
Lightning, and snipe, I'm still stuck in the 56K dark ages. My ADSL provider is pissing me off! As soon as my Highspeed service is fixed I'll send both of you the file. Please e-mail me if you get it in the mean time.

This sucks! I can't play JKII online because it is laggy as hell at 56K. I even tried scaling down to the bare bones! :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

snipedog
08-03-2002, 11:47 PM
I was so disappointed I found a "jedi vs merc" server and when I joined it was not even close to jedi vs merc. There was no grapple (yes it was running 1.03) and to make matters worse, I could not pick up any guns, could not use anything more saber and Basic force powers (no grip, no heal, no nothing) while on the other team, they were using guns AND saber AND basic force on me. Hmmm that didn't seem right.

If anyone has IPs of dedicated jedi vs merc servers please share. so far it looks like this mod has potential but if its gonna be another berylium mod for quake 3 (much potential, 2 servers total) then i'll just have to pass and wait for quake4.

keeps fingers crossed...

Lightning
08-04-2002, 02:26 AM
''jedi vs merc vs sith'' is a good jedi vs merc server

defalc
08-04-2002, 02:33 AM
198.49.215.125 - Jedi VS Merc VS Sith
Turn on Allow Downloads to get the Merc Grappling Hook

Rules:
- Jedi are light force powers, and all sabre colours except red.
- Sith are dark powers, red sabres only.
- No killing other people on your team.
- No exploiting of bugs or cheating.
- Sabre off does not equal peace, play or die.
- It's a server not a chatroom, either spectate to chat or type fast.

It contains numerous custom models and maps (Sandarena, Duel of the Fates, Genosis Factory)

Lightning
08-04-2002, 09:22 AM
Originally posted by defalc
198.49.215.125 - Jedi VS Merc VS Sith
Turn on Allow Downloads to get the Merc Grappling Hook

i need a grapple hook for all game's

snipedog
08-04-2002, 01:23 PM
Ok, I finally connect to the server and now it says "Server uses Protocol 16"

WTF?

I'm running 1.03 and I have auto-download enabled.

I'm starting to think JvMvS is not gonna be for me..

ExarDunnan
08-04-2002, 01:25 PM
I know it's a bit late, but I found a few grapple mods at massassi site, but they weren't the ones you were talking about. They both had several negitive comments, so I didn't download them...

Likewise, my computer that I can download stuff onto has a screwed up internet thing (says that there are no network cables plugged in, yet they clearly are, and the internet is networked with this one, which does work....), so I'm on my parent's comp now, and can't download the game or anything, so I'm stuck not being able to play online, so I'm stuck playing bots that jump off cliffs, get themselves smashed in doors, and just run around in circles (sadly to say that even if they didn't do that, I'd still be far past their level, as I played this game 24//7 when the intenet still worked).

Another problem is that I have a "protocol version 15", when most good servers that I used to go on use "protocal version 16". As far as I know, I didn't change the protocol at all (mainly because I don't know how), and I used to even have protocol 16... I'm confused (in other words, all you people who are 35 and still live in your parent's basements who know about EVERTHING about computers and stuff, HELP ME OUT HERE)! I beleive that's all, so...

ExarDunnan
08-04-2002, 01:27 PM
I have the same problem, I (for some non-existent reason) have protocol 15...

snipedog
08-04-2002, 02:46 PM
COULD THIS SITE BE ANY SLOWER? I think these forums are hosted on a 33.6 kbps connection. It took me only about 10 minutes to load this response page from the main lucasforums.

ANYWAYS..

I'm going to wait till this mod is a *little* bit more available to the general public. So far out of all the people that frequent these boards, there's only about 2 people who have it and for reasons of their own they can't email it to anyone. There is only 1 server up in the world that I have heard of and it uses protocol 16, which apparently is not included in the 1.03 upgrade patch.

So...

Don't worry about sending me the file. It wont do any good anyways since there aren't any servers around.

Thx anyways.

Bird Of Prey!
08-05-2002, 01:35 AM
Snipe, the Grapple 1 Mod worked fine for me in both 1.03 and 1.04. There aren't many Grapple servers out there because the Mod is so hard to find. Let me know if you want to try it.

Lightning
08-05-2002, 02:25 AM
Originally posted by Bird Of Prey!
Snipe, the Grapple 1 Mod worked fine for me in both 1.03 and 1.04. There aren't many Grapple servers out there because the Mod is so hard to find. Let me know if you want to try it.

can you play the mod in all the game's or only in jedi vs merc??

defalc
08-06-2002, 02:29 AM
Originally posted by snipedog
Ok, I finally connect to the server and now it says "Server uses Protocol 16"

WTF?

I'm running 1.03 and I have auto-download enabled.

I'm starting to think JvMvS is not gonna be for me..
The server uses 1.04, upgrade

Azymn
08-06-2002, 05:09 PM
The new jediMod1.2 has the grapple code in it.

And i think you can enable in all gametypes, if i read correctly.

ASk
08-07-2002, 06:28 AM
yup
it has mine code in it.

My mod is kinda hard to find because I never submitted the latest version of it to the sites.

Could you tell me what other grapple hook mods are out there...i need to yell on them a bit (mine was first)

Bird Of Prey!
08-08-2002, 09:11 PM
Originally posted by Lightning


can you play the mod in all the game's or only in jedi vs merc??

Works in all the games!