PDA

View Full Version : Has your computer ever crashed while saving a map?


Don Gero
09-24-2002, 10:28 AM
This happened to me recently. I'm making a MP map of the Senate Landing Platform on Coruscant complete with the Royal Starship and everything. I saved the .MAP as I do every so often and Radiant just crashed on me. When I went back into it there were only a handfull of brushes that were saved.

Needless to say my heart stopped beating for a good five seconds and the blood in my veins clotted, forcing me into a coma-like trance. After the initial shock came the period of "Wait... That's not right... I don't think that's supposed to... Ha ha ha, that's funny... STUPID PIECE OF..."

I eventually found the .BAK and recovered everything. Has anybody else had a similar neardeath experience? And is that what the .BAK is for? My .MAP wont not compile or something equaly evil, right?

alanuk
09-24-2002, 11:28 AM
i had this prob beacuse my grahic card was ****
now i got a ge-force 4 it works fine

what grahic card u got?

Livingdeadjedi
09-24-2002, 01:19 PM
All the friggin time LOL :p

It normally happens because you create a rogue brush or create a mesh that goes wrong, then if it doesnt crash straight away it crashes as soon as you save..

Best thing i can suggest is always ALWAYS keep a seperate backup of the most recent version of your map in another folder.

Gallowbraid
09-24-2002, 05:02 PM
I've had this happen to me twice...both times it was when I either went to save or compile the map at the exact time that Radiant did an autsave. That's the only time I've had the program crash. In both instances the majority of work I had done was saved and retrievable.

Quotation
09-24-2002, 05:02 PM
Yeah, similar concept with me. I save my .maps in conscutive stages of progress. So, I have ****1.map, then I fiddle around with it, and if there's a significant development, I save as ****2.map, and so on.

Don Gero
09-25-2002, 05:18 AM
I got my computer last Christmas and I haven't reformatted it since I got it so I think the drivers for my graphics card have been corrupted or seomthing. My GeFroce 3 is the source all my computer's problems these days. But the problems with brushes and meshes sounds like a legit explaination too. The Royal Starship needs a lot of curves.

I think I'll pick up the habit of saving in two sources from now on :rolleyes: