PDA

View Full Version : music


yoda-the-wise
10-17-2002, 07:35 PM
i need some music on my level but i don't know how to put some on!:( someone please help me!

Bell
10-19-2002, 12:58 PM
k is this for mp and do you want the music to loop and be heard throughout the map?

yoda-the-wise
10-19-2002, 01:18 PM
it's for sp and i want the music to be heard through out the level and repeat after it's done

Bell
10-19-2002, 02:26 PM
k add this to the worldspawn entity

key:music
value: music/mymap/mymusic.mp3

sample your music at 44hz 16 bit stereo

Shadyz
10-19-2002, 02:29 PM
I have been trying to do this to. I have a map already but i wan tto change music without having to change entities or whatever. Its also sp. I cant find the music folder cause thats where i would put my mp3 and then type in /music musicfilename.mp3

Can anyone help me so i can play any music on any SP level?

Bell
10-19-2002, 02:44 PM
k first identify the music thats playing by going through your assets files in the base folder;
once you find the name; just rename the music file you made to the originals name.
then put it in a folder with the same directory structure as the one in the asset file. I'm in the middle of a reinstall so i can't look to see what it is for example
music/whatever . . .

now pak it and call it mymusic.pk3 or what ever and throw it in your base folder and it will override the default in the game

Shadyz
10-19-2002, 03:02 PM
Thanks but this is a custom level No music has been attached :D

Bell
10-19-2002, 03:16 PM
K i'm confused so you don't want music?

Shadyz
10-19-2002, 03:18 PM
I have a custom made map. It dioesnt have music. I read some where all i had to do was type in /music filename.mp3 in the console. What I want to do is be able to pick music for a map that has none.

yoda-the-wise
10-19-2002, 04:12 PM
i have so music i downloaded.how would i put that on.same way?or no.

Bell
10-19-2002, 04:29 PM
well there is a music console command so try
/music filename

or
/music /music/duel

or whatever the file names are. ill try it later.

k yoda you would want to add that key to the worldspawn as mentioned earlier

yoda-the-wise
10-19-2002, 06:34 PM
ooottttttttaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!:)

yoda-the-wise
10-19-2002, 06:40 PM
hey bell on a scale from one to ten what did you think of my map?it was 46% done.

Bell
10-19-2002, 09:17 PM
well it is nicely balanced for a multi player map and judging from the style (don't want to give anything away) your challenge will be in the textures and detail. In fact if i were you i'd learn how to make custom textures or find them on game texture sites. I don't think using all stock textures on it will where i think you are going with it. Its a great idea and you are on the rite track; it will be nice if you compliment that with some original textures; at which point the theme of your map will be more appearant and unique. keep up the good work and keep me posted.

yoda-the-wise
10-19-2002, 09:25 PM
no problem bell thanx for you help.so that's two i owe you!:)

Kavis
10-27-2002, 06:34 AM
I know I'm gonna get slammed for being a total mapper noob here, butI STILL can't get music to run on my map. I have tried everthing i can find in the threads and nothing seems to work. Prob is everyone seems to say we should do something different - can someone please take pity on me and give me a definitive, even George Dubbya could do this, guide to getting music running please. Sorry again for my pathetic incompetance!! :confused:

Bell
10-27-2002, 08:27 AM
k tell me what you are doing to create the music; i.e. what sampling program you are using or if you are ripping it from a disc etc. and list step by step what you did for this part.

Kavis
10-27-2002, 09:12 AM
Ok, thanks man - it is a mp3 that i downloaded with Kazaa. It's just a track from return of th jedi; nothing special. The maps a mp if that makes a difference????

Bell
10-27-2002, 09:39 AM
k email me the mp3 and i'll check to see if it is sampled correctly; then we'll go from there
wpbellco@earthlink.net