PDA

View Full Version : WIP:FFA_Cantina


Tigris
10-04-2002, 08:38 AM
Ok, just to send you some updates-
1. I have recieved a botroute-file by Nyght, they are working :)
2. I'm experimenting with Q3map2 from ydnar, but up to this date haven't gotten it to lighten any of my maps properly- so I'll wait with the next release until I finally get it to work correctly.
3. I've made a new bar that will be included in the next version of the cantina- the old one just didn't seemed detailed enough.

I'll post some new screenshots once the next build is completed.
For some quite simple wallpapers you can check out http://www.durahcell.de/jk2preview/wallpapers...

Especially the first one is for all those of you who helped me up to this point :)

War Master
10-04-2002, 09:17 AM
Can't wait for the final version it looks amazing! What program did you create your sky box with?

Kranckor
10-04-2002, 09:11 PM
http://www.durahcell.de/JK2Preview/wallpapers/Wallpaper1.jpg
Every single ON of you. :p

Tigris
10-05-2002, 02:58 AM
Er, I think Gizmo (whos skybox I'm using) used Bryce3d, but I can't say that for certain...

Yeah- lucky being out of school already; my teacher would have shot me :D

superdude201
10-05-2002, 04:38 AM
Tigris the new version of ur map rocks. You've added so much since the last version can't wait for new screenies of new bar. And you must be a good mapper cause u worked out how to use gizmos skybox :D will there be a kind of landing pad on it eventually? Keep mapping

buckman
10-05-2002, 05:01 AM
Hey Tigris great work as usual ;)

Hows the work going with the upper part of the bar? Btw if you need anything, just let me know :D


-Buck out :duel:

Padawan_7
10-05-2002, 10:45 AM
Yeah, I think it would be nice to see a landing pad as well.

Tigris
10-05-2002, 03:39 PM
I'll do my best to include it- problem right now is that I'm afraid the engine will reach its limits- hopefully I'll be able to include the spaceport.

The upper segment of the bar is already included in my currently-running compile. Had hoped the new version of q3map2 would include the lighting but it doesn't work :( I'll see what I can do, hopefully I'm soon finished with it (like tomorrow evening)... Then I'll show you the first pictures.

About the comment "great mapper"- If you say so ;) No, really- Gizmos skyboxes worked fine with me, if you want to I can post the shaders here- Never had problems with them...

Hopefully I'm faster creating the beta3 than I was with the current beta- did take a bit long, even though there are some more buildings- I'm still wondering how to make the textures look better: Made them bigger, but they still look tiled for afar :(

superdude201
10-05-2002, 04:54 PM
K ty tigris and u r a great mapper u've added loads and its made your map 10 times better and if i'm honest i thought u could have only made ur other cantina map 2 times better cause i wouldn't have know what else to include

Tigris
10-06-2002, 08:25 AM
I didn't know what to add either- but lucky for me: I had some creative minds giving me feedback :)

Tigris
10-08-2002, 11:39 AM
Ok, some bad news- I've had a headcrash and now am unable to start my PC :( Fortunately the cantina-file was on another hard-disk, so it SHOULD be intact. Unfortunately I'm not able to access it for some days because I first need to buy a new HDD :(

The Truthful Liar
10-08-2002, 12:21 PM
Bah! That happened to me recently as well, I know how you feel. Hope you get it back up asap! :cool:

superdude201
10-08-2002, 05:50 PM
NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOO :( hope u get it sorted out soon u ever go on jk2 and just wondering whats ur on-game name :D

Padawan_7
10-24-2002, 10:49 AM
Any updates Tigris?

__CKY__
10-24-2002, 06:36 PM
It looks very good Tigris how much longer till completion?

Tigris
11-01-2002, 09:56 AM
Long- still am trying to resurrect my harddrive. Until then I can't access the map :( Hopefully I'll be able to fix everything this weekend- then I can at least go on working on it.

Gignatz
11-01-2002, 11:45 AM
looks very nice tigris.

a couple of hair-splitting niggles though:

1) open areas look a wee bit sparse - though i think it's in its nature (size of map and the BEAUTIFUL architecture:))

2) the textures on the two towers in the background of wallpaper4 look a bit iffy

as i say these are only very tiny niggles on what is a very cool-looking map...hope you rescue your hard-drive successfully!!!

Pnut_Man
11-01-2002, 04:27 PM
Glad to know that The FFA_CANTINA is being updated =)

i loved the last update..


Btw...i might as well say this right now :

Find some way to make the "hangout spot" the bar....

Everyone is always sitting on top of the big towers O_o

Tigris
11-04-2002, 03:25 PM
I'll see what I can do about the textures... Tried to enlarge them, but it only added size, didn't improve the looks, perhaps I'll rework them =)

Meanwhile I'm building on two levels, one that I already have been working on for month, you can check out early beta-shots here:
1. MP_coruscant (http://www.durahcell.de/JK2Preview/mp_coruscant/)
and 2. duel_rooftop (http://www.durahcell.de/JK2Preview/duel_rooftop/)

Shadriss
11-04-2002, 05:08 PM
Took a look around the rececntly released BETA, and it's looking VERY nice, Tigris. Actually, I only have two concerns...

1) I'm sure someone has mentioned this, but... on one of the buildings with the towers, there is a section of wall that's either caulked or missing. You can see straight through the building. Maybe that's gonna be a door or something, but thought I'd mention it.

2) THe denention center you build is a GREAT idea. However, I would suggest making the "cells" a tad bigger. Nit-picky, but hey...

Good job - hope you recover teh HDD.

Wudan
11-04-2002, 05:31 PM
Must. Compile. With. Q3Map2.

What. Error ... On . Light. Stage?

Tigris
11-05-2002, 03:39 PM
Q3Map2- nice program... Found error... Turn Brain on next time...
Now, to tell you the truth- I forgot the "-game jk2" argument on the light command... that was all :o
Ok, dump things happen to me too ;)
Now- if only I could get that PC to work again...

Wudan
11-05-2002, 03:59 PM
sweeeeeeet, was just a user error. I have turned my brain on. make a version of this map work with saga, and I'll love you for life ;)

Wudan
11-05-2002, 04:02 PM
Oh, also, noticed your latest WIP, and glass always looks junky like that - stretch your glass texture 1.00 instead of default .25, and it'll look more 1337.

If you don't beleive me, try it on only one thing of glass, it's easily undoable.

buckman
11-05-2002, 04:12 PM
looking good Tigris, as usual ;)

i've been having some troubles with q3map2, when i try to compile it says:

FloatPlane: badnormal
FloatPlane: badnormal
FloatPlane: badnormal
FloatPlane: badnormal

The compile "finishes" after about 1 minute, but when i load up the map in jo nothing has changed since the lst working compile...

Tigris
11-06-2002, 04:48 AM
Seems to be two errors- 1. The bad normals is a problem with the map itself, only way I know to fix it is compiling it in q3 and reworking the brushes involved, they are listed in the debug window (that should pop up)...
2. Did you PK3 your map already? If so delete that file: when map file is present in both a pk3 and the maps-folder unpacked- the .bsp file in the pk3 is always used first...