PDA

View Full Version : Pipe Questions


Takeoffyouhoser
10-15-2002, 06:58 PM
How do I attach one pipe to another? Do i use the clip tool or do i drag vertices.

is there anything I need to do to a pipe sp it can be walked on ?
Does the thicken function do this?

Emon
10-15-2002, 09:00 PM
You mean with patches? You're going to have to drag the verticies. Thicken makes it so you can walk on both the inside and the outside. If you never see the outside of the pipe in your level, I suggest keeping it normal and inverting the matrix (somewhere under curves), it'll save on polys.

Leslie Judge
10-16-2002, 07:47 AM
If you want those pipes to walk on them, and you can see them always from the outside, then you just have to make those cylinders. No thicken.

In some cases the most easiest way to position the second pipe as its end meets the center of the first one. It is best if you have your pipes in a T shape. I used the method in my maps a few times and worked fine.

If you want to curve the pipe I think you should bend it.

Hope I could help. :)

Takeoffyouhoser
10-16-2002, 02:26 PM
well, curving them isn't the problem.
I just have six boiling beer vats that i need some pipes coming too and fro for a realisitc feel.

Leslie Judge
10-16-2002, 04:32 PM
It would be easier if I could see it. ;)

Takeoffyouhoser
10-16-2002, 07:54 PM
tell me how to take editor screenshots and i'll show you

Takeoffyouhoser
10-16-2002, 08:42 PM
nevermind, I made it already, and drug the vertices and whatnot... thanks for all the help guys

Leslie Judge
10-17-2002, 03:32 AM
Then for future use :)

You can make editor screen shots by pressing the Print Screen key. This make a copy of the whole screen to the clipboard. After that you can paste it into any image editing program (ex.: Paint :D).

If you use Alt + Print Screen then it copies only the active window's area.