PDA

View Full Version : Grim with Win2000


Fat John
11-13-2002, 12:19 PM
I've been playing Lucasarts adventures since I was 4 years old, and Grim was the only one I hadn't played. So, being the rich Lucasarts-addicted student that I am, I bought it today. However, it doesn't work under Win2000. Which is annoying, to say the least. Is there a way I can get it to work, or have I just wasted 7.99? :( I'm really angry and need answers! :)

(Sorry if this is a common, stupid or unanswerable question, I looked all over the site but couldn't find anything about Win2000, and I downloaded the patch, it made no difference either.)

bgbennyboy
11-13-2002, 03:28 PM
Saying why it doesnt work would help.
As in what happens when you try and run it...

Fat John
11-13-2002, 05:49 PM
Yeah, that might help, sorry :D

When I run it it tries to install DirectX 6, but I already have DirectX 8 or whatever. The game won't run without installing DirectX 6, but I can't install DirectX 6, my computer won't let me. The same thing has happened with other LucasArts games (Rogue Squadron, Jedi Knight) and I have no idea how to fix it. I'm using a laptop, is that a factor? I more than meet the minimum requirements...

Thanks in advance.

Fat John
11-13-2002, 06:39 PM
Erm.

Next time there's a thread called "READ THIS FIRST", will someone kindly remind me to read it first? :eek:

I suck.

Sorry for wasting everyone's time.

bgbennyboy
11-14-2002, 12:02 PM
Run the actual .exe rather than the launcher.
Run GrimFandango.exe rather than Grim.exe to launch the game directly. Also look in this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=78760) if you have more trouble.

Tall Guy
11-16-2002, 05:48 PM
HEY! get your smelly monkey island avatar out of here!!! :D ;)

bgbennyboy
11-16-2002, 05:53 PM
Careful, lest you too dissapear down the void that is Largo's kecks

Tall Guy
11-17-2002, 09:11 AM
hehe, kecks is such a great word :D