PDA

View Full Version : KOTOR on my comp


Irishman26
07-31-2002, 11:09 PM
i have a

Pentium 4 1.1Ghz WinXp
390 ram
16bit sound card pci
Geforce 2mx400 64mb ram pci(no agp ports) latest drivers
direct x 8.1b
plenty of gb left

i can run jedi outcast at good frame rate(30-70) at medium settings

also, will kotor use/support opengl, direct3d or both.

Old_Ben
08-01-2002, 12:09 AM
I hope yours work, becasue if yours doesn't work mine wont work. I don't think the specifications for running the game are known yet, though.

Com Raven
08-01-2002, 07:34 AM
NWN was open gl...

anyways, sounds all fine, with maybe the exception of the MX...

FunClown
08-01-2002, 08:57 AM
Shame about the no agp ports. :(

See if you can download a demo of the game before you buy it to test performance on your set up. :)

Com Raven
08-01-2002, 09:32 AM
I wonder if there will be a demo...

Ewok Hunter
08-08-2002, 02:09 AM
I don't Remember any bioware demos, but it could be that i just went out and bought the games on the release weekend :D

Com Raven
08-08-2002, 03:31 PM
BG II and MDK II both had a demo...

Longjocks
08-08-2002, 09:41 PM
BioWare also released any early build of the toolset as somewhat of a demo.

I have a feeling I won't be running KotOR at full specs. They have only recently been releasing games that I can't play at full specs and I have a P3 800, 256Mb RAM, GeForce2 GTS Pro 64Mb.

NWN is one of the few games that I can't crank up to full.

Ewok Hunter
08-08-2002, 11:30 PM
^ It's all of those lighting effects, sure they look great but they must take up quite a bit of processing power :(

FunClown
08-09-2002, 08:32 AM
If there's any shading you could try turning that off.

Ewok Hunter
08-09-2002, 04:23 PM
yeah, and maybe turn the resolution down.

Histys-History
08-09-2002, 06:10 PM
I wont be able to run Starwars KOTR on my pc cause mine can just run Jedi outcast on 800x600 Resolution and med graphics!
Well :( i will only be able to play on Xbox then :mad:

Ewok Hunter
08-09-2002, 06:36 PM
even on lower settings it's fancier than say.. a game with q2 engine

FunClown
08-10-2002, 07:43 AM
If your so upset with playing it on XBox why don't you just turn down everything to the lowest possible setting @ 640x480. Thats probably what you would be running on your TV anyway.

Histys-History
08-10-2002, 07:48 AM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by FunClown
down everything to the lowest possible setting @ 640x480. Thats probably what you would be running on your TV anyway.[ /QUOTE]



I HAVE A BIG TV AND IF I RUN IT ON 600X400 ON JEDI OUTCAST ALL THEYRE FACES LOOK ALL CRUMBLED AND MASHED UP!!!!!!

Com Raven
08-10-2002, 02:15 PM
well, what's bad then about playing it on xbox ?

Histys-History
08-10-2002, 03:56 PM
I dont have a clue :D Xbox is better than pc anyways! :maul5: :maul5: :monkbomb: :monkbomb: :monkbomb: :monkbomb:

Ewok Hunter
08-10-2002, 04:07 PM
^ in your opinion?

Com Raven
08-10-2002, 05:08 PM
depends on the kind of game...

remark 666
08-12-2002, 04:29 AM
depends on the kind of pc...

Com Raven
08-12-2002, 05:24 AM
I mean it depends on the game...

some games, like RTS, I would never play on a console...

and some, like a beat 'em up, never on a pc

FunClown
08-12-2002, 08:20 AM
It depends on the person. Some like consoles, some like pc's, some like both.

However, there is only so far graphics quality can go on a standard TV, even if it had a Radeon 9700 or an NV30(the fastest consumer level graphics chips) it still wouldn't look as good as on a computer monitor. Why? Because of the screen resolutions of TV's. They go up to about 800x600. On a monitor this looks ok. Also a TV has a terrible dot pitche meaning the text will look blurry as well as being bigger in size the actual pixels are a lot bigger on a TV. Meaning less image quality (IQ). An HDTV however, would definitely look ace. But many can't afford these.

However, if you save paying US$1000 on a new PC and instead buy a console, perhaps with the money you save you could buy an HDTV. Just a thought.

Com Raven
08-12-2002, 02:34 PM
yeah, it all comes down to personal preferences...

remark 666
08-12-2002, 08:14 PM
a good tv and an x box (plus $40-50 games....) or a pc where I can do a lot of cool ****, download the games, etc...

hmmm... I wonder what one I would choose.... PC

:)

but these days a lot of people have both..

Ewok Hunter
08-12-2002, 11:56 PM
Originally posted by Com Raven
I mean it depends on the game...

some games, like RTS, I would never play on a console...

and some, like a beat 'em up, never on a pc
aren't FPSs like JK2 considered beat'emup games too?

Com Raven
08-13-2002, 03:09 PM
hmm, I do not...

but Setsuke doesn't consider this game to be a rpg, so who knows :)

Ewok Hunter
08-17-2002, 03:17 AM
well do you listen to everything she says, she isn't your mother you know...

Com Raven
08-17-2002, 08:03 AM
not ?

Omg, how could I have been so blind all the years ;)

techsurfer
08-17-2002, 01:20 PM
How on earth did you link FPS with beat-em ups. A beat-em up is when you fight with fists in a side on view against another until you knock them out. An FPS is a First Person Shooter - see the difference!

Com Raven
08-17-2002, 01:47 PM
because each of them is better suited for the corresponding system...

Old_Ben
08-17-2002, 03:15 PM
First person shooters usually require slightly more skill than beat um ups where mashing random buttons in your best strategy.

Com Raven
08-18-2002, 06:53 AM
that's not true at all...

against someone who has skill, butto mashing won't bring you anywhere except a cheap grave...

Ewok Hunter
08-18-2002, 08:25 PM
exacly, they're both just killing things from diffrent points of view.

Com Raven
08-19-2002, 06:52 AM
hmm, that's a cool statement...