PDA

View Full Version : Sky.tga error


Omikron
10-19-2002, 01:05 AM
Whenever I try to compile I keep getting a message saying that Sky.tga can't be found in a .txt thing in my C: called JK2_missing and the message in it is:
"C:\PROGRA~1\LUCASA~1\STARWA~1\GameData\\base\textu res/skies/sky.tga"

ayone know how to fix that?

Bell
10-19-2002, 01:47 PM
hmm, can you locate the tga?
is it a stock texture? you haven't altered your assets files have you?
so this error is inside a "jk2_missing.txt" file that pops up when the error during the compile occurs?

WhiteShdw
10-19-2002, 04:30 PM
That sky.tga file is just referencing an editor image. That means that it uses that image in the editor when you use a particular shader, mainly sky shaders. You probably get a reddish image when you use a particular shader in the editor. That's where it can't find the sky.tga.

It shouldn't have any impact on the compile even if you get an error message. When you compile the map, the textures should still show up in the game, even with the error.

If you still don't want the error message just take the sky.jpg image that came with the editor and convert it to sky.tga(don't rename, convert. And leave the .jpg as it is). It should be in the directory the error message points out.

Omikron
10-19-2002, 08:53 PM
I tried doing that but it didn't work, and its really annoying, but I was wondering if re-installing JO and GTK + the 2 SDKs would make a difference.
Would it?

Omikron
10-20-2002, 08:32 AM
Big
Ugly
Mad
Ppimps

and i tried the re-install, didnt work

WhiteShdw
10-20-2002, 11:16 AM
Originally posted by Omikron
I tried doing that but it didn't work, and its really annoying, but I was wondering if re-installing JO and GTK + the 2 SDKs would make a difference.
Would it?

No it wouldn't make a difference because that file does not exist. Not even in the SDK's. All you can do is make one yourself, but you don't have to, because it's not necessarry for a succesfull compile. Everyone who uses the Raven Skyboxes should get that error(perhaps not when you are using Yavin). It's not a big deal.

Leslie Judge
10-20-2002, 07:39 PM
Omikron, a letter is sent to you.

Omikron
10-22-2002, 08:02 AM
Thanx for that leslie, though it STILL is not working.
please, I REALLY REALLY need to know whats wrong.

Leslie Judge
10-22-2002, 10:27 AM
WhiteShdw wrote it doesn't make any problem with the compiled map, or does it?

Omikron
10-23-2002, 03:45 AM
It doesn't compile AT ALL, and I've tried re-installing everything, but I'm now going to download the update GTK and try that again and see if that works.

WhiteShdw
10-23-2002, 10:05 AM
I suggest looking for other error messages, because the Sky.tga can't be the problem. Try looking in the junk.txt file or check your compile paths.

Bell
10-23-2002, 01:45 PM
if ya want you can send me that map and i'll take a look at it

Omikron
10-24-2002, 06:35 AM
I think I've figured out what is wrong, but I dont know how to fix it.
I opened up the skies.shader file, and in there stars doesnt show up, and in the filename it is c:/progra~/starwa~/gamedata/base/c:/program
I think thats the problem, but I don't know how to fix it.

Bell
10-24-2002, 10:32 AM
can you post the shader?

Omikron
10-25-2002, 09:29 PM
I can't upload them, but if some1 could send me THERE skies.shader that would be very useful to see if it works.

btw, e-mail it HERE: fire_n_flame@hotmail.com

Omikron
10-26-2002, 06:40 AM
SoF2Map v1.0c (c) 2000 Raven Software Inc.

---- BSP ----
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/bespin.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/cinematics.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/common.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/decals.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/doomgiver.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/effects.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/explosions.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/flares.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/fogs.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/gfx.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/gfx2.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/imperial.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/items.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/Mandalorian.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/marks.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/metashader.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/models.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/mp.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/nar_shaddaa.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/players.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/sabers.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/scavenger.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/skies.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/sprites.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/system.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/test.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/text_crawl.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/ui.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/yavin.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/yoda.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/zoom.shader
Loading map file c:/program files/lucasarts/star wars jk ii jedi outcast/gamedata/base/maps/innerjungle.map
entering c:/program files/lucasarts/star wars jk ii jedi outcast/gamedata/base/maps/innerjungle.map
WARNING: Couldn't find image for shader noshader
**********************
******* leaked *******
**********************
Writing c:/program files/lucasarts/star wars jk ii jedi outcast/gamedata/base/maps/innerjungle.bsp
16 seconds elapsed
SoF2Map v1.0c (c) 2000 Raven Software Inc.

---- Vis ----
reading c:/program files/lucasarts/star wars jk ii jedi outcast/gamedata/base/maps/innerjungle.bsp
reading c:/program files/lucasarts/star wars jk ii jedi outcast/gamedata/base/maps/innerjungle.prt
LoadPortals: couldn't read c:/program files/lucasarts/star wars jk ii jedi outcast/gamedata/base/maps/innerjungle.prt

SoF2Map v1.0c (c) 2000 Raven Software Inc.

