View Full Version : Door Problem

11-20-2002, 01:44 PM
I want to make a door, which you can open and close with a Button and if I close it, it should be closed till I hit the button again. How could I do that??:confused:

11-20-2002, 03:32 PM
try checking out rich deisals turtorials or just makethe switch put a brush covering in system/trigger and connect them to the door using control+k (someone will come and tell you more specifically, but thats the basics)

11-20-2002, 04:10 PM
I`m already know that, but then the door opened after a few seconds again.

11-20-2002, 04:33 PM
dont put any "wait" on it

11-20-2002, 08:19 PM
I think you have to make it toggle-able. In the ent window for your door, put an X in Toggle.

11-20-2002, 09:06 PM
toggle only works in SP though. Toggleble( :confused: ) doors in MP are not possible I think. A lot of people have tried it and it never worked.

I'm not even sure why anybody would want it in a MP map. It totally screws with the flow of the map.

11-20-2002, 09:57 PM
well if anyone has played the jedicouncilgc2 map, the doors work like the switch way, so it is possible

11-21-2002, 08:25 AM
To WhiteShadow: I want to use it, because I want to make some Duel cambers. And if two player want to make a Duel they go there and close the door, so that nobody else can get in and at the End the winner of course want to get out. So I need a door, which u can close and open whenever u want.

I tried to find an answer by may self and I found the Entity traget_delay or relay I`m not sure. Anyway in the Descripstion i could read: Wont perform any action, till activate or something like this. So this could be the solution, but I don`t know how to use it. And maybe somebody know it better than me, because this is going to be my frist map

Thank you all

11-21-2002, 09:02 AM
I know what you mean. The problem is that even if the entity definition file says that you can toggle a door, it doesn't work in the MP engine. I did play that Jedicouncil map and those doors are not toggled. The open when you press the switch but they close automatically. That's not toggle.

What you can try to do is put 2 swithces next to the door. One on the outside of the room and one on the inside of the room. What you can do then is when you press the one on the outside you also block that switch off with a func_usable or something. Maybe a forcefield. That way when the door closes again the only switch that is usable will be the one on the inside of the room.

Then, when you press the switch on the inside of the door the door opens again and the outside switch is unblocked.

That might work, but it's gonna be tricky.

11-21-2002, 09:11 AM
Thank u very much. I`ll try it.:D :D :D

11-21-2002, 11:58 AM
Jippiiiiieeeeeeee, it`s working!!!!!!!!
But there is only one little mistake: If you open the door, but u dont`t go in you'll never get in. i have no Idea to fix it except to make the wait time longer so u could`t for get to go in.

11-23-2002, 08:05 AM

I found another solution: I don`t make it with a door, but with a func_usable covered with the forcefield texture and staroff checked. So the "door" first is open and u go into that room and hit a button ---> the forcefield is on nobobody can get in after the figth u hit it again and the forcefiel is off. That was so easy!!

11-23-2002, 08:23 AM
*little-demon-of-error-appears*Um, what happens if both get killed in the duel? :D

Perhaps you better build another trigger that opens the door after a certain time again- like 5 minutes...

11-24-2002, 07:59 AM
come on tigris think of it: Of course I`ll make some more duel rooms and there will be more roeunds than one so after every round the door will be open then.

:) :D :) :D :)

11-25-2002, 10:23 AM
Sorry, that my job as pessimist- and I love it ;)
Na, just asked because I hate maps where the cool stuff only works once- as breaking glass etc...