PDA

View Full Version : WIP: Single Player Yoda


Araegon
08-02-2002, 08:57 PM
Well, as most of you know, i've spent a very long time trying to do two things with the Yoda Teams yoda model.

1) Be able to spawn yoda in a SP game w/o erasing any NPC's
2) Be able to play AS yoda in an SP game

well, i have seccessfully done one of these (#1) except for one small problem, the scaling.

everytime i've scaled him, hes always thin as heck, but his legnth and height are both good.

so, i'm currently working on the scaling right now, and if anyone knows the exact scales that he should be (mainly his with), please post them here so that i can get the spawning model out ASAP.

Also, with spawning the model, there are NO saber conflicts. NONE AT ALL. model works PERFECTLY (as far as i can tell) with the lightsaber.

I still am working on making you able to play as yoda, but that will take a bit longer.

Araegon
08-02-2002, 09:43 PM
well, i have the NPC version compleatly done now.

well, i'm going to go and see if i can possibly enable us to play AS yoda, though i doubt it will work.

if you want to download the NPC version
right click on the link and choose SAVE TARGET AS

SP Yoda NPC (http://www.geocities.com/jedi2oo1/sp_yoda_npc.zip)

NOTE: if you have any other NPC's added, yoda may not work, or yoda may be the only one that works. I have configured the mod to work with the other NPCs that i have on my computer, which is just the UltimateMod v3 now. so, all 6 of the NPCs from that will work with my mod.

if you have a SP model you have downloaded and want to use it and yoda, tell me the name and where you got it, or give me the actual NPC code either through e-mail or on a reply, and i'll ad it in.

Master Yogurt
08-02-2002, 11:12 PM
SAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHWWWEEEEEETTTTTTT

Araegon
08-02-2002, 11:35 PM
Well, as of right now, i havn't gotten my kyle2yoda mod to work in game yet. But it does work in the cutscenes, which i do admit are really funny with yoda, considering you cant see him half the time.

newayz, i've been able to play as yoda in the game, but he's human size. I've already tried many different things to get this to work, but i've had no luck yet.
but i'm not givin up yet! ;)

agentj64
08-03-2002, 12:07 AM
good job:d real good stuff
:D

dont think you can scale kyle, but you can scale him as a npc in npc.cfg (odd huh?)

hawk_of_war
08-03-2002, 12:32 AM
It makes since though. It would change the player perspective and might make some parts of the game unplayable.

-Chrono_MOT-
08-03-2002, 02:26 AM
You've been doing this a long time? I had a SP Luke 2 Yoda mod out as soon as they released him. I even had a Yoda NPC mod but I didn't want to make it public because there was no point to it yet.

Heh...you did nothing special...

Getting the Yoda to scale as the player character is going to take a hardcoded mod, so unless you have the source code you ain't getting it done. Sorry.

Don't stop trying though.

Araegon
08-03-2002, 05:43 PM
chrono: yeah, i know i didn't do anything special, but theres so many people going around asking everyone how to do it cause there lazy and dont want to do it themsleves, so i just made this one.

and i'm not going to stop trying to get yoda to scale in SP, it'll just take me a VERY long time. considering that i've already tried changing model files, cfg files, ext. But i do hope to figure it out some day.

I'll be releasing a new version of this mod adding the Dark Yoda from jkii.net.

Araegon
08-04-2002, 07:44 PM
so far, i've figured out about 50 things that dont work to scale kyle in SP. but i still got a lot to go, one idea which i'm not sure entirely how to do w/o either destroying the game, or just badly mutilating it. either way, it might work, so i'll eventually try that after i've tried everything else.

as usual, any ideas are welcome as to scaling kyle in SP, and i'll try anything.

Duncan Idaho
08-04-2002, 10:56 PM
Araegon,
For the time being I've given up on trying to scale SP PLAYER models, I've been trying since the release of this game, and if you look through the forums here, you'll see a whole host of others who have been stumped by this same issue.
Thankfully for me, I solved my 'scaling' problem by making all the other characters a bit bigger, which made me able to scale my Anime Yuffie-ninja type character into the game. (Okay, it's not really Yuffie, being she has blue hair, but she's the same age, height, and all by looks).
Easy for me, but you couldn't do the same for Yoda, since scaling the other NPC characters to be that much bigger would make the NPC's unable to walk through doors and such.
THe only thing I've had a problem with in my scaling is a few of the models, particularly the Gungan's, the heads cannot be 'sniped' with the sniper gun, if you shoot the head, it results in a miss, you must aim for the neck instead. A small price to pay to have all the other NPC's running in fear from the little girl with a lightsaber. :D
Good luck though, I'll keep an eye on this thread. I do still hope someone figures out how to scale the SP player character someday, even though I don't really need it anymore.
In the meanwhile, I might just have to download your SP yoda NPC mod, just to go fight Yoda myself. I love the little guy and all, but sometimes I just feel....evil. lol
Idaho

Araegon
08-04-2002, 11:17 PM
the new mod i made has both the Jedi yoda and Sith yoda. allowing you to fight a sith yoda. and also allowing you to spawn yoda and have him fight with you.

