PDA

View Full Version : Adding a Tech Level 5 to all Civilations?


joesdomain
09-04-2002, 05:54 PM
I just thought of this today. That would be cool to add another level. That way they could add more unquie units and special units. Add more upgrades and bonuses to each civilation. Add a feature that lets players upgrade to make all previous units from Tech Level 1, 2, 3, and 4 plus whatever they add in Tech Level 5. Then they could add B-wings as unique units to the rebel airbase, Imperial Interrgator Droids or Tie Advanced Fighters to empire, etc. Maybe add 2-3 additional unique units to each civilation at Tech Level 5.

lukeiamyourdad
09-04-2002, 06:03 PM
I don't know man, what do you mean by ''upgrade to make all the previous units''? Does it mean you can get ALL units?

joesdomain
09-04-2002, 07:15 PM
I suppose add certain units, maybe not all of them from the previous levels but most of them. Add an additional tech level would probably enhance the units and buildings.

Sithmaster_821
09-04-2002, 09:46 PM
I find that 4 ages fits quite perfectly. Why do you want so many new units anyway?

Crazy_dog no.3
09-05-2002, 02:44 AM
Find out by reading most of his previos posts.



Yeah a new Tech Level can be cool, but it would be hard to implement.

KoL ShadowJedi
09-05-2002, 11:06 AM
all his posts?? he has like 5-10 threads and stuff

Might be interesting to see a T5 though..

joesdomain
09-05-2002, 03:13 PM
There is nothing wrong with another Tech level added. With technology growing every day I am sure they could add it. I have never seen so many people complain and criticize a single person in my life. I can post as many times as I want. You guys always post on this forum all the time and usually it is more than me. Quit Complaining and enjoy the forums.

lukeiamyourdad
09-05-2002, 03:55 PM
4 tech levels is more than enough....

Crazy_dog no.3
09-05-2002, 04:22 PM
Actaully bin Laden got far more critisism.:p



BTW joe I never said anything about a new Tech level bieng bad, just hard to put in.

Maybe it will also shut up all those people who want NR/IR civs.

joesdomain
09-08-2002, 08:33 PM
The chance of their being an expansion pack this year or next year is close to zero. If they make one it will be Galactic Battlegrounds 2 probably and it will use a 3-d engine not 2-d engine. They could have 5 tech levels in that one and a unit population of 300 or 400 units. That is my opinion. I like lots of different units in my RTS games. Especially with all the characters, ships, vehicles, species, locations and planets in the star wars universe. They should be need for lucasarts to make up new units like pummels, air cruisers, etc. before they add the original units from the movies, novels and comics.

lukeiamyourdad
09-09-2002, 04:42 PM
Adding a fifth tech level would mean more units of course but how many units do we need? 1000000000000000 different units?! it is not bad the problem is we will run out of USEFUL units.

KoL ShadowJedi
09-09-2002, 04:50 PM
i think you want this game to be more realistic than an RTS game

Crazy_dog no.3
09-09-2002, 05:26 PM
Originally posted by joesdomain
I like lots of different units in my RTS games. Especially with all the characters, ships, vehicles, species, locations and planets in the star wars universe. They should be need for lucasarts to make up new units like pummels, air cruisers, etc. before they add the original units from the movies, novels and comics.

So in other words, this game's units should be totally made up?:D

joesdomain
09-09-2002, 06:09 PM
I didn't mean that. I totally messed up that sentence. I meant they should use units from the star wars universe from other video games, novels, comics and the movies before making up new units for a game like SWGB.

Compa_Mighty
09-09-2002, 06:10 PM
Actually if there is a sequel, I wouldn't like it had Tech levels, just technology improvements.

Sithmaster_821
09-09-2002, 06:24 PM
Agreed, the tech levels seemed too forced, same with the resources. I think that different units, buildings, and technologies should be linked to research and building cerain buildings instead of the whole tech level/age thing.

lukeiamyourdad
09-11-2002, 06:44 PM
The only problem with no tech levels are rushes.
For exemple: In starcraft people could rush to get battlecruisers quite fast and it would be the same for SWGB. People would be able to rush to get assault mechs or air cruisers making the games a lot shorter.

joesdomain
09-11-2002, 10:16 PM
I like the idea of no tech levels that way I don't have to wait to upgrade to some a unit I need.

Sithmaster_821
09-12-2002, 06:41 PM
Rush guards, like making certain vital upgrades expensive or slow will probably hadle the Starcraft/Warcraft problem

KoL ShadowJedi
09-12-2002, 07:14 PM
I think SWGB should be more like starcraft like levels within buildings..... I also would think a bunker should be added like the terrans have.

Compa_Mighty
09-13-2002, 09:10 PM
Let's face it. Tech levels were only included beacuase Age of EMpires had Ages (which made a lot of sense in that game.) But we could have a funner game without tech levels.

joesdomain
09-14-2002, 01:29 AM
I don't know that much about Warcraft, Starcraft or Age of Empires games. Galactic Battlegrounds and it's expansion pack are the only RTS game I have except I do have the original Command and Conqueror game. I love Star Wars RTS games. Tech Levels in a game like this do prevent rushes but I think I would prefer the ability to pick any units at any time. It is a shame they don't sell Star Wars Rebellion at any of the local stores because I wanted to try that game to see the difference between games.

lukeiamyourdad
09-14-2002, 11:23 AM
Sith_master: vital upgrades expensive and slow? sounds like climbing tech levels....