View Full Version : Milkshape/Md3 prob.(i already checked the Q's thread)

09-07-2002, 01:38 PM
I looked at every Milkshape tutorial thing on the Stuck:got a question etc. thread. I could not find an answer.

I made and skined my model in Milkshape v.1.6.3, I make the Q3 control file, Export to MD3, but when i open it in the Jedi Outcast tools-MD3viewer, i get this message

texture "models/players/model/skin.tga not found"

I have the .skin file that I made in notepad in the same folder with it, along with the .tga format pics of all the parts skins. But I dont know what im suppose to do. When the md3 loads, its an unskinned version of my model.

And when I import the md3 back into milkshape, all the materials are gone and replaced with a skin.tga material that just shows my model the same as if I was viewing it as Smoth Shaded, even when I set the view to Textured.

Please if you can venture any quesses as to what is wrong please let me know.

09-07-2002, 01:54 PM
ok lets make sure you got the basics done.

you should have a folder in your primary drive called c:/base/models/weapons2/saber
and md3view should be located in the base folder, and your .md3, .skin and .tga/.jpg should be in the saber folder.

when you export to .md3 the file should be called saber_w, and the .tga/.jpg should be called saber

and the skin file should look like this:
w_saber,models/weapons2/saber/saber.tga or .jpg

09-07-2002, 01:54 PM
there should have been an answer in my thread for this...

Make a couple of folders in your model's folder. Create a models folder and then inside that put a Weapons2 folder. Inside that one put a Saber folder and then inside that one put a copy of your texture. That should fix it.

09-07-2002, 02:36 PM
right, did i not just say that?

09-07-2002, 02:45 PM
no need to get fiesty about it...it wasn't there when I started my post

09-07-2002, 03:11 PM
Um, im talking about Model as in Character not saber.

09-07-2002, 03:45 PM
why bother then? you cant make player models with ms3d. you need to export to .xsi

but everything ive said still applies, just make sure the .skin files points the right textures to the right parts of your model.

09-07-2002, 07:49 PM
What do you mean cant make player models in MS3D? All ya have to do is make it, create a Q3 control file, export it as .md3 open it in md3view, export it as .Glm.

The reason its not working is in my first post.

09-07-2002, 07:57 PM
That will not work for player models. They must be weighted to the jk2 skeleton along with all the tags, caps and bolts. Then exported into a format assimilate can use.

09-07-2002, 08:27 PM
Oh, really. So then I should recreate him in GMAX then try from there?

09-07-2002, 09:32 PM
no... you have to be able to export it to .xsi
and the only program i know of that can is 3dsmax, but im sure there are others. they all cost loads of cash, so good luck.

09-07-2002, 10:34 PM
you can make it in milkshape, but you would have to export it to a .3ds or other file format readable by a program that would be able to complete the process--in this case 3D Studio Max

09-07-2002, 11:36 PM
TY all for your collective help. Ill get the studios max.