PDA

View Full Version : Half-Life-like trams in JO


Takeoffyouhoser
11-21-2002, 02:10 AM
How complex would it be to make a tram, much like in Half-Life, where at the end of a section, it raises to another level, turns, and starts on a new track.
I thought about putting one in between the Brewery and Imperial Base.

NITEMARE
11-21-2002, 04:26 AM
i think that it would have to be a mod. the quake3 engine is so spartanic with maping features like that. what is the difference to quake 1 then? heh...
the func_train is the only thing u can use. and that sux, it can't even rotate the vesel.

Emon
11-21-2002, 07:02 PM
In SP, not hard at all. The Doomgiver had a basic tram.

NITEMARE
11-22-2002, 04:20 AM
hmm can't remember realy but wasn't it rather a from A to B simple train?

Takeoffyouhoser
11-22-2002, 03:42 PM
So Emon, All i'd need to do is script the event where the tram rotates, rises and starts again, right?

NITEMARE
11-22-2002, 04:33 PM
i checked the level in sp and it's just a lame forward backward train that could have been made in quake 1 already, heh...
those scripts won't run in mp, am i right? so mp always sticks to static maps without much variation.

Takeoffyouhoser
11-22-2002, 06:20 PM
yeah, i know it is jsut a point A to b train. However, Star destroyers are dagger-like in shape. this is why its jsut an A to b train.
All i want to do to is at the end of point b, the tram rises and rotates to another direction ( point C)
I do know its probably scriptable, but since i don't know about scripting yet, i need to know if will work

legameboy
11-22-2002, 07:01 PM
it was also done in artus mine

Takeoffyouhoser
11-23-2002, 01:49 AM
hah!
yeah it was... i even forgot about that level!!
Now, too bad i can't open the level up

NITEMARE
11-23-2002, 04:04 AM
yeah i forgot too! but i checked it out and it does rotate. would be cool if we could do that in mp too.

Jedi Howell
11-23-2002, 06:24 PM
Yeah, someone should make a mod that allows SP scripts in MP...

*thinks about the number of lifetimes it would take to integrate ICARUS into MP*

or not...