PDA

View Full Version : Anchorhead Map Released!


monsoontide
11-01-2002, 02:27 PM
Hello All!

As promised my Anchorhead multi-player map featuring SAGA gametype is finsihed.

It will be available for download initially from my FTP site (AFTER 3PM!):

ftp://68.4.22.173/Monsoontide/JK2/
USER: tide1
PASS: tide1

and later this weekend from the various JK2 websites
(Hopefully pcgamemods.com, jediknightii.net & jediKnight2files.com)

PLEASE READ THE INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS & README FILE!
(Or else it might not work for you!)

A huge big THANKYOU to all who contributed to this map :D

Enjoy
Monsoontide

TUX
11-01-2002, 02:36 PM
Woo Hoo! THANK YOU! I can not wait to try this out!

Kengo
11-01-2002, 04:17 PM
This is one truely amazing map, I highly recommend it! SAGA mode is great and well implemented, and the whole map is both a wonder to behold and play :D

ohhjebus
11-01-2002, 06:30 PM
man everytime i download it, it says that the file does not appear to be a valid archive. and its gonna take forever for it to be on the other sites. this sucks. i want it soooo much.

SunBurN
11-01-2002, 06:47 PM
This is one truely amazing map, I highly recommend it! SAGA mode is great and well implemented, and the whole map is both a wonder to behold and play

I gotta agree with Kengo, this map rocks! Run, don't walk to your nearest computer and download this map! I may host a saga server this weekend. If I do, I'll post here.

monsoontide
11-01-2002, 11:24 PM
ARRRRGHHH!!! Damn 56K Dial-up!

It appears only 2MB of the file uploaded!

The file is about 13.5 MB.

I'm at work now so will have to wait until morning to try again.

HOWEVER, I did send it to PcGameMods.com so it may be there later - but I doubt it!

Sorry about this.
Monsoontide!:eek:

monsoontide
11-02-2002, 10:38 AM
OK problem fixed with FTP site!

Get it now!

ftp://68.4.22.173/Monsoontide/JK2/
USER: tide1
PASS: tide1

and later this weekend from the various JK2 websites
(Hopefully pcgamemods.com, jediknightii.net & jediKnight2files.com)

PLEASE READ THE INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS & README FILE!
(Or else it might not work for you!)

A huge big THANKYOU to all who contributed to this map

Enjoy
Monsoontide:D

monsoontide
11-02-2002, 11:29 PM
Just curious to know if anyone's downloaded the map/mod and if you had problems getting it going or if it works fine for you?

Anyone?

Monsoontide

TUX
11-03-2002, 12:09 AM
Awesome! Downloaded it this afternoon, played immediately (followed directions which are great). Loaded MOD and was amazed! SAGA worked perfectly on my home LAN. Had 2 teams (1 human and 2 bots on both). Completed objectives and won, restarted level automatically. Later switched to FFA mode (in MOD) and no problems there. Can't get the map to show up in FFA unless I load the SAGA MOD... I even extracted just the PK3 from the file. No real problem, just my kids want to use the jetpack MOD.

Again, thanks for the level. It is extremely well done and has been an absolute BLAST so far. Speaking of blast... nice vents! I keep getting my a$$ kicked by them!

monsoontide
11-03-2002, 01:15 AM
Thanks for the comments TUX, glad you enjoyed it!

Monsoontide

monsoontide
11-06-2002, 03:53 AM
The Anchorhead Saga map is now available for download from

pcgamemods.com in the JK2 section!

There is also a selection of screenshots to look at as well!

Please feel free to PM me with comments/problems. Thx!

Monsoontide

Kengo
11-06-2002, 06:44 AM
Originally posted by TUX
Speaking of blast... nice vents! I keep getting my a$$ kicked by them!

You aren't the only one :)

The rating of 10/10 so far on pcgamemods.com is about right in my opinion :)

Kstar__2
11-06-2002, 10:24 AM
for some reason i can't get the map to show up on normal FFA:(

btw, it's the best map i have seen so far!

Eldritch
11-06-2002, 10:55 AM
Originally posted by kstar__2
for some reason i can't get the map to show up on normal FFA:(

btw, it's the best map i have seen so far!

