PDA

View Full Version : Can you compile in JK2 Radiant in Win XP Pro?


LainTora
10-26-2002, 05:55 PM
On my WinXP Pro machine, I have JK2 Radiant installed correctly and I am working on a MP map. The project settings are setup correctly.

However, when I try to compile (even NoVIS, NoLIGHT) I only see the compile screen for a split second then it disappears, but no *.BSP file is created, and no errors that I know of. If I put the same exact *.MAP on my Win98 SE machine, it compiles fine.

Can you compile in JK2Radiant on a WinXP Pro computer? From my results, "no", but if so, what am I doing wrong?

Evader
10-26-2002, 07:39 PM
I have Win XP Pro and compile works. I have no idea why it works under Win 98 and not under XP. Try finding the differences between those. Is that one computer with two systems or two different computers?

LainTora
10-27-2002, 02:57 AM
Two seperate computers: one with Win98 SE and the other with WinXP Pro.

Evader
10-27-2002, 07:37 AM
I can't think of anything, I mean could be a thousand things. I had that problem, but I can't remember how I solved it. I usually reinstall everything. It has nothin' to do with XP I assure you. The fact that compile works on one computer and not on the other points to radiant itself as a source of problem. In my experience, when somethin' just won't work, error is somethin' insignificant that you always oversee.

Livingdeadjedi
10-27-2002, 08:10 AM
i have XP home edition, it does bsp but i did notice two major differences that didnt occur under win98.

1. All text in radaint comes out garbled apart from text in menus and in lower window. all other text is messed up. To see texture names you have to click on them so that the name appears in that lower grey bar.

2. Unlike win98 when you bsp you see the sof2 window appear but it doesnt give you comile information until bsp ha finished so you have no idea how long its taking, its just set it going and hope. So you wont know youve got a leak or a problem until compiles done and sometimes even on fast vis that can be 20 mins with a large map and 3 or 4 hours on 4 vis :p

Leslie Judge
10-27-2002, 08:26 AM
LDJ, I use a simple batch file for compiling. So I can see everything in the command prompt window and stop it if the map is leaked or something.

LainTora
10-29-2002, 03:56 AM
I did reinstall the JK2 Radiant (and the update) on my WinXP Pro computer, but still no luck. I double-checked the "Project Settings" and still no compiling in WinXP Pro. The *.BSP file never gets written, and I did see an error: "Unspecified error. Contact John or Rick." Guess something is really mixed up.

In the mean time, whenever I want to compile, I just move the file over to my Win98 SE computer.

Thanks for your help.

Wudan
10-29-2002, 02:20 PM
Make your own bat file, just like LJ does - I did that for SOF2Map and use it more now that I use Q3Map2.

I'd just Use Q3Map2.

LainTora
10-29-2002, 03:27 PM
I understand creating a *.BAT file, but what program am I trying to run, and how to tell it what file to compile?

Wudan
10-29-2002, 05:16 PM
Ok, I've had a lot of questions on Q3Map2, and I try to answer most of them, so, I finally just wrote a webpage on how to use it. It's very basic, but I know what it's like trying to get info on Q3Map2 - it's like diving into the deep-end of map developing, when you just want to wade in the shallow end and get used to it. So, here's the page I whipped up ('scuse the HTML)

http://users.sisna.com/wudan/q3map2.html

It doesn't have images yet - if you need images, or have questions about q3map2, or have answers to questions, submit them. I've got webspace and I'm not afraid to use it.

That means, I'll update the page to be more inclusive, as people ask me to.

Email me if you have q's
wudan@sisna.com