PDA

View Full Version : How to make you saber hilt mod compatible.


TheWhiteRaider
09-11-2002, 01:08 AM
This is how you do this operation.

If you are making the saber.
When you go to skin the saber.
1.Put the texture files in the models/weapons2/saber_(your hilt) folder
2.Change the files paths in the .skin from
(Surface),models/weapons2/saber/(texture)
--to--
(Surface),models/weapons2/saber_(your hilt)/(texture)

Here is a way if you get a saber off the internet and want it in saber hilt mods

1.Extract from .pk3 file
2.Make sure that there is a .md3 file
3.Make sure you have MD3View and ModView from the SDK
http://www.jk2files.com/file.info?ID=2433
4.Put texture filesin the models/weapons2/saber folder
5.Open the .glm file with ModView
6.Write down the surrfaces names, but not the *flash and *parent tags
7.Make a text file and change the file type to .skin put this in the base folder
8.Type what you wrote like this in the .skin
(Surface),models/weapons2/saber/(texture name)
9.Repeat step 8 intill all the surface names have been put in the .skin file
10.Delete the texure files in models/weapons2/saber folder
11.Open MD3View and load the .skin
12.Export .MD3 and .GLM
13.Put it in a .PK3 file
14.Put the .PK3 in base folder
15.Enjoy

Covax
09-12-2002, 02:50 AM
Thanks for the info, I'm totaly lost with the moddeling programs but this will help me get a leg up. Hopefully I can use this to have multiple skins for the same weapon model (ie Black Sword, Silver Sword, etc..)

Covax
09-12-2002, 03:26 AM
HA! It worked:

http://members.rogers.com/dragonremix/Covb&k.jpg

Thanks man, I owe you. Now I can make the LotR staves Mod- compatible too.

<JOTD>Jedi Hunter
09-12-2002, 03:54 AM
Wow, nice Covax, those really look great. ;)