WARNING: Sith Yoda is VERY hard to beat. So if you die many times, dont go complaining to me!

SP_sith-jedi_yoda (http://www.geocities.com/jedi2oo1/SP_sith-jedi_yoda.zip)

ZBomber
08-04-2002, 11:24 PM
I didn't downlaod the skin, cause I like Kyle the way he is. I wish you could choose who you are from a selection, like in MP. That way, I could be kyle, the Yoda, etc. Anyway, I did downlaod the npc Spawn yoda and I think its great! Thanks alot. :)

Duncan Idaho
08-04-2002, 11:35 PM
Heheh, I keep two personal mods as it is, one is Light Side, where I fight for the rebels, the other is my own Sith character's mod, which lets me fight alongside the Imperials to wipe out those filthy rebel scum.
All well and good, since with both your mods I can now fight Yoda without messing about with the models in my own mods. :)
Thanks for the effort.
Idaho

Arkum
08-05-2002, 12:06 AM
YES!!!!!!!!!
FINALLY!!!!!!!!!
Someone is trying to resize Yoda to work in SP:D

K.O
08-05-2002, 03:04 AM
Originally posted by Araegon
but theres so many people going around asking everyone how to do it cause there lazy and dont want to do it themsleves, so i just made this one.

Just letting you know I'm not lazy, I tried didn't I? =P

Thanks for this though.

Arkum
08-05-2002, 03:13 PM
hey, I tried too, but I failed too many times

Araegon
08-05-2002, 04:02 PM
i didnt' mean EVERYONE, i just ment the people who kept posting topics saying: "how to i make yoda small in SP!!!!" or something like: "i wanna play as yoda! how how how!" or something like those.

the people who tried, thanks for not being annoying.

Neways, ur all welcome for the mod. and i'm still working on the PA (play as) yoda.

Araegon
08-06-2002, 11:08 PM
well, i've gone through a lot of possibilities, and have still been unable to scale the player in SP.

i have a couple of ideas left, but it envolves hacking into the actual game itself, which could cause the game to crash very bad, but it might work.

but, hey, i promised to try as hard as i can, and i will.

Duncan Idaho
08-07-2002, 06:09 PM
Good luck, keep us informed. :)
I'd help, but really I'm a complete amature at Hexxing, and there's simply too much code to dig through in JK2 for me to think I could actually find what needed to be changed.
Idaho

Araegon
08-13-2002, 07:22 PM
just wondering if anyone knows if the source code for the SP version of JK2 has been released. i know that the MP code has, but i havn't had any luck with finding out if the SP has.

so, is the source code for SP JK2 released yet? and if so, where can i get it.

MaulerZ
08-13-2002, 09:03 PM
Bout time somebody thought of this!:D

Duncan Idaho
08-14-2002, 12:10 AM
Araegon,
Nope, no SP source code, unfortunately. And I can't see the sense in not releasing it, considering they've released the MP code.
But then, I'm no corporate stuffed shirt, and never have been able to understand their illogical way of thinking. I even doubt THEY understand their thinking.
Idaho

jaybiggspr
08-14-2002, 12:45 AM
I know this isnt really modeling news but I have started on my version of the ESB Yoda skin.

Check it out here:

http://www.angelfire.com/cantina/jaybiggspr/index.htm


(may have to copy link)

volrathxp
08-14-2002, 12:52 AM
Originally posted by Duncan Idaho
Araegon,
Nope, no SP source code, unfortunately. And I can't see the sense in not releasing it, considering they've released the MP code.
But then, I'm no corporate stuffed shirt, and never have been able to understand their illogical way of thinking. I even doubt THEY understand their thinking.
Idaho

that would be because the SP game code is tied between the exe and jk2gamex86.dll. and parts of that code include the Q3 engine code so therefore legally they aren't allowed to release it. That's what I know at least.

Araegon
08-14-2002, 07:27 PM
well, dosn't this just suck. :mad:

so, does anyone know how to open up and edit a DLL or EXE file?
;) :D

Duncan Idaho
08-16-2002, 08:12 PM
You'd need a good binary file editor or hex editor, I use Gregory Braun's FXEdit for such things.
It can be downloaded at:
http://www.gregorybraun.com/FxEdit.html
Good luck with it.
Idaho

Rex_Raptor__
08-16-2002, 08:28 PM
ya good luck

Araegon
08-16-2002, 08:55 PM
thanks.

i just started working with it, (and just realized how screwed i am considering i have no clue what i'm doing), so i might be done in a while. ;)

Duncan Idaho
08-17-2002, 03:11 AM
With all the code you'll be digging through, you'll definitely need a heapin' helpin' of luck to find what you're looking for.
But then, if you don't look, you'll never find. I never tried, I found the task too daunting.
Good luck to you, a lot of people here would be very pleased if you stumbled upon the fix to the sp player character size issue. (Including me!).
Idaho

Araegon
08-20-2002, 12:42 AM
Well, thanks for all the help everyone.

I now have a couple of people who actually know what they are doing helping me out with this little problem of going through the entire program to find the right code.

newayz, hopefully we'll be able to get this little setback sorted out and i'll be able to release a Play-AS-yoda mod soon.

P.S. any help would be hot! ;)