View Full Version : SoMI cd

11-14-2002, 04:31 AM
Hey yall,

I'm a proud owner of a TSoMI vga cd,
I tried to run it with and without vdmSound but I still encounter the same problem.. :(

When I start the monkey.com on the cd, I can choose a language, when I chose English it's about to start only it says it couldn't find a cd and it needs a cd in the cd rom-drive to play it. I find it very strange cause the cd in fact ís in the cd-drive, I also tried it in my Burn-drive (how do you call it?).

Can anyone help?

11-22-2002, 02:40 PM
what drive is your cdrom drive that you try to load it from and
where is the game trying
[U]to load your cdrom eg: is
[the game [/U
trying to load from your c:\ d:\ e:\ ]

11-22-2002, 06:41 PM
Give me a listing of the directory/file structure of the cd

11-26-2002, 04:28 AM
uwh, lemme think, I'm not home at the moment:

my cdrom drives are:
G: - my burner
H: - my normal cd rom drive

my cd looks like:

when you browse the cd, you see all kinds of different languages, spanish, english, deutch, italion or someting etc...

There's also a monkey.bat file (or is it monkey.com). When I open that, a menu appears where I can select the language, but when I select one, it says I need a cd to play...

I already tried both cd-drives...

I also tried to open the map "english" on the cd and start monkey.exe with VDMSound, but that failed too..

I also tried to copy the map "english" to my hard drive, still it wants a cd... ???

11-27-2002, 06:27 PM
Find the exe thats in the same folder as the resource files (monkey.000 and monkey.001 or similar). It'll probably be monkey.exe and run that with vdmsound or quick and easy.

11-28-2002, 04:56 AM
I tried VDMSound,

Also I tried LEC Q & E, but that programm didn't work on all the games... :)

When I press start - nothin' happens :)

It does run with VDMSOund, but it says it still needs a cd to run...
weird problem ey??

I'm running win-xp

It did mention MSCDEX once, should I do anything with that?