PDA

View Full Version : AI patch?


lukeiamyourdad
09-14-2002, 12:47 PM
The strategy part in SWGB needs some upgrade I think. The transition between easiest and hardest is not big enough. Hardest only means more pressure but no good strategy like flanking, traps etc.

I think it would be nice to increase the AI. What do you think?

simwiz2
09-14-2002, 01:54 PM
Yes, it also needs to learn that sending 1 wave of 20 troopers is more effective than 20 waves of 1 trooper each, and how to use AC's effectively, etc. I think an AI patch would be nice, but unfortunately LA has already made their money off this game, so I doubt they could justify putting more work into it. :(

Sithmaster_821
09-14-2002, 02:00 PM
The CC AI is head and shoulders better than that of most games. However, AoM's AI will be the best.;)

jcb231
09-14-2002, 04:03 PM
I just wish the hardest settings wouldn't cheat.

Darth Windu
09-15-2002, 12:22 AM
What i would like changed is the AI allies declaring war on the human player every time in hard and hardest.

joesdomain
09-15-2002, 02:33 AM
I hate it when I play death match vs, 1 computer player and he cheats by building 20 or 30 fortresses in moderate, hard and hardest level. It takes forever to blow them up with no cheats of mine own. Lucky they made simonsays a cheat and i can take care of the 30 fortresses easy.

Sithmaster_821
09-15-2002, 02:23 PM
Windu, thats why they have lock teams;)

Joe, it isnt cheating if the comp builds a ton of forts, however it is kinda annoying.

Kryllith
09-15-2002, 02:57 PM
It does cheat monetarily on hardest. Not only does it start with more resources, it routinely boosts its resources with cheats (I've matched it worker for worker for gathering resources and there's no way it could jump through the levels that quick AND send that much military against me without resource boosting).

Granted it's almost necessary for it to do it because of limitations to AI strategy. I'd much prefer the boost the AI of it and cut out the resource boosting as of means of matching it up with a human player. Otherwise it's simply a matter of surviving long enough to reach tech III & IV and then slaughtering it.

Kryllith

lukeiamyourdad
09-15-2002, 03:17 PM
How do you guys found out that the comp cheats?

Kryllith
09-15-2002, 05:10 PM
Well it automatically starts with more resources on highest. This is easy to see if you have the current scores for people displayed on screen (usually starts several hundred points above you). Put yourself on total economy production ignore anything else until tech II (at which point you'll want to start putting up defenses) to hold the computer off. Watch the computers progression. It will pretty much jump through all the tech levels in no time flat (I've had it hit tech 4 shortly after I've hit tech 2) and it will swamp you with troops.... I

It's impossible to advance that fast AND flood you with troops unless it's cheating. BTW, I've had it do this and then ended the game when it hit tech 4... I had more workers than it did yet I hadn't reach Tech 3 nor had I spent all my resources on troops/upgrades.

Kryllith