PDA

View Full Version : MD3 files and some shaders doesn't load!!


xnmpfrz
10-29-2002, 08:13 AM
Hello i am a newbie using JK radiant and i have the following problems :

1-When i try to load a model/model ghoul of -lets says-a tree, Radiant says "can't open file " and when i load the map nothing is even there

2-When i extract the tree md3 file and its jpeg from assets0.pk3 in my base folder and then i specify the path in radiant to load the model it doesn't give me the "can't open" message but still nothing appears when i load my level

3-when i try to open tree.md3 in "mod viewer" program it says "can't file tree.tga, and the tree appears untextured (white)
but when i search into assets0.pk3 i can't see any tree.tga file!!!

4-all my skies textures doesn't emits any default/ambient light

5-some shadered textures doesn't load (like the yavin shadered grass )

6-when i place some "basic" items which doesn't need to specify a path like weapons, ammos, goodies, etc..they ALWAYS appears as colored boxes whether i specify the "show entities as" button with "show skinned", "show wireframes" etc...whatever the tries it always end as a dumb colored box

so my questions are :

A-Do i have to put specific parameters into JK radiant?(if yes where and how?)

B-Do i have to extract/or don't extract any files from assets? if yes which ones (all?) and where? (create a specific folder/path?)

C-how make skies which shed light by themselves

D-how make common misc items (weapons, goodies) to appear as something else as colored boxes?

Thanks to answer me :)

Wudan
10-29-2002, 01:00 PM
Use GTKRadiant - http://www.qeradiant.com
and
Use Q3Map2 - http://www.shaderlab.com/q3map2
and
Read the respective manuals.

There are some problems you mentioned that you might try reading the Rich Desal University thread - it's Stuck, so it's high on the thread list.

Shadriss
10-30-2002, 08:45 AM
B-Do i have to extract/or don't extract any files from assets? if yes which ones (all?) and where? (create a specific folder/path?)

No, you dont HAVE to. I, personally, DO extrack the assets0.pk3 file, but that's just so I can get proper pathing for sound files without hunting around in the PK3 itself.

C-how make skies which shed light by themselves

This is accomplished using shaders. Before you get into that though, make sure you are using the correct texture in radient - if you are, you wont see any texture aside from a white background with the word "sky" written all over it. Also, note that many of the base skybox shaders DO NOT shed light on thier own. Those that do usually have the word "light" in thier names.

D-how make common misc items (weapons, goodies) to appear as something else as colored boxes?

You don't. In JK2 radient, anyways, that's how they all appear. Basically, though it CAN be a pain, you just have to keep track of what you put where. If you forget, ,just select them and hit N to see it's properties box, which will list it's type.

Now, for the md3 issue. First, ,an "idiot check", Are you using the little file selection screen that pops up? If you are, you are WRONG. DO NOT use that. Just close it. In the misc_model's properties screen, use the key "model" and the value "(insert path here)" for the md3 you want. It assumes that it will be a subdir of the base file, so, if you wanted an X-wing in the level, the value would be "/models/map_objects/ship/x_wing.md3"

I've never messed with the md3 viewer, so I cant help you there. However, I CAN direct you to one of the stuck threads, "List of all default md3's" in this forum. It will give you a list of every default md3 in the game.

Hope this helps. :)