PDA

View Full Version : Music question [hasn't been answered on any other threads]


LordP
11-03-2002, 03:10 PM
Ok once and for all! I've looked at all other music threads on this boad and none of them answer the question. I want to put custom music into my map. I go into JK2Radiant and for the worldspawn entity I put the key "music" and the value music/mymap/music.mp3 . When I load up my map, I get an error saying "error cannot find music/mymap/music . This is a MP map, and I have the MP3 160kb's/second 44.1 kHz Stereo sound. Does anyone know whats wrong? btw I'm sure the path name is correct too. Thanks.

legameboy
11-03-2002, 03:26 PM
better check Rich Diesal's Site (http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com/tutorials)

LordP
11-03-2002, 05:38 PM
He's not done.

Wes Marrakesh
11-03-2002, 07:45 PM
I doubt he ever will be.

Leslie Judge
11-03-2002, 08:17 PM
In a few threads I've read they wrote that the mp3 has to be 112kbit/s. The other thing are OK.

Eldritch
11-04-2002, 09:16 AM
Originally posted by LordP
Ok once and for all! I've looked at all other music threads on this boad and none of them answer the question. I want to put custom music into my map. I go into JK2Radiant and for the worldspawn entity I put the key "music" and the value music/mymap/music.mp3 . When I load up my map, I get an error saying "error cannot find music/mymap/music . This is a MP map, and I have the MP3 160kb's/second 44.1 kHz Stereo sound. Does anyone know whats wrong? btw I'm sure the path name is correct too. Thanks.

I know it's been answered several times on music threads in this forum, 'cause i've been answering them. :lol:

But I'll run through it one more time. Assuming your file path is correct, you must encode the custom MP3 file to be 112 (not 160) Kbps and 44.1 KHz stereo sound.

Also make sure when you put the filepath in the worldspawn entity it has the .mp3 at the end (ex. music/mymap/music.mp3).

Also make sure that you've added the .mp3 file to the correct folder in the .pk3 (so if you're using the example above, the music folder in the .pk3 must contain a subfolder named mymap with the music.mp3 file inside it).

Maybe they should just sticky my answer... :rofl:
Anyway, hope this helps.

WhiteShdw
11-04-2002, 10:13 AM
The compression doesn't matter, as long as the compression isn't VBR(Variable Bit Rate).
I've run music files at 128 kpps and 192 kbps without problems. But they do have to be 44.100 Hz.

And check your "/". I think that in JK2 Radiant you need to use "\" and in GTK Radiant "/".

Eldritch
11-04-2002, 10:31 AM
Originally posted by WhiteShdw
The compression doesn't matter, as long as the compression isn't VBR(Variable Bit Rate).
I've run music files at 128 kpps and 192 kbps without problems. But they do have to be 44.100 Hz.

And check your "/". I think that in JK2 Radiant you need to use "\" and in GTK Radiant "/".

Strange. Running those files at those settings never worked for me. And maybe it's just my version of GtK Radiant, but I have to use a "\" rather than a "/"... did we go through this before? I can't remember...

LordP
11-04-2002, 06:04 PM
Do I have to make it into a pk3 before the music works?

WhiteShdw
11-04-2002, 06:17 PM
you can do that or type sv_pure 0 in the console before you start the map.

That set's the server to unpure and allows you to run un pk3'ed content in Mp. It's easy if your building a map and don't want to put your map in a pk3 every time you want to test it.

LordP
11-04-2002, 07:36 PM
o.0 *smacks himself in the head* no wonder! Thats why it wouldn't work. :lsduel: