PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to have your jumping ability like the NPC's?


Galactic Magi
09-06-2002, 01:48 PM
the NPC jedi can jump as high as they want no matter how high. They can also jump back up in the middle of falling. Is there a way to give kyle this ability? sorry if its been asked before i havent been here in a while

razorace
09-09-2002, 03:53 AM
in SP or MP?

ASk
09-09-2002, 09:00 AM
He means SP (NPC's, Kyle)

So no, that is not possible. Unless you are a secret employee of Raven and willing to give us the SP source code

Conan the Red
09-11-2002, 09:26 PM
This has probably been asked a billion times so bear with me. Does Raven EVER intend to release the source code for SP? Have they ever at least hinted at it? Anything?

razorace
09-11-2002, 09:49 PM
We don't know. I personally think they're making an expansion pack and don't want anyone to out do them. :) I have my reasons..*cough*

Mr Tim
09-12-2002, 09:55 PM
Razorace - I think the same thing - but only based on the impressions I get from bring around the forums and reading the results different people have had from talking to Raven.

And the fact that JK2 was so popular that it would be a surprise if there wasn't an expansion, given the propensity these days for all successful games to be expanded (think JK1, Q3, MOHAA, Operation Flashpoint, etc etc).

Still, I'm interested to hear what your reasons are for thinking this.

razorace
09-13-2002, 12:58 AM
1. SP source code and many other things haven't been released.
2. The game has sold very well.
3. Sithlord-II says that his Vader model is "out of his hands" and wouldn't say who has the rights to it now. Very strange. I'd normally would think that Raven would just create its own Vader model, but you never know. :) Ether Raven has it OR WLS. :)

Razor Ace

keo718
09-13-2002, 01:16 AM
How long after the release of the original Dark Forces did it take for them to release an expansion pack?

razorace
09-13-2002, 01:41 AM
I have no clue. I don't remember.

Mr Tim
09-13-2002, 01:44 AM
Originally posted by razorace

3. Sithlord-II says that his Vader model is "out of his hands" and wouldn't say who has the rights to it now. Very strange. I'd normally would think that Raven would just create its own Vader model, but you never know. :) Ether Raven has it OR WLS. :)


Chesire Kat also said that due to legalities he couldn't let anyone use his Maul model.

I hadn't thought of this aspect as pointing to someone else taking up the work of modellers. I see now that it could be some indication of something.

Mr Tim
09-13-2002, 01:50 AM
Originally posted by keo718
How long after the release of the original Dark Forces did it take for them to release an expansion pack?

Jedi Knight: Dark Forces 2 was releaseed in October 1997, and the expansion pack, Mysteries of the Sith, was released in Feb 1998. At least, that's what gamers.com says.

According to the same source, Dark Forces (the original) was released in 1996.

razorace
09-13-2002, 03:01 AM
The time between DF1 and DF2 sounds too small. I thought DF1 came out before Quake and Duke 3D.

And second point...

Chesire Kat also said that due to legalities he couldn't let anyone use his Maul model.
If it was a LEGAL issue, they'd at least be say who and why.

Mr Tim
09-13-2002, 04:10 AM
Happy to stand corrected on the DF1-DF2 timing - although it sounds roughly correct to me.

As for the Cheshire Kat statement, not sure what you were getting at, but this was the thread:
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77194

razorace
09-13-2002, 04:34 AM
Something is going on here.....I wonder what it is....It's ether WLS or Raven...

Mr Tim
09-13-2002, 07:48 AM
Well one of the WLS guys got hired by Raven...
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=75950

But seriously - if WLS don't make money from what they do, which they can't given the legal status of mods, etc - then there couldn't really be any legalities involving them and other people's models. Such legalities could only exist (as far as I understand it) if they're working on something 'official' for the game, which brings us back to Raven. I'd be pretty sure that WLS are not working for Raven.

I agree - there must be something going on...

razorace
09-13-2002, 02:34 PM
And it's pointing to a JK2 Expansion Pack. Woooohooo!