PDA

View Full Version : Who has Dreamcast's Jedi Power Battles or x-box's obi 1? (for sounds)


Grafox
08-02-2002, 04:13 AM
Hey people, we need sounds for our Ki-Adi Mundi model, and I was told he had a part in these games. So if you have one of these games, we would really apreciate it if you posted here to help us out with the sounds.

delquar
08-02-2002, 04:59 AM
all i got is the playstation power battles. but ill look on there

Grafox
08-02-2002, 05:10 AM
Thanks, I heard he was only in the Dreamcast version, not the psx version. But hey, you can always check. :)

Deetox187
08-02-2002, 05:35 AM
I have Jedi Power Battles for DC, haven't played it much and Ki-Adi isn't selctable at the start so i don't know what kind of sounds he makes. I had a look on the cd and the sound fx files are in .KAT format which i obviously cannot open, a quick search on google brought up nothing. So if anyone knows how to open or convert those files let me know and i'll try again.

Grafox
08-02-2002, 10:50 AM
I also did a search on the .kat files, nothing turned up. :(

Psynex
08-02-2002, 02:47 PM
I know some emulators allow video capture. I've never dealt with any dreamcast emulators for PC, but those things are usually full of great ripping tools. Where do you think all those video game sprites come from? :)

Deetox187
08-02-2002, 07:04 PM
There are no working DC emulators for PC, i know a fair bit about ripping DC games and have already checked out every tool available. I can listen to the music and watch the movies on the cd but theres nothing with Ki-Adi in it. I'm fairly positive his only sounds are in the Ki-Adi.KAT file, which is pretty small so if someone else wants to take a look at it let me know and i'll send.

Andwa
08-02-2002, 07:06 PM
i have obi wan for x-box and he makes sounds, but i dont know how to record the voice on my computer

-[MotU]-Lyger|=-
08-02-2002, 07:23 PM
Ki adi isnt in power battles for psx

Deetox187
08-02-2002, 08:10 PM
Originally posted by -=|Lyger|=-
Ki adi isnt in power battles for psx

We already knew that, if you had bothered to read. :rolleyes:

Grafox
08-03-2002, 04:18 AM
Andwa: I don't have a clue on how to rip it. Perhaps Deetox187 can help you with that.

I really apreciate all the trouble you guys are going through for creating this model.

Deetox187
08-03-2002, 10:20 AM
Well unfortunetly i don't know too much about Xbox games, have you tried putting the Obi Wan cd in you PC's cdrom drive Andwa? Can it read the files on the cd? if so have a look at all the files and see if you can find any of them that look like it might contain Ki-Adi's sounds, thats about all i can suggest.

Psyk0Sith
08-03-2002, 12:46 PM
i have obi wan for x-box and he makes sounds, but i dont know how to record the voice on my computer

Put the cable in the x-box audio outpout, then you put the other end in the line-in of the sound card and record with cool edit or some other audio software.

unless there's a protect on the outpouts?? i know they crypted the harddrive so we cant mess around with it...

I dont have an x-box, my friend's working right now so i cant test it..:(

thanx for trying guys.

Grafox
08-04-2002, 04:25 AM
hmmm, that sounds very logical!

Grafox
08-07-2002, 04:28 AM
bump

Deetox187
08-07-2002, 06:58 AM
Ah good that you bumped cause i forgot, was browsing for starwars desktop themes the other day and one of them had a wav file of Ki-Adi, its not much but might be ok for a corny taunt or something.

copy/paste the link for it to work.

http://www.geocities.com/deetox1900/Ki_Adi_Mundi.wav

Grafox
08-07-2002, 08:32 AM
Ah, thanks, at least we've got 1 sound now, I can't get the ones from Theforce.net to work.

