PDA

View Full Version : prefabs/models


Altus_Thrawn
10-30-2002, 05:22 PM
Another question:
I downloaded the swoop from jedioutcastmaps.com
I want to put it in my map
What do I do after I download it (what folder put it in, how get it in radiant)
I know this is stupid but I am kinda a stupid guy when it comes to mapping

Eldritch
10-30-2002, 05:40 PM
I believe the swoop comes as a .zip file. I don't remember if it's a prefab or model, but when you unzip it read the README to find out where to put it.

Altus_Thrawn
10-30-2002, 06:12 PM
for the coruscant speeders it was a prefab. it said put it in the prefab folder, is this the gamedata/maps/prefabs folder or the gamedata/prefabs folder?
also, i unzipped it but i didn't get the packscape symbol, i got the symbol you get before you have packscape...:confused:

Altus_Thrawn
10-30-2002, 06:15 PM
btw, nice avatar.

Eldritch
10-30-2002, 06:30 PM
Originally posted by Altus_Thrawn
for the coruscant speeders it was a prefab. it said put it in the prefab folder, is this the gamedata/maps/prefabs folder or the gamedata/prefabs folder?
also, i unzipped it but i didn't get the packscape symbol, i got the symbol you get before you have packscape...:confused:

It's because prefabs aren't .pk3s, so you won't see the symbol for it :D. A prefab is an object that someone has made and textured in Radiant. Just put the stuff in the gamedata/base/maps/prefabs (or is itgamedata/base/prefabs... one of the two) folder and then once your in Radiant, select 'Load Prefab' and just locate it and select it. Voila!

Altus_Thrawn
10-30-2002, 09:01 PM
actually, the swoop is a map file. don't know why.
the airspeeder is a pfb file, whatever that is.

Eldritch
10-30-2002, 09:07 PM
If the swoop is a map file, just open it in Radiant, select the swoop, copy it, and paste it into your map.

As for the speeder, .pfb is the file extension for "prefab."

Altus_Thrawn
10-30-2002, 09:14 PM
ok thanks, i'll fool with it some.

Altus_Thrawn
10-30-2002, 09:22 PM
grr..still getting me. i got the snowspeeder open, i want to see what I can do with that. Is there a was to copy it without manually selecting every brush?