PDA

View Full Version : custom textures


Altus_Thrawn
11-03-2002, 02:53 PM
How do you make custom textures? I made a darker orange one by doing it in paint and saving it into the gamedata/base/textures/homedepot folder, and I got it in Radiant.

I tried the same except putting it into the .../gamedata/base/textures/CM

It didn't work. I get a cm texture list, but there is nothing in there.

legameboy
11-03-2002, 03:12 PM
if the first time it worked, then try doing the same thing

Altus_Thrawn
11-03-2002, 03:19 PM
now I cannot load my homedepot texture set either.

legameboy
11-03-2002, 03:27 PM
I dont know what to do then, try spending some solitary moments remembering what you did.

Eldritch
11-04-2002, 08:23 AM
Make sure your textures are all JPEGs or TGAs. Also make sure that the size of them is a power of 2 (i.e. 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, etc); all this means is that you must've resized them with an image editing program so they are 256x512, 512x512, 1024x1024, etc.

Also, if you want to see your custom textures in-game when you compile your map, you have to pack them in a .pk3.

Altus_Thrawn
11-04-2002, 06:17 PM
Can it be say, 8 by 16 or does it need to be 8 by 8 or 16 by 16?

Eldritch
11-04-2002, 06:33 PM
Yes, it can be any combination of those, so long as it's a power of 2. But 8x16 wouldn't look very good. When it comes to this game, the bigger the textures are, the better they look. So if you can get something hi-rez at 1024x1024 or 512x512, it'll look that much better.

Altus_Thrawn
11-04-2002, 08:49 PM
I got it to work, thanks for your help. I needed to make it a jpeg I thnk it was and resize it.