PDA

View Full Version : need help!


Sivy
09-12-2002, 10:40 AM
i need help!

i just got the new Mafia game and after installing i tried loading it and got this message,

Mafia.exe is not a valid win32 application

so i tried re-installing it and got the same message. i took it back to the shop and swaped it for another one and got the same message, i've e-mail the tech support but haven't had a reply yet (which is not surprising as it is a new game so they probably got their hands full).
my computer is better than the recommended specs, so i really don't think it's anything to do with that.


any ideas?

Darth-Nasty
09-12-2002, 10:45 AM
are you using XP?

im using xp and it works ok
__________________

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid31/p6d8f7756950e29155bf3368ae6a46e19/fd487568.jpg

Sivy
09-12-2002, 10:50 AM
Originally posted by Darth-Nasty
are you using XP?

im using xp and it works ok
__________________

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid31/p6d8f7756950e29155bf3368ae6a46e19/fd487568.jpg


no i using ME, but it says it can work with ME (unless they lying, vicious bastards!)

fat_101
09-12-2002, 10:52 AM
hmmm mine works fine on xp aswell, u got grahics card drivers updated?

FATTEH

Kstar__2
09-12-2002, 10:52 AM
have you tried the website FAQ of mafia yet?

BCanr2d2
09-12-2002, 10:53 AM
Uninstall the game, sounds like you might have written to a bad part of the partition. After all FAT32 and NTFS aren't bulletproof, they do work better if reformatted on a semi-regular basis.

Once you uninstall, then perhaps do a de-frag, this will move data around, and very unlikely to use the exact same part of the hard disk again..

Sivy
09-12-2002, 10:56 AM
Originally posted by BCanr2d2
Uninstall the game, sounds like you might have written to a bad part of the partition. After all FAT32 and NTFS aren't bulletproof, they do work better if reformatted on a semi-regular basis.

Once you uninstall, then perhaps do a de-frag, this will move data around, and very unlikely to use the exact same part of the hard disk again..


yes, i've formatted quite recently, plus it's quite new. i've tried re-installing a few times with both copies.

Sivy
09-12-2002, 10:58 AM
Originally posted by fat_101
hmmm mine works fine on xp aswell, u got grahics card drivers updated?

FATTEH


yes, i got a geforce 4 and i using the most recent nvidia driver

Sivy
09-12-2002, 11:00 AM
Originally posted by kstar__2
have you tried the website FAQ of mafia yet?


they haven't got one yet, they just say to e-mail, which i have.

Kstar__2
09-12-2002, 11:03 AM
too bad nothing works:(

Sivy
09-12-2002, 11:09 AM
Originally posted by kstar__2
too bad nothing works:(


i don't remember the last time i bought a game where i didn't have to upgrade something on my computer.:mad:


well to me it seems that ME might be the problem, but i'm not about to go and spend £80 on XP just bebause one game won't work.



Please someone tell me they have 98 or ME and are running mafia fine.

ZBomber
09-12-2002, 11:15 AM
Originally posted by SivyB



i don't remember the last time i bought a game where i didn't have to upgrade something on my computer.:mad:


well to me it seems that ME might be the problem, but i'm not about to go and spend £80 on XP just bebause one game won't work.



Please someone tell me they have 98 or ME and are running mafia fine.

never played the game. sorry. :(

Sivy
09-12-2002, 03:15 PM
still no reply from the tech support people,


i'm still open to suggestions :(

Kstar__2
09-12-2002, 03:19 PM
Originally posted by SivyB
still no reply from the tech support people,


i'm still open to suggestions :(

you still have to wait a couple of days b4 they reply, that is a basic rule in every helpdesk manual:(

Sivy
09-12-2002, 03:21 PM
Originally posted by kstar__2


you still have to wait a couple of days b4 they reply, that is a basic rule in every helpdesk manual:(

well it been 5 days, i've never needed any tech help before so i'm not sure how long it takes.

Kstar__2
09-12-2002, 03:25 PM
a couple of days, weeks, coulb be moths:(
well, mostly its the days/weeks part, after that, they just don't reply:(

acdcfanbill
09-12-2002, 03:28 PM
Its been my personal experiance that Windows ME is a peice of junk. I would rather use 98SE if it came down to it, but as for it not being a valid application, I'm not quite sure it could be a bunch of different things :D

Sivy
09-12-2002, 07:56 PM
well i got an e-mail back from the tech support, i bet you can guess what it said

make sure all your drivers are up to date bah bah bah,

well they are.
the problem is the exe file isn't installing or it's not being recognise as an exe by windows.
my experience with out of date drivers usually results in the game not working properly, but it's not working at all.


please, there must be someone who knows what to do when you see this,

game.exe is not a valid win32 application

NerfYoda
09-12-2002, 09:14 PM
Have you tried installing it from the same CD onto another computer? It sounds like a bad install. "Invalid win32 app" has nothing to do with your drivers etc., just the relationship between that .exe file & your OS. Either your OS isnt seeing it right or you have a bad .exe. Install it on another computer to check. If you get the same error then return it. If not then its something wacky going on with your computer. A reinstall would usually fix that, but since you say youve done that all I can reccomend is getting all the latest OS patches or possibly try winxp. WinME is really the ass end of all the Microsoft OS's out there. :)

STTCT
09-13-2002, 09:47 AM
start the other .exe on the CD (there's launcher.exe and another)

Sivy
09-13-2002, 09:50 AM
Originally posted by STTCT
start the other .exe on the CD (there's launcher.exe and another)

i tried that but it doesn't do everthing.