You may have too many FFA maps in your base folder. Try clearing some out - then it should show up.

Wudan
11-06-2002, 11:15 AM
It might be because you aren't running the Saga Mod - this pk3 is in the Saga folder, if done right.

That's why I suggested splitting it up, one Pk3 for saga, one for the map, so the map can be in the base directory also :(

wedge2211
11-06-2002, 01:47 PM
Cool map...but my FPS counter definately hit "1" a few times. Needs more portals. :)

Leslie Judge
11-06-2002, 03:42 PM
Heheh, on my system it very often goes under 10 FPS and mine is not the very best. :) The map is great, I like it. But who doesn't? :D

Wudan
11-06-2002, 04:18 PM
Next release, use fog, then?

Raptor2001
11-07-2002, 12:45 AM
Question: Would anyone have an idea what would cause JKII to crash with an error message when comppleting the Skyhopper objective? (Using it in conjunction with jedimod, could this be the problem?)

Elijah
11-07-2002, 03:39 AM
Question... what is this "saga" thingy anyways? i see its a map... but eerrr... what elce?

*downloading now BTW*

monsoontide
11-07-2002, 06:49 AM
SAGA is a "hidden" (READ: Not Implemented / finished) game mode (Like FFA/CTF etc) built into JK2 very similar to some of the multiplay elements in Return To Castle Wolfenstein.

Simply put, SAGA is an objective based teamplay mode - i.e. each team must complete x number of objectives in order to "win" the round!

In my map each team has four objectives to complete, whilst trying to stop the opposing team from completing theirs.

RAVEN probably had plans to put this in to multiplay but ran out of time - thus explaining the fact that many of the features are incomplete and the difficulty some people are experiencing getting it to work.

There is a more comprehensive/advanced version of the MOD underway by various parties.

ALSO NOTE: you may need to allocate more RAM to the JK2 game if you are having problems adding bots. (See the README)

RAPTOR2001 - What is the error message you get when you crash?

Hellfire Jedi
11-07-2002, 07:04 AM
One thing the basejk problem delete ALL of this files in base!!?! that MUST be fixed dude

Wudan
11-07-2002, 05:25 PM
Saga might as well be considered a new gametype, that Raven did some very basic groundwork on. In any case, what's this "delete all files in base" error you got?

I had probs too, but got it all worked out.

monsoontide
11-07-2002, 10:28 PM
NOTE: The SAGA map is 1.04 patch compatible only - people running 1.03 will have problems.

Monsoontide

Leslie Judge
11-08-2002, 02:10 PM
Hmmm... I have 1.03 and no problems... never had any during the beta test.

monsoontide
11-08-2002, 10:55 PM
Thanks Leslie, thats good to know.. however upgrading to 1.04 seems to solve several peoples problems so far!!! :cool:

Monsoontide

Hellfire Jedi
11-08-2002, 11:03 PM
Here is how it goes i can run the map fine only under another mod otherwise i get this Basejk error
i get that if i try to try out saga or the map without a mod

t3rr0r
11-09-2002, 12:52 PM
i just thought i'd post a little edit i made on the walls...

before - http://www.pcgamemods.com/core/711/b1.jpg
after - http://clan-cd.tripod.com/jk2/anchorheadwalls.txt

i recoloured the rock/stucco texture and replaced the rockwalls and rockground with it.

http://clan-cd.tripod.com/jk2/rockwallsground.txt

monsoontide
11-09-2002, 01:42 PM
Well done t3rr0r!

Texturing has never been my strong suite! (Mostly 'cos I just don't have the time/facilities to work on them to the level I desire)

I'm mostly a modeler/animator!

Monsoontide

P.S. I'm using DASH RENDAR at the moment - it's a pretty nice model and appropriate for the map!

DarkLord_44
11-09-2002, 01:46 PM
I have changed it to 128mb and I still am unable to open the map, I get to the select character screen and my comp freezes lol.

Wudan
11-09-2002, 02:04 PM
I had the same problem, I had to un-install JK2, rename the GameData Directory (because it's still there, and there's likely stuff in there you wanna keep, capiche?), and re-install, re-upgrade all the way to 1.04.

Also, monsoontide, did you want to fix a few things, and we'll re-release this map in combo with my mod changes?