PDA

View Full Version : "another question" by altus_thrawn


Altus_Thrawn
10-31-2002, 09:39 PM
Well, another question.

I see many maps with diagonal walkways (nar shadda, and so on)
I know how to make a neat triange with clip tool, but how do you make a diagonal walkway with nothing under it? Do you make a triangle and cut that up a bit?

note: I use JK2Radiant

Kengo
10-31-2002, 09:47 PM
If you select a brush and press the r key in jk2 radiant, you get rotate mode. Move the mouse around around a bit whilst holding down left click and you should be able to rotate any brush.

Altus_Thrawn
10-31-2002, 09:58 PM
thanks...but that is not what I am asking. Lets say I want to make a walkway with this shape:
\
\
\
\
\

how do I do it?

Altus_Thrawn
10-31-2002, 10:00 PM
oops...diagonal. say on CTF_nar shadda, going up to the sniper rifles is a walkway, but it slants upwards. how do you do this?

Kengo
10-31-2002, 10:10 PM
Oh right, sorry, misunderstood you. Select a brush and press the e key. That lets you drag all the corners of the brush out so you can easily create a / shape from a flat brush :)

Altus_Thrawn
10-31-2002, 10:15 PM
Thanks!

I realize that I am really asking alot of questions, sorry.

I will try that.

Guardian Omega
10-31-2002, 10:59 PM
You can also do what I do: Clipping.

Altus_Thrawn
11-01-2002, 07:34 AM
I've been fooling with it a bit, I like rotating pretty well. Never knew you could do tha. :) Then I think you just fill the gaps with some clipped brushes.

Shadriss
11-01-2002, 11:13 AM
If you do it right, you don't need clipping. The Edge mode it the better weay to do it. Observe :

Make your walkway from the overhead view (XY TOP view). Make sure that it fits in those two dimensions. Now, flip it to whichever side view you need, go into edge mode (E) and drag the two end edges up (or down) so that they meet the platform it's supposed to meet up with. And make sure the other end meets up with the other side of course.

Done this way, there's no messy clipping, and it only takes about a minute or so. It make take you slightly longer until you get it figured out fully in your head, but that's the best way to describe it, to my mind.

Eldritch
11-01-2002, 01:44 PM
I agree with Shadriss. The edge tool is the way to go. With clipping you run the risk of creating a bad brush, especially if you're clipping multiple brushes, and this can throw a monkey wrench into your map.

Altus_Thrawn
11-02-2002, 08:20 AM
Thanks. Thanks. Thanks again. That was so easy I could...
Well, just thanks. That really helps.