PDA

View Full Version : Floating Right Hand. WTF? (help)


Flamegrape
09-12-2002, 10:57 PM
http://www.flamegrape.com/pic/xev_render_12sep02a.jpg

Everything is going great. I've been able to get my model into ModView. I felt a wave of relief when I saw that all my textures worked out fine. Now on to modifying vert weights.

But WTF? Why is the right hand out of place? The skeleton is not out of wack, I think. The verts on the hand are weighted without any trouble. What's going on?

This has got to be a common problem. That's all I can figure.

Madjai
09-12-2002, 11:10 PM
yea its no big deal, your gonna have to reweight and reheirarchy the hand though.
just do the patented sithlordii approach, create an object, attach out of place mesh to newly created object, delete object faces, reweight and reheirarchy the hand and tags that go with the hand. problem solved.

Flamegrape
09-13-2002, 10:00 AM
I already did that something like that. It did this before so I re-hierarchied all of the meshes. This time around, I weighted ALL of the verts to the hand bone just so I could double-check this. Same result as before.

But I didn't create a new object and attached the hand to it and then delete the new object's verts, like you suggested. I'll try it. But I doubt it will work. My intuition tells me something is going on with the skeleton.

Madjai
09-13-2002, 10:07 AM
well considering i just had the EXACT same problem with Gandalf, except both hands were slightly out of place, and i fixed it with the sithlordii's approach im 99% sure it will work.

Flamegrape
09-13-2002, 10:40 AM
I created a new object, attached the hand to the object, and then deleted the new object's geometry. The result of this was that the hand was moved a little bit closer to being in proper place. I'm still dumbfounded.

Could the misplacement of bolts be the cause? All of them are intersecting the corresponding caps, as they should. I'm totally guessing at this point.

Flamegrape
09-13-2002, 10:45 AM
To me, it doesn't make any sense. In MAX, the hand is in it's proper place. And it seems to me that it doesn't matter where the mesh's origin is located. It animates depending on it's verts' proximity to skinned bones. And I've done that. I did the left hand in exactly the same way. The left hand animates just fine. The right hand is suspended in mid-air. WTF?

Madjai
09-13-2002, 10:52 AM
well it shouldnt have just moved it closer, it should put it right where its supposed to be. it wouldnt have anything to do with the tags, tags can be placed anywhere and they shouldnt give you a problem.
if you want i can take a look at it.

Flamegrape
09-13-2002, 10:57 AM
I really don't want to send anyone my MAX project files.

Flamegrape
09-13-2002, 11:17 AM
Nothing is working. The only thing I can figure out so far is that if there are any child objects linked to the hand they will also be relocated to where the hand has been moved.

This is really irritating me. I can't find any reason why this is happening.

Flamegrape
09-13-2002, 11:21 AM
The right hand is an exact clone/mirror of the left hand. Does that give any hint?

Darth Vigrid
09-13-2002, 11:23 AM
Ok, try this. Select the hand, unlink it from everything, go to the utilities tab, and select reset xforms. Then go to the stack and right click on the xform in the stack and select collapse to.

Flamegrape
09-13-2002, 11:38 AM
Originally posted by Darth Vigrid
Ok, try this. Select the hand, unlink it from everything, go to the utilities tab, and select reset xforms. Then go to the stack and right click on the xform in the stack and select collapse to.

Absolutely no difference.

sithlord-II
09-13-2002, 01:07 PM
find another part that is working correctly, such as the left leg, the head, whatever, something not near the hand, but which shows up correctly within modview, or game.
After this part has been weighted, apply an Edit mesh modifier to it, Select Attach, and Attach the hand in question. Now, it will be part of this other part (head, leg, whatever). Go into sub-object/Polygon Mode, select the polys of the hand, and go to Detach.
This should fix any issues it had. You will need to re-link it to any bolts or other mesh parts (ie. link it to the forearm, the rhand bolt, and such), and you will need to reweight the hand, but it will fix the issue, in my experience....

Oh, and on the mesh part you used to fix this, the one you attached then detached the hand from, you can remove the Edit Mesh modifier, although it should not affect anything on its weightings or otherwise, since you will technically not be removing or adding any verts from what were edited during the skinning/weighting process.

sithlord-ii

Flamegrape
09-13-2002, 01:48 PM
Originally posted by sithlord-II
find another part that is working correctly, such as the left leg, the head, whatever, something not near the hand, but which shows up correctly within modview, or game.
After this part has been weighted, apply an Edit mesh modifier to it, Select Attach, and Attach the hand in question. Now, it will be part of this other part (head, leg, whatever). Go into sub-object/Polygon Mode, select the polys of the hand, and go to Detach.
This should fix any issues it had. You will need to re-link it to any bolts or other mesh parts (ie. link it to the forearm, the rhand bolt, and such), and you will need to reweight the hand, but it will fix the issue, in my experience....

Oh, and on the mesh part you used to fix this, the one you attached then detached the hand from, you can remove the Edit Mesh modifier, although it should not affect anything on its weightings or otherwise, since you will technically not be removing or adding any verts from what were edited during the skinning/weighting process.

sithlord-ii

I already tried that. Exact same results.

I can't believe that this hasn't happened to someone else. All my intuition is telling me that it has to have something to do with the skeleton or maybe the bolts or something.

I've checked everything, it seems. I can't figure out what I'm missing. SOMETHING is throwing off the right hand. It's positioned correctly in the MAX model. At this point, I have all of the vert 100% bound to rhand bone; this I did in order to not confuse the issue with verts bound to various other bones.

I thought it might have something to do with the fact that I used either the Kyle skeleton or the stormtrooper skeleton. But both of them seem to be exactly the same.

Flamegrape
09-13-2002, 01:56 PM
I even tried this: I create a BOX, converted it to a mesh, UV mapped the hand texture, moved it to 0,0,0, moved all the verts to the position of the right hand, skined it, weighted all the points to the rhand bone.

SAME RESULTS!!

sithlord-II
09-13-2002, 01:56 PM
this has happened to a lot of people, but most ways we have recommended, were what fixed the issues....
give me a shout on msn if you have it...

frost_michael@hotmail.com

and i just noticed this...

Madjal wrote:
"just do the patented sithlordii approach"

lol i didn't realize i had a patent on it....

Flamegrape
09-13-2002, 03:42 PM
Cool! Sithlord-II, your method worked. It was something screwy with the right ARM, not the hand. You were right about that. i would have never thought of it. I applied your method to the right arm and it's working just fine!

THANK YOU!

Madjai
09-13-2002, 04:31 PM
well... now i just wanna strangle you for not seeing it was the arm, lol.

SAIK HUAT
09-13-2002, 04:54 PM
Had you collapsed your mesh?