PDA

View Full Version : Taking screenshots?


mindovereasy
10-14-2002, 10:06 AM
Sorry for the n00b question, but how would one go about taking screenshots of old LucasArts games? What program can I use to do this? Thanks.

Jordee :guybrush:

bgbennyboy
10-14-2002, 10:26 AM
It does depend on your os.
The easiest way of course is to run them in scummvm then hit the print screen key and paste into a paint package of your choice.

HypersnapDx is the other good screenshot-taking proggy, however I dont think it works with dos-based games (certainly not on 2k/xp anyway) so it'll probably only work for cmi/grim/emi.

I cant remember the name of any decent dos-screen-grabbers atm, though there are some of course.

Bottom line, just use scummvm and the prtscrn key.

mindovereasy
10-14-2002, 10:48 AM
Well that takes care of single screenshots. Thanks.

I should have been more specific. I'm running WinXP and was interested in a program for the DOS games that can take multiple screens. I'm interested in making animated gifs.

Thanks for the help.

Jordee :guybrush:

bgbennyboy
10-14-2002, 10:55 AM
If your doing animated gifs it might be easier to use a costume ripper or similar (see lucashacks) to rip all the frames of animation for a sprite then make it into a gif, thats how I did my avatar anyway.

gidierre
10-14-2002, 12:30 PM
HypersnapDx is fine but if there's one thing it can't possibly do is take any dos game screenshots.

mindovereasy :
if you're running WinXP and want a dos screen grabber, well I'm afraid you'd better run the dos game... in dos :(

There are dos TSR (terminate_and_stay_resident) programs who can take multiple screenshots, anyway.
The best to my direct knowledge is a shareware called Pcxdump v. 9.31, which when launched in a dos session dumps the screen capture(s) to guess what, pcx files.
It doesn't properly run under Windows though, and although it's pretty customizable and relatively user-friendly and dependable, be warned that definitely not every videoadaptor will be supported : I've used it a lot with an old S3 ViRGE, and also with a Creative 3D Blaster Banshee card , but for instance there's no way I can take advantage of it with a Nvidia GeForce 2 chip.

Hoping this may help ;)

mindovereasy
10-15-2002, 06:44 AM
Thanks alot for the info guys! I'll see what I can conjure up with it.

Jordee :guybrush: