PDA

View Full Version : Changing to a level in a different mod folder?


Emon
09-29-2002, 02:50 PM
At the end of a level, when you have the trigger thingy that says what map to load next, would it be possible to make it load a map in a different mod folder? For example...

This is where level 1 is:

GameData\Mod1\maps

I want it to change to a map in this folder:

GameData\Mod2\maps

Would it be possible to do that? If you specified the map name as "..\..\Mod2\maps\newmap.bsp"? That should work in theory, correct?

I ask because in SP, you can't do things like change the player model or change the weapons. If after one level I wanted the player to change his/her costume, I'd have to be running in a completely different folder with different PK3s.

So, would this work, or would it just puke on you when you try it?

WhiteShdw
09-29-2002, 05:12 PM
Well, you can always try with some small testmaps, but i don't it will work.

Even if you do manage to change maps that way, I'm not sure if the engine will read the pk3's in that folder or just stay with the pk3's in the folder you started with.

The idea is very cool, but i don't think it will work. I do hope you can prove me wrong.;)

Hey, maybe you can add a line like set fs_game "mod2" in the mapchange command. Maybe that will work. That should change the folder also.

Emon
09-29-2002, 06:15 PM
Yeah, I figured it might work, but read the old resources instead.

The fs_game thing would work just dandy, except that the game must be restarted.

The only option I can think of would be to use some external program that closes down the game and restarts it for the next level. Certantly not worth it for something like changing the player's skin.

However... I think if you made a shader for each texture on the player model, using triggers (I think) you could tell the shader to go to another frame, and give each shader a second frame with the second texture, and voila, you've got a skin change.

WhiteShdw
09-29-2002, 06:26 PM
Yeah, if you can do that, it should work. But you couldn't change model then. Just using a different skin on the same model.

So no changing from male to female in a game i guess. :)

But personally i wouldn't mind restarting the game to play the level with a different model. If the map and the story is worth it, I wouldn't mind at all.

Emon
09-29-2002, 06:30 PM
Restarting the game for the user isn't so hard, I think it's more of a matter of coding a RELIABLE system that'll do it for you.