PDA

View Full Version : How to select all map brushes?


LainTora
11-04-2002, 03:33 PM
Is there a way to select all map brushes? I thought I read somewhere there was but I don't recall the key(s) to press. I am trying to make all my map brushes "detail" (CTRL+M) then make a select few key brushes "structural" (ones touching the void and a few others for breaking up the VIS).

WhiteShdw
11-04-2002, 04:54 PM
make sure you don't have any brushes selected and press "I". This will select everything in your map. Also entities. But only brushes can be made detail so it's ok to press ctrl M even when you've selected entities.

Wudan
11-04-2002, 05:25 PM
Do *NOT* make your entire map out of detail brushes, or I will cast METEO on your butt.

LainTora
11-05-2002, 05:00 AM
What is "METEO"? No, I don't plan on making all "detail" but since majority of them were going to be, I thought it be easier to start that way then go back and select the ones I want to be "structural". If I don't make any "detail", this won't hurt gameplay will it, just my compile time?

Secondly, the "I" key doesn't appear to do anything. I am using JK2 Radiant (sorry for not making this clear before).

WhiteShdw
11-05-2002, 09:55 AM
Well i use GTK. Maybe that's a GTK funtion only. What it does is invert your selection. If you have nothing selected and you invert that selection, then you'll have everything selected. Maybe you can invert your selection in the Selection menu.


And "METEO" is a Final Fantasy reference i think. Just cast "REFLECT" to bounce it right back to him. ;)

Wudan
11-05-2002, 10:22 AM
Ok, use the View -> Filter -> Entities to filter out the entities, then draw a brush that covers your entire map, right click Select -> Complete Tail

That'll select every brush on the map.

Then, you deselect your Structural ones, and CTRL-M to make detail.

Then, to filter out the detail brushes from the other ones whilst zippin round the map, press CTRL D

I hope this works in JO Rad, otherwise, use GTKRadiant.

And, if you're using detail brushes to speed up compiles, try using Q3Map2, it's faster, better, and ... stuff.

Sorry bout the METEO joke, I was trying to be funny, but just looked rude instead.

Wudan
11-05-2002, 10:24 AM
It was a Final Fantasy reference. Because METEO is a 'blanket' spell, not individual, I don't think you could REFLECT it back :(

WhiteShdw
11-05-2002, 10:37 AM
I think it depends on what version you're playing. I played VII through X and i think you could reflect it in X, but i'm not sure. Not even sure if it was even in X ;)

Wudan
11-05-2002, 10:59 AM
lol, whoops, directed thread to be off-topic :(

Well, it was like that in FF 6, I played 7, tried to play 8, 9 looks good, but I don't have access to a PSX anymore, so I never played it :(

Eldritch
11-05-2002, 04:57 PM
Originally posted by wudan
lol, whoops, directed thread to be off-topic :(

Well, it was like that in FF 6, I played 7, tried to play 8, 9 looks good, but I don't have access to a PSX anymore, so I never played it :(

Let me set the off-topic record straight. ;)

In the FF series, Meteo was the top spell from FFI to FFV. It was unblockable (could NOT reflect). If you caught it from someone, you better hope they somehow missed (magic evade %) or your magic defense stat was so high it didn't do 9999 damage on you (then the highest your health could be).

Once VI (called 3 in the US) hit, Meteo was no longer the top dawg. In VI it was called Meteor, but it was still unblockable (even though it wasn't the strongest anymore). From that point on up through FFX (the current one) Ultima was the strongest magic spell (also unblockable). Meteo(r) has been present in all the games in the series, but starting with VI it was no longer the strongest. In fact, it got kind of weak. Ah well. It had a good run. :D