PDA

View Full Version : There WILL BE Space terrain.


Compa_Mighty
07-29-2001, 11:27 PM
I've posted this in another thread, but I think it should have its own thread. :deathstar:

Quote: "The space tileset is reminiscent of the Starcraft space terrain, except that in addition to space platforms there are also large asteroids among the stars. They're also populated with familiar Star Wars fauna, such as taun tauns and wampaas. Even the space setting has neutral creatures--the winged mynocs that flutter around asteroids."

From:

http://gamespot.com/gamespot/storie...60898-2,00.html

Look at this shot:

http://gamespot.com/gamespot/filter...0395-32,00.html

Sith Lord
07-29-2001, 11:43 PM
but will there be capital ships, like the sc ships?

Tie Guy
07-29-2001, 11:44 PM
I don't think so, maybe a different game will include space.

Starnick10287
07-30-2001, 12:40 AM
there probably won't be any capitol ships like star destroyers(but it would be cool if there could be!) but you might still be able to have space battles with the x-wings, y-wings, ties, etc

Tie Guy
07-30-2001, 04:59 PM
Yes, i wish we knew whether there were air to air battles, that would be a nice feature, but we don't...

Clefo
07-30-2001, 05:01 PM
Air to Air Battles? Of course you probably can see Tie's fighting the all powerful Z-95!

But unless you are talking aboot something else...

Tie Guy
07-30-2001, 05:19 PM
Well, in previous games, opposing fighter could pass right by each other without attacking each other. In other words, air units couldn't attack air units. I hope that they will include anit-air weapons on fighters, so there can be dogfights.

Paragon_Leon
07-30-2001, 08:20 PM
i suppose they'll do that naturally. but capitol ship REALLY would be the ultimate addition.
imagine them getting shot up gradually, with fires breaking out and all...

ahhhh. (**homer sound of drooling**)

Tie Guy
07-30-2001, 11:06 PM
They could effectively be used as "superweapons, but not anything else. In other words, they could have a orbital bombardment weapon if you built a com tower upgrade or something, but they could never be playable.

Paragon_Leon
07-31-2001, 05:04 AM
since the only thing we're REALLY comparing it with is AOK, i'd say they could be floating castles...
sort of.

Tie Guy
07-31-2001, 12:00 PM
They'd have to be floating castles that took up the entire map.

Paragon_Leon
07-31-2001, 12:04 PM
not really. look at the castles in AOK. you could have a dozen of them and still not have the screen filled.

Tie Guy
07-31-2001, 12:22 PM
i know, but capitol ships are larger than castle, or at least ImpStars are.

Worf
07-31-2001, 01:21 PM
I think the largest capital ship in the game would probably be a Corellian Corvette.

Remember, having an ISD flying over a planets surface would seem a bit too far.

If you wanted ships that size, then you could always create them with the space platform and put some anti air turrets on them for the turbolasers.

I'm hoping they put ships like the Falcon and the Otana in.

Worf

Darth_Rommel
07-31-2001, 01:24 PM
The falcon is practically guaranteed to be in the scenario editor, probably as a hero unit :cool:

Tie Guy
07-31-2001, 01:24 PM
It would be really cool if they had a battle inside of a SSD or ISD. It could be like a covert sabotage mission, where you have a jedi and some troops and you have to blow the reactor.

Darth_Rommel
07-31-2001, 01:32 PM
That would be awesome! :p

Tie Guy
07-31-2001, 02:22 PM
I know! I'm the one who posted it! j/k :D

Paragon_Leon
07-31-2001, 05:31 PM
no, you're the one who stole the idea from Rebel Assault 2, where there IS a fighter battle inside a SD.
hehe

Darth_Rommel
07-31-2001, 05:33 PM
Tie would never steal!

Starnick10287
07-31-2001, 05:35 PM
There will pobably be missions inside a cap. ship.

Tie Guy
07-31-2001, 05:36 PM
I've never played Rebel Assault 2, honest.

Starnick10287
07-31-2001, 05:39 PM
I've played Rebel Assualt 2 and i completed the entire game in one day! But then i accidently deleted the saved game. :(
And that mission was in a planet's mines. You had to escape while being shot at, etc.

Paragon_Leon
07-31-2001, 05:39 PM
then do, and come back saying that it's in the game and we should all be inspired by that idea.. ;)

Tie Guy
07-31-2001, 05:42 PM
I would, but i can't drive.

Starnick10287
07-31-2001, 05:46 PM
I've played Rebel Assualt 2 and completed it in one day, then i accidently deleted the saved game. :(
Anyways, that mission inside the "capitol ship" was in fact in planet's mines.

Starnick10287
07-31-2001, 05:46 PM
sorry double posts

Paragon_Leon
07-31-2001, 05:48 PM
yeah, and double wrong.

there's a mission where you end up in a Star Destroyer, and have to escape from it's hangar bays in a TIE-fighter. that's the level.

Starnick10287
07-31-2001, 05:53 PM
Oh yeah that one, guess i forgot. Haven't played the game in 2 years.

Paragon_Leon
07-31-2001, 05:55 PM
me neither... ;)

Starnick10287
07-31-2001, 06:08 PM
lol

i wonder how space terreain will be presented?

Paragon_Leon
07-31-2001, 06:10 PM
think platforms, space inbetween (like starcraft) and asteroids

Starnick10287
07-31-2001, 06:18 PM
i know that.......................but what will the SPACE terrain look and be presented, because space isn't 2d but the game is.

Paragon_Leon
07-31-2001, 06:22 PM
they usedd to have REAL COOL space in Star Trek Armada, where you felt like the units were floating over moving space. it really had a depth to it. anybody seen what i'm describing here ?

Starnick10287
07-31-2001, 06:35 PM
nope, but lets hope something like that is in GB

Compa_Mighty
07-31-2001, 06:39 PM
Starnick, you can see the picture from the space here:

http://gamespot.com/gamespot/stories/previews/0,10869,2798825,00.html

It looks good.

Paragon_Leon
07-31-2001, 06:40 PM
the feeling of depth was enhanced by the look of the Starcraft-like-engine. so i guess it wouldn't work that well with the AOK-engine.
a feeling of floating still seems the key to give space-levels that real space-feel

Compa_Mighty
07-31-2001, 06:47 PM
so you don't like how it looks?

Paragon_Leon
07-31-2001, 06:51 PM
well, it's ok i guess. but if you have static stars... that kind of takes the shine off it i suppose. know what i mean ?

Tie Guy
07-31-2001, 07:02 PM
no, what do you mean?

Paragon_Leon
07-31-2001, 07:22 PM
i mean that space should have the feel of depth, even though you look at something that is static.
so if you have stars that are simply drawn on a black background, that will be very hard to achieve depth. using scrolls or multiple / independent layers would be better but more system-demanding.

Tie Guy
07-31-2001, 10:32 PM
That would be a way to do it, but another way would to have the stars actually be in suspended space, so it was althrough out the terrain, rather than just on the background.

Darth_Rommel
07-31-2001, 10:35 PM
Thats a bit more practical ;)

Tie Guy
07-31-2001, 11:21 PM
dang straight it is. j/k :D

Starnick10287
08-01-2001, 01:35 AM
The one pic that shows the space terrain isn't that good. (you only see a small bit of it) But the small bit i saw, it looks like space will be a static and not layered. :( But they might might change that. (hopefully) :)

Paragon_Leon
08-01-2001, 06:32 AM
they might not. unit graphics are one thing, but changing the ground-layers is tweaking the engine a lot.