PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to lock a func_door?


wicked69
11-08-2002, 10:07 PM
I have a council meeting room in my map that is only accessible from an elevator. There's a trapdoor (func_door) on the top of the elevator shaft that is set to START_OPEN so you can get in, and has a switch in the council room that triggers the door closed. Now... the purpose of this is to lock unwanted people outside the room to let us have a meeting in peace. But the trapdoor is pointless unless I can somehow get it to stay shut. Can anyone please tell me any possible way to make a door stay closed until you trigger it again to reopen.

wedge2211
11-08-2002, 10:45 PM
I have similar question...I want to make a bridge that can be toggled from an extended position to a retracted position. I tried with two func_doors and the key wait -1, which according to the useles Radiant entitiy description means the door will never return to it's original state, and targeting a button to the bridge. It didn't work. :) I tried messing with func_trains, still can't make it work. Anyone knwo how to do this?

Leslie Judge
11-09-2002, 10:59 AM
Try this: in the func_door entity check the TOGGLE spawnflag. Then the door will not move without triggering.

Excerpt from entity window's description of func_door:

TOGGLE wait in both the start and end states for a trigger event

Shadriss
11-09-2002, 01:23 PM
UNFORTUNATLY this cannot be done in MP.

THough the toggle value is MENTIONED in the func_door writeup for MP, there is no checkbox for it. At least, not that I've seen. Now, I THINK you could get similar results using a func_train with the toggle switch checked, as I think IT has it in MP... but for a func_door? DOesnt work, so far as I was able to try.

wedge2211
11-09-2002, 03:58 PM
func_door doesn't have a toggle checkbox...I would have tried that otherwise. :D Func_train DOES have a toggle checkbox, but I haven't been able to figure out how to use it.

Leslie Judge
11-09-2002, 06:58 PM
Ehh, shaddriss, you're right. I think I had to make an MP map 'cause I think in SP always. :)

Darth Link
11-09-2002, 09:58 PM
try attaching a trigger_once to it?it worked in ladder2 the door which lets you out but not back in...attach it to your func_door or whatever you have