----- Lighting ----
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/bespin.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/cinematics.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/common.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/decals.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/doomgiver.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/effects.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/explosions.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/flares.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/fogs.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/gfx.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/gfx2.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/imperial.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/items.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/Mandalorian.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/marks.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/metashader.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/models.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/mp.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/nar_shaddaa.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/players.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/sabers.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/scavenger.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/skies.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/sprites.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/system.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/test.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/text_crawl.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/ui.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/yavin.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/yoda.shader
entering c:/progra~1/lucasa~1/starwa~1/gamedata/base/shaders/zoom.shader
Reading c:/program files/lucasarts/star wars jk ii jedi outcast/gamedata/base/maps/innerjungle.bsp
0 light emitting surfaces
Only 240 gridArrays used out of 1048576
0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9... (0)
8 x 10 x 3 = 240 grid
122 unique grid light points
0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9... (1)
writing c:/program files/lucasarts/star wars jk ii jedi outcast/gamedata/base/maps/innerjungle.bsp
18 seconds elapsed

Thats the junk file, and it still doesn't work, even though i was sent the shader file by leslie, still not working.

Leslie Judge
10-26-2002, 07:15 AM
ERm... your map is leaked. You should try to fix that first.

Omikron
10-26-2002, 07:35 AM
Just wondreing, whats 'leaked'
i'm guessing that its when the map isn't all put together?

Leslie Judge
10-26-2002, 10:54 AM
Someone used to explain this very good. I try to take (steal) something from him, whoever he is. :)

So try to imagine your map as a spaceship floating in space. To stay alive you need the hull of the ship to be sealed. Your map has to be sealed also. If it is leaked that means there is a hole somewhere. You have to fix that.

After compiling, JK2Radiant automatically loads the pointfile that sof2map.exe created during the compilation. GtkRadiant doesn't. You have to load it yourself via File menu's Pointfile or (Load pointfile?) command.

You can see thick red lines on your map in the editor. Those connect the leak spots sof2map has found. In the Misc menu you can find the two command: Find prev/next leak spot. There is a shortcut for them also. So using these will help you to find out where the leak is.

After you fixed it compile again, and see if there are the red lines again. Continue until they not come back after a compilation.

Leslie Judge
10-26-2002, 11:10 AM
Leaked means there is a hole in your map's outer walls. Let me steal from someone:

Imagine your map as a spaceship floating in space. You don't want to be there if the hull is not sealed properly, do you? :) Your map has to be sealed also. That means you have to cover the entire map with structural brushes, but doesn't mean that you have to build a big box around your map. That's not the way. Ok, it's working but not the best solution.

After compiling JK2Radiant automatically loads a file - the pointfile - created by sof2map.exe if the map is leaked. GtkRadiant doesn't. You have to ask it to load the file from the File menu.

After loading you can see thick red lines over your map in the editor. Those connect the leak spots. There are two commands in the Misc menu: Find prev/next leak spot. A shortcut is available for them too. These will help you to find the holes in your map.

After fixing you have to compile again. I recommand BSP NoVis NoLight for this. After compiling you have to check if the red lines are there. If they are, you have an other hole you have to fix. Repeat this until the red line wouldn't come back. Then you can start a normal compile.

Leslie Judge
10-26-2002, 11:12 AM
Oh great! I sent a reply, and it didn't show up. I sent a new one and now there are both. :D I hope at least one of them will help. :)

Omikron
10-26-2002, 11:09 PM
Now when I do it in JK2 Radiant it says:

CreatProcess Failed
GetLastError() = 2 - 0
An unrecoverable error has occured. Would you like to edit Preferences before exiting.
I REALLY don't know whats happening and i really need to fix this.

Leslie Judge
10-27-2002, 08:03 AM
At this point I would try to reinstall JK2Radiant. If it doesn't help, I would try using GtkRadiant. If that doesn't help, then I would think something went terribly wrong with the map file.

But this is me. :) I really haven't any other idea, sorry. Sombody else?

Wudan
10-27-2002, 10:51 AM
Ok, simple answer, you are using inferior tools and getting inferior results.

So, I would
A) Fix your leak
B) Use GTKRadiant
C) Compile with Q3Map2

But, your output from your compile ... said that SOF2MAP wrote a BSP in all three stages, so ... what error ARE you getting? Does your map load? Is it in the maps folder, under base?

Omikron
10-30-2002, 06:11 AM
Ok, I've fixed the leak, tried compiling with BOTH JkRadiant AND GTK Radiant, and it still does not work, and it does not compile at all, nothing, no popup BSP compiling box, nothing, and my map isn't in the map directory.
Is there something SERIOUSLY wrong with this?
And I have also tried re-installing everything, JK2, JKRadiant, GTK Radiant and it still does not work.

Leslie Judge
10-30-2002, 09:42 AM
Since JK2Radiant and GtkRadiant use sof2map to compile, there is no difference. :)

You wrote, your map isn't in the maps directory. THAT is a serious problem. :) Put it there. There was somebody else, who had a weird problem, and finally he realized that his map wasn't in the maps directory. I would never thought that. :)

Omikron
11-01-2002, 06:28 AM
Nope, still doesn't work.
ne ideas?