PDA

View Full Version : ladder objects in the game


wedge2211
09-05-2002, 03:30 PM
The one and only thing that Elite Force has that Outcast doesn't, and I miss, is climbable ladders. Is anyone planning to work on a ladder mod? I'm thinking an .md3 with a corresponding script to move the player up and down. However, I have no idea how scripting works, Diesel hasn't done that tut yet. :)

wedge2211
09-05-2002, 03:31 PM
ooh, yay, I'm finally a pit droid...I always wanted to be a pit droid...

/sarcasm

wedge2211
09-06-2002, 04:08 PM
Or maybe a better idea is a system/ladder shader with a corresponding func_ladder entity, that would probably work better as it would allow mappers to design their own ladder-like objects out of brushes instead of models. Oh, and a ladder-climbing animation would probably be required...

Like I said, I haven't the faintest idea how to go about coding any of this, but I would work on it if I could find some decent tutorials/help files.

The Truthful Liar
09-06-2002, 04:23 PM
This has been discussed before I think. A ladder would prove to be easy, yet animations nearly impossible.

It'd be rather stiff to go up and down a ladder made in Jk2, like counterstrike basically.

Cheers ;)

wedge2211
09-07-2002, 08:59 PM
Why would the anims be so hard? you just make the feet go up and down and the arms go up and down...it doesn't have to be PERFECT...and in single player it would be useful even without the anims.

razorace
09-09-2002, 02:50 AM
It would be easy in Quake 3. Unfortunately, Raven added the Ghoul 2 system to the game. It changed the whole animation system and now it's basically impossible to add additional animations without redoing them ALL from scrach, programing a .gla merger program, or getting a uncompiled copy of the .gla file from Raven.

Razor Ace

Spoon_Gouge
09-09-2002, 07:23 PM
A ladder in JK2 IS possible. It would be made the same way that it would be in Elite Forces, in fact. The animations for such a beast however... eh.. I'm not sure. Maybe a mod to add the animations somewhat like the mods that add different animations for jumping, etc. Now in SP mode (or in MP) how do you get a bot to follow them?

Spoon_Gouge

wedge2211
09-11-2002, 10:36 AM
I did find a system>ladder shader, but I don't know what it does (I put it in a test level but it seemingly does nothing).

Takeoffyouhoser
09-11-2002, 02:54 PM
I havn't tried ladders yet... but , here's how i remember how to make' em..

Make your ladder, or climable rope/chain or whatever....

next, make a brush right in front of the ladder you made, and make it goup well above the top of the ladder. make it " above the lip" enough so kyle can get off the ladder in other words..

Then, go into your system textures and find the one called LADDER... select the entire " climbing" brush and texture it with ladder...

thats about all there is to it...

And I do agree with you about the animations... it doesn't really matter in single player anyhow..

razorace
09-11-2002, 03:05 PM
special shadeing for a ladder maybe?

wedge2211
09-11-2002, 03:29 PM
I did try that, with a ladder-looking collection of brushes and a brush 1 unit in front of them textured with ladder, it didn't seem to do anything.

Takeoffyouhoser
09-11-2002, 04:16 PM
welp, i'm stumped than...

I went to the Raven forums to find the thread about this...but they closed down cause of 9-11 , so, you'll have to get it tomorrow....
here's the address

http://www.map-center.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=forum;f=23

razorace
09-11-2002, 05:11 PM
Try the Elite Force source code....there were ladders in that game...

t3rr0r
09-11-2002, 06:28 PM
just use the default walking/running animation... hell, raven did that for ladders in sof2 mp.