Deetox187
08-07-2002, 10:06 AM
Yeah i don't know what the hell they did to those mp3's but i managed to fix em so they play, here ya go. :)

http://www.geocities.com/deetox1900/Ki-adi1.mp3

http://www.geocities.com/deetox1900/Ki-adi2.mp3

http://www.geocities.com/deetox1900/Ki-adi3.mp3

Grafox
08-07-2002, 11:00 AM
Thanks!
But lol, it sounds like he has a nasty cold in those fragments :)

Grafox
08-10-2002, 06:45 AM
:eek:bump:eek:

Epic
08-11-2002, 12:09 AM
I have K as a selectable character on DC.. I'd be honored to help with what I can, but can someone tell me what to do?
As always,

-Epic-
:vadar:

Jango_Fett91
08-11-2002, 12:25 AM
Originally posted by Grafox
Thanks, I heard he was only in the Dreamcast version, not the psx version. But hey, you can always check. :)



HE IS?!!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!!?


i have obi wan for xbox :)

Deetox187
08-11-2002, 01:14 AM
Originally posted by Epic
I have K as a selectable character on DC.. I'd be honored to help with what I can, but can someone tell me what to do?
As always,

-Epic-
:vadar:

hehe i tried to finish the damn training so i could get Ki-Adi but holy hell that sh!t is hard! i couldn't even get past the 3rd training level, guess i just suck at jumping puzzles. :p

As for what you should do i'm not sure, the Dreamcast doesn't seem to have an audio output feature like the Xbox. Do you have a video in/out card? not sure it would work even if you did but thats all i can think of, maybe someone who knows better can tell you what to do.

Epic
08-11-2002, 01:48 AM
Nope.. I don't have one of those.. at least not to my knowledge.. I could try asking nicely for the DC game to give me the files but that'll end up with something getting broken.....
BTW, I thought the comment "Holy hell" was ironicly... very funny..

-Epic-
:vadar:

Grafox
08-11-2002, 05:36 AM
Hmm, it seems we are "troubled" here. I'll do a search and see what I can find.

Grafox
08-11-2002, 06:09 AM
Well, I found this site:
http://www.megagames.com/dc/dc_utils.shtml

I'll search some more.

Deetox187
08-11-2002, 11:53 AM
Ya i already knew about those tools, there is nothing that will extract the audio from that stupid .KAT format the game uses.

Grafox
08-11-2002, 12:14 PM
hmm, that's dissapointing

"thA dekMan"
08-11-2002, 12:30 PM
is the .KAT just a renamed file type, like .pk3 is just a renamed .zip. Maybe it needs renaming if that would work at all?

just a dumb idea:p

Grafox
08-11-2002, 02:15 PM
Yes, that's a good idea! Try renaming them to zip or rar or something, Deetox.

Deetox187
08-11-2002, 09:12 PM
K i tried renaming it with every extension i could think of but it still won't work. :( :(

Grafox
08-14-2002, 11:52 AM
Damnit, uhh, that leaves us little options... perhaps someone could rip good quality sounds from the tpm dvd.

Psyk0Sith
08-14-2002, 07:11 PM
the DC doesnt have any RCA outpouts?, the white and red ones being the audio...just plug those into the soundcard and record, i remember doing this for the SNES and PSX.

If you (and i mean anyone who's got the game) cant get past a certain level (to unlock Ki), you could use a cheat or two :)

I'm pretty sure the game could provide lots of sounds for other characters as well.

I dont have the dvd (and the vcd sucks)

Deetox187
08-14-2002, 07:42 PM
The audio outputs from the DC do not plug into my soundcard.

Psyk0Sith
08-14-2002, 09:38 PM
u need a y-cable: females to male (its sized like a headphone jack, or like ur pc speakers) or a simple jack for mono sound.

http://www.cablesnmor.com/stereo-rca-y.html

its the W13300 model u need...radioshack got some like those.

Ask your "qualified" technician, what kinda splitter you need to plug your DC RCA cables into a soundcard...i'm pretty sure he'll know right away.

oh well, thanx for trying anyway.

Deetox187
08-14-2002, 09:51 PM
well i can look into buying one of those but even if i did i'm not sure i could do anything, like i said i tried my ass off to unlock Ki-Adi and had no luck.. i'm sure i could do it eventually but its a major pain in the groin lol.

Grafox
08-15-2002, 03:07 AM
Ah well, thanks for trying though....I'll see if I can get the dvd somewhere so I can rip those sounds.

