PDA

View Full Version : plan of action?


POPgenius
09-09-2002, 10:52 PM
Hello, I am very new to the modeling world and I have come to an uneducated stand still. I have come close to finishing my own model, but I want to import the hands from the game. Does anyone else do this? I'm pretty sure ppl do, so what programs would I need. (I am using gmax) I also assume that after I "finish" the model I'll need to weight it on a skeleton. I was wondering, from the ground up, what are going to be the next few steps I will have to take. Thanks in advance.

Madjai
09-09-2002, 11:03 PM
well unless you get 3dsmax your probably screwed, because without it you cant get the model ingame, i say probably because theres about a 1% chance youll find someone with 3dsmax who is willing to do it for you.

and to get the hands, youll again need 3dsmax.

POPgenius
09-09-2002, 11:07 PM
I was afraid of that. So that's what everyone has then? I know not everyone bought it. Well, aside from that rediculous setback, what other tools will I need?

Madjai
09-09-2002, 11:25 PM
yea maybe 1 or 2 guys actually obtained 3dsmax legally. i suggest you use Kazaa, its a great program for finding... all kinds of things... yes.

other than that youll need the JKO tools, it comes in 2 packs, d/l them both.

POPgenius
09-10-2002, 03:29 AM
Cool I'll download those. aside from getting the hands and other tools, what comes next? Do I segment the model, put a skeleton in it.Where do I get the skeleton, will jimmy break up with trish?
Thanks..

Twisted Vertex
09-10-2002, 08:07 AM
speaking of leagility I ordered Max 5 today, OH HAPPY DAY.. getting it at student prices 485 dollars.....WEEEEEEEE

Madjai
09-10-2002, 09:51 AM
thats like 680 can. =(

as for what comes next, just d/l the tools and read the tutorial, it explains everything.

POPgenius
09-10-2002, 10:53 AM
Cool yo, oh , how long (roughly of course) does it take you guys to finish your models? I'm wondering what kind of time frame people are working with.

POPgenius
09-10-2002, 10:55 AM
Oh, love the sabre mods by the way Madjai.

Madjai
09-10-2002, 11:04 AM
finishing a model depends on many factors.

like how good you are at modeling, problem solving, how much time you spend on your model. also there needs to be a skin, so thats more time there. its really different for everybody.

POPgenius
09-10-2002, 01:36 PM
When working on the head (more specifically the face), if you aren't planning on using the character for sp, is it necessary to make the lips open? I kept mine shut and didn't cut the model any more than I needed to. I assume it wouldn't matter. But I'm not sure.

Darth Vigrid
09-10-2002, 01:47 PM
You can make the lips any way you want. Most multiplayer models do not use facial animations, so it won't matter.

hawk_of_war
09-10-2002, 03:15 PM
The only multiplayer model I've notice using facial animations is the Desann model. Even so I rarely notice.

Darth Loki
09-10-2002, 09:25 PM
Desann in MP uses facial animations? when?