PDA

View Full Version : Neverending Compile.....


SunBurN
10-30-2002, 05:13 PM
Ok, I've tried everything but my map won't finish compiling in any version of Full Vis (ie Full, 1/2 or extra). But, it compiles fine in Fast Vis? I've tried both Jk2 rad and GTK rad and both resulted in a compile that lasted over 60 hours before I gave up and killed it.

My map is about half and half Structural and Detail brushes. I'm using two light emitting shaders, a few effects, jump pads, a prefab, .md3's and target_speakers. I've checked for infinite brushes, leaks, going over the limit in func_brushes, and as far as I can tell, I'm doing fine in all respects.

My map is ready for release if I can just get it to finish compiling in Full Vis. I'm just hoping someone else out there has experienced this problem and knows of a solution. Any thoughts or help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks,

SunBurN

Wudan
10-30-2002, 07:02 PM
How many brushes and entities? How large is the map file?

Are you using Q3map2? It is faster, in general.

To help you use it, I wrote a little webpage:

http://users.sisna.com/wudan/q3map2.html

Elijah
10-31-2002, 03:24 AM
60 houres O_o what size of map ya got there?

WhiteShdw
10-31-2002, 08:25 AM
I'm might be asking a stupid question here, but have you used Detail brushes? And what point of the compile takes so long? The first, second or last. Usually it's the last one, which means it has something to do with the lighting.

Wudan
10-31-2002, 08:48 AM
Yes, in his post he states half detail, half structural - so I think he is. You could try using area portals to break it up a bit.

WhiteShdw
10-31-2002, 10:04 AM
Half structural and half detail, should have read that more closely;) . But it still seems a lot of structural to me. Might be wise to get that number down a bit. But if the problem is not in one of the first 2 stages that shouldn't be the problem.

SunBurN
10-31-2002, 12:38 PM
Wudan: "How many brushes and entities? How large is the map file?

Total Brushes: 822
Total Enties: 244
Net Brus count (non entity) 490
Func_:72

Are you using Q3map2? It is faster, in general.

Hmm...No, I've only tried JK2rad and Gtk rad

__________________________________________________-

Zdawg: current map size: 574kb
current bsp size (fast Vis 1/2): 9,437kb
__________________________________________________

Wudan: "You could try using area portals to break it up a bit."

This is an exterior (outside mostly) map with no doors. I don't think area portals would help or work.

__________________________________________________ __

It makes it to through the first stage, then it hangs on the Vis stage.

__________________________________________________ __

This is the response from Ravensoft although I'm not sure what he means:

I am thinking that you are really pushing the visadata size limit or you have a mangled set of structural brushes. Try to build everything parallel to existing grid splits to reduce the VIS compile load. Did you overlap any brushes besides fog or water?

-Ford

SunBurN

WhiteShdw
10-31-2002, 12:57 PM
Yeah, if it hangs on the second stage you should really try to reduce the amount of structural brushes.

Try this just for fun: Make a backup, then take the map and select all the brushes(just press I when you have no brushes selected), then make them all detail with CTRL M. Then make a big box around your map and make that structural. Try a compile and see what happens.

Also Q3map2 is a compiler, not an editor. You use it instead of Sof2map. Using that will surely speed things up.

SunBurN
10-31-2002, 01:04 PM
Ok I'll give it a try. :)

SunBurN

AKPiggott
10-31-2002, 01:37 PM
Originally posted by WhiteShdw
Also Q3map2 is a compiler, not an editor. You use it instead of Sof2map. Using that will surely speed things up.

It might **** things up as well...

Q3Map2 stopped working properly once my level reached a certain size.

Out of interest, how fast is your computer, Sun?

SunBurN
10-31-2002, 02:53 PM
Specs:

AMD 2000 XP+
768mb DDR memory
Geforce 3 TI200 128mb DDR


SunBurN

Shadriss
10-31-2002, 05:03 PM
Hey sun, since my current poroject is kinda winding down to completion I have some spare time - want me to take a look at the map? If so, you can send it to me at shadriss@hotmail.com. Maybe getting another set of eyes on it will assist somewhat.

SunBurN
10-31-2002, 05:42 PM
Well shadriss, if you want to beta test the working fast vis (1/2) version, I could send the .pk3 to you. That way you'd be assured to have all of the custom addons for it. And I would also send along the map. But I don't think Hotmail will take a file over 1mb right? Do you have another place I could email or send it to? Do you have icq? Or I could just send you the map, but a lot of things wouldn't load up in the editor (shaders, prefab and md3).

SunBurN

monsoontide
11-01-2002, 12:21 AM
I will try and address these problems this weekend after my Anchorhead map is released!
I think that a couple of design/layout changes to the map will help and add some extra gameplay value to the map!

Sorry I've been slow about getting around to working on it again but as you know my PC is busy comping!!!

Monsoontide

Shadriss
11-01-2002, 10:16 AM
Sounds like Monsoon is already all over it, Sun. Or will be anyways. If he can't get the problem in hand, I doubt I will...

SunBurN
11-01-2002, 03:57 PM
Thanks Monsoontide, I know you were busy, I was just trying to figure it out and see if anyone else had experienced this problem.

Shadriss, when I am ready for the final beta testing (which I'm hoping will be very soon) I'll contact you.

Thanks,

SunBurN