K.O
08-15-2002, 09:10 AM
alright Deetox, I have the DVD and in a server I met Grafox on I said I would try and help him get the sounds off the DVD. Now I need you to tell me how to do this. Hopefully I won't get confused. :D

Grafox
08-15-2002, 09:19 AM
Well, I kind of assumed Deetox would know it :)

K.O
08-15-2002, 09:21 AM
Well hopefully he does. ;)

Grafox
08-15-2002, 09:24 AM
after a quick search, I found this
http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/117

Grafox
08-15-2002, 09:35 AM
I also found this:
http://www.orionstudios.com/DVDtoMP3.html

You can download a trial version of the program there. I mean, you don't need the registered version, you're onloy gonna use it once or so.

K.O
08-15-2002, 09:53 AM
Alright. And this lets you take out specific sounds right?

**Edit: I'll be back later today and check this thread.

Grafox
08-15-2002, 09:56 AM
Yeah, I think it will let you take out specific sounds.

Deetox187
08-15-2002, 10:36 AM
Looks like you guys have it under control. :)

K.O
08-15-2002, 08:42 PM
Originally posted by Deetox187
Looks like you guys have it under control. :)

Let's hope so. ;-/

K.O
08-15-2002, 09:28 PM
I got some Good news.. and... Some more GOOD news. :D

1) I got that DVD to MP3 prog up and running (the trial one)

2) I found my Episode 1: TPM DVD. Thank god we took it with us on the move over here to California. Or else you would of had to wait until September 2 or 3 when we get in our house. :|

Anyway, I'm doing what I can now taking what Mundi sounds I can out. It's limited to 5 minutes per session btw. If you want anything specific Gra, just tell me. I'll look for it. ;)

**Edit: Well, in the Chamber he says "Your thoughts dwell on your mother."... I'm still looking for more..

**Edit #2: I got that quote recorded just in case. I just gotta figure out how to get rid of the rest of the noise in Goldwave. :P Where else does he talk Gra?

Grafox
08-16-2002, 03:13 AM
Good news!!

He only talks in the jedi council scene. No other lines. :(

K.O
08-16-2002, 07:57 PM
Heh, so you want me to send that to you? Or you want me to take some words out of the line?

BradFu
08-16-2002, 09:17 PM
Oooh! Snip that one up so it just says "Your mother", that would be a great taunt! heheh

Grafox
08-17-2002, 04:01 AM
Yeah, good idea!! LOL

K.O
08-17-2002, 06:16 AM
"Your Thoughts Dwell..." Lol, if this sound ok with you, alrighty then. :D Your e-mail Gra?

Grafox
08-17-2002, 06:17 AM
grafox@quicknet.nl

Can you send all the sentences that he speaks, maybe I can make a nice composition. :)

adillon
08-17-2002, 09:32 PM
i have *cough* acquired *cough* aotc in avi format. i'll look around and see what, if anything, i can find regarding mr. mundi's lines ...

Deetox187
08-17-2002, 09:46 PM
don't bother, he doesn't have 1 line in the whole movie.

Grafox
08-18-2002, 03:03 AM
Thanks anyway, adillion!

dreamer
08-18-2002, 03:22 AM
im confused here r u trying to record your own lines using a voice synthesizer of some sort cuz u cant find other lines?

Grafox
08-18-2002, 04:54 AM
well, now at the moment, we are going to use sounds from the phantom menace. If I can't composite some good jumping sounds and such from those sounds, then I'll record.

K.O
08-18-2002, 09:31 PM
Well Outlook Express isnt working for me for some reason, and my regular hotmail account, of course, won't let me send more than a megabyte of data. :P I could try sending it to you, but if it doesn't work.. Maybe you have AIM, MSN, ICQ, or even IRC?

Grafox
08-19-2002, 03:22 AM
I have icq, 167422524

K.O
08-19-2002, 06:00 AM
E-mail sent! ^_^ Hopefully it gets to you though. :P Doesn't look like we should encounter any problems considering I didn't get an error message. I got your ICQ # incase though.

Grafox
08-19-2002, 06:44 AM
I got them, they are wonderfull!
I can't test them right now, cuz I lend my friend the game, but I'll do it asap. :)

K.O
08-20-2002, 01:22 AM
Happy as hell you got them, can't wait. ;)