PDA

View Full Version : Right my maps leaked so how do i unleak it?


superdude201
10-24-2002, 05:45 PM
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^TOPIC^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ ^^^^^^^
Anyone know?Thanks

Andy867
10-24-2002, 08:58 PM
Well, it should so on the map grid where the leak is happening(which usually appears as a red line), and from there, you should be able to patch up the leak.

Eldritch
10-24-2002, 09:41 PM
As Andy said, you just have to patch up the leak. But i'll get into a little more detail so you can do that.

First of all, JK2 Radiant is much better for finding and fixing leaks... I use GtK Radiant to do the rest of my mapping, but if I have a problem I through it in JK2 Radiant (hasn't happened in a while though). Basically what you have to do is load up the "Pointfile" (should be in the File menu) and any leaks should appear as a big fat red line. Follow the line to the leak... leaks occur when brushes that contain your map don't meet and your map is exposed to the "void" (the void causes that HOM, or Hall Of Mirrors effect)... strictly speaking all maps, even the outdoors ones aren't really "open" - they're all enclosed by something. Hope this helps.

superdude201
10-25-2002, 01:29 PM
K thanks you two i'll try that

lassev
10-25-2002, 01:57 PM
One final thing to remember, although you could derive it from JEDI_Anakis_S' answer, is that entities (lights, func_xxxs) cannot be placed in the void, like outside rooms or corridors. So, if you accidentally forget eg. a light entity outside some room that you have for some reason made smaller, you will get a leaking map.