STTCT
09-13-2002, 09:51 AM
maybe this article will help u...i know it isn't for the same game...but maybe



Games: Error Message: Not a Valid Win32 Application
The information in this article applies to:
Microsoft Bicycle Board Games Version 1.5
Microsoft Bicycle Card Games Version 1.0
Microsoft Dungeon Siege 1.0
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2002
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2002 Professional Edition
Microsoft Train Simulator 1.0
Microsoft Zoo Tycoon

Symptoms
When you start any of the Microsoft games listed at the beginning of this article, you may receive an error message similar to one of the following:

<game>.exe is Not a Valid Win32 Application.
-or-


A black command prompt box flashes on the screen.
-or-


When running in a command prompt, the text: Program too big to fit in memory.
Cause
This behavior can occur if your game's installation is damaged (corrupted).
Resolution
To resolve this issue, use the following methods in the order presented.

NOTE: Because there are several versions of Windows, the following steps may be different on your computer. If they are, please see your product documentation to complete these steps.

Uninstall the Game
Click Start, point to Settings, and then click Control Panel.
Double-click Add/Remove Programs.
In the list of installed programs, click the game, and then click Add/Remove.
When you are prompted to uninstall the program, click Yes.
When the uninstall process is complete, click Start, point to Find, and then click Files or Folders.
In the Named box, type "DungeonSiege.exe", "fs2002.exe", "train.exe", or "zoo.exe" (including the quotation marks).

NOTE: The name of the executable you type in will depend on what game you have installed. The executable names match the following games:
Dungeon Siege = "DungeonSiege.exe"
Flight Simulator 2002 = "fs2002.exe"
Train Simulator = "train.exe"
Zoo Tycoon = "zoo.exe"

In the Look In box, click the hard disk on which you installed the game, and then click Find Now.
In the list of found files and folders, right-click the game executable file, and then click Delete.
If you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click Yes or Yes to all.
Empty the Temp Folder
To empty the Temp folder and the Temporary Internet Files folder, use the Disk Cleanup tool. To do this, follow these steps:
Click Start, point to Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click Disk Cleanup.
Click C: (or whatever drive on which Windows is installed), and then click OK.
Click to select the Temporary files check box.
Click OK, and then click Yes to confirm the deletion.
Restart Your Computer by Performing a Clean Boot
To perform a clean boot, follow the steps appropriate to your version of Microsoft Windows. Microsoft Windows XP

For additional information, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
Q310353 How to Perform a Clean Boot in Windows XP
Microsoft Windows Millennium Edition (Me)
Click Start, click Run, type msconfig in the Open box, and then click OK.
On the General tab, click Selective startup.
Click to clear all of the check boxes under Selective startup.
On the Startup tab, click to select the *StateMgr check box.
Click OK. When you receive the message to restart your computer, click Yes. After the computer restarts, click Start, click Run, type msconfig in the Open box, and then click OK.

IMPORTANT: Look closely at the General tab to ensure that the check boxes that you cleared are still cleared. If none of the check boxes are selected, proceed to the following method. If you see a selected, unavailable check box (it appears dimmed and has a check mark in it), your computer is not truly "clean-booted," and you may need to contact the manufacturer of the program that is listed next to the selected, unavailable check box for assistance.
Microsoft Windows 98
Click Start, point to Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click System Information.
On the Tools menu, click System Configuration Utility.
On the General tab, click Selective Startup, and then click to clear the following check boxes:
Process Config.sys file
Process Autoexec.bat file
Process Winstart.bat file (if available)
Process Win.ini file
Load Startup group items


Click OK. When you are prompted to restart the computer, do so.
NOTE: To restore your original Startup options, click Normal Startup on the General tab in the System Configuration Utility tool.
Reinstall the Game
To reinstall the game, follow these steps:
Insert the game CD-ROM into your computer's CD-ROM or DVD-ROM drive.

If the Setup program does not start automatically, follow these steps:
Click Start, and then click Run.
In the Open box, type < cd-rom>:\setup.exe, where < cd-rom> is the letter of your computer's CD-ROM or DVD-ROM drive.
Click OK.
Follow the instructions on the screen to install the game.

Sivy
09-13-2002, 10:02 AM
thanks, i'll give that a go.
at least a have an explanation of what it means

:D