PDA

View Full Version : Help! My water froze!


Wes Marrakesh
11-28-2002, 01:18 AM
Ok. I have a nice big water brush with bespin/water2 on the top and bottom. My first compile was fine and it worked great. The second time it became solid and basically froze, even though the shader kept moving.

This happened on a few other maps i've worked on, and I want to know why. And help appreciated...

Dragarius
11-28-2002, 03:19 AM
Make sure the water texture is on the top and bottom of the brush.

I have had similar solid/non-solid problems with several of my brushes (usually involving special textures like glass or water).

They were all resolved by fixing which surfaces had which textures.

So, I would guess that somewhere in the process you changed a texture on your water brush. (That's what I did.)

Wes Marrakesh
11-28-2002, 11:16 AM
I can tell you I didn't. This has happened before, too...

Leslie Judge
11-28-2002, 06:14 PM
Hey Wes, you know, computers are the most mysterious things on Earth. It doesn't matter that there are only 0s and 1s. :D

If I were you I would check the water brushes just to be sure, and retexture or recreate them if necessary.

Wes Marrakesh
11-28-2002, 07:36 PM
I fixed it by changing the side textures from Caulk to nodraw :)

Wes Marrakesh
11-28-2002, 08:18 PM
Well it worked last compile... now the water is just a nonsolid shader. No water, jsut a floating water top that I can move through. :(