PDA

View Full Version : MI4 Even with the patch....


Acrylic
08-22-2002, 03:44 PM
Even with the EMI update patch, my game still freeze when i put up the menu by pressing F1 and trying to save....please....someone......help....

bgbennyboy
08-22-2002, 04:40 PM
Hmm
I dont have an exact fix for this so we'll have to eliminate potential problems.
Make sure you have the latest drivers for your graphics card and perhaps sound card too.
Make sure you have the latest DirectX installed (currently 8.1)

State what Operating System, graphics and sound card you have too (someone may have had the same problem)

Acrylic
08-22-2002, 04:55 PM
Ok....I have Direct X 8.0
an NVIDIA RIVA TNT Graphics card
and I dont know the sound card...but it is really good.
I have a Windows 98
HP Pavilion
500 MHZ
128 MB RAM
20 GB HD

thats about it....

Acrylic
08-22-2002, 08:12 PM
cant anyone help me please???

bgbennyboy
08-22-2002, 08:31 PM
Make sure you have the latest drivers.

Try changing the levels of directx sound acceleration.

Start>
Run>
Type dxdiag
Sound tab>move slider to basic acceleration
Try that

Acrylic
08-22-2002, 08:50 PM
ok....i tried the basic acceleration thingy, but it didnt work...please, maybe some more suggestions and also, how do i get the latest drivers?

bgbennyboy
08-22-2002, 08:55 PM
Here (http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?PAGE=windows9x)

Acrylic
08-22-2002, 09:08 PM
ok....but do i download all of them?

bgbennyboy
08-22-2002, 09:12 PM
You should only need the Detonator XP Driver
Assuming you dont have 3d glasses....
:rolleyes:

Acrylic
08-22-2002, 09:19 PM
ok...thanks...ill try it out now!

Acrylic
08-22-2002, 09:34 PM
Im sorry... but it doesnt work...any more help please?

bgbennyboy
08-22-2002, 09:45 PM
Wait a minute when you say freeze, what exactly do you mean?
Does the music keep playing?
Does it go to a blue screen?
Does it crash out of the program completely?

Acrylic
08-22-2002, 09:46 PM
ok...the menu comes up and it freezes...then the music keeps skipping! please help...

bgbennyboy
08-22-2002, 09:52 PM
I assume youve already looked here (http://support.lucasarts.com/trg/tg.asp?id=102&x=33&y=5) ?

Have you restarted after installing those drivers?
Also have you tried altering the 'gee-whizz' factors in the game?

Ive even heard of problems being solved when ppl try a different installation option (eg small rather than large) but this is a last resort.

Acrylic
08-22-2002, 09:54 PM
what the heck is a gee whizz factor...explain please

bgbennyboy
08-22-2002, 09:57 PM
The options within MI4?
Alter 'gee-whizz factor' - change detail levels etc..
Its in the in-game options

EDIT:
Sudden thought, you might not be able to get to these options if the game freezes on the options screen.

Acrylic
08-22-2002, 10:00 PM
yeah. it does...ill try tho

Acrylic
08-22-2002, 10:09 PM
ok...i'm getting f-ing mad here...it must be that my game is weird cuz i but the gee whiz factors all to minimal...did all what you said, updated all my drivers and it still dont work....weird huh? help please?

Acrylic
08-22-2002, 10:40 PM
ANYONE??? PLEASE HELP PLEASE!

bgbennyboy
08-23-2002, 06:48 AM
For Gods sake some of us have to sleep you know.
Be patient, you arent going to get an answer immediately.

Acrylic
08-23-2002, 12:35 PM
I am....I just am really royally pissed off right now not because of you but because my game wont work.........im not depriving you of your sleep, but i just want help asap.
thank you.
AC

bgbennyboy
08-23-2002, 03:29 PM
Email Lucasarts then, here (http://support.lucasarts.com/email/techemail.asp)
Let me know what the ultimate solution is when they reply

Acrylic
08-23-2002, 04:24 PM
Ill tell you what they say once they reply

bgbennyboy
08-25-2002, 01:35 PM
I forgot the most obvious thing.
Try running in direct3d instead of opengl or vice versa.

Acrylic
09-08-2002, 12:40 AM
they replied, and said all the stuff you said, but im lazy now, and ill try and run the game in open gl cuz i had it in direct 3d...ok...ill post back 2morrow