PDA

View Full Version : brush versus MD3?


drd1138
12-09-2002, 06:36 PM
For detailed or complex objects, is it better to make .md3 models or to use brushes?

I'm working on a level that is populated with a lot of "objects" (spaceships, crates, computers, etc). I've always just assumed that it was better to create .md3 models for these and then insert them into the map with a misc_model. I heard somewhere that there was a limit to how many .md3 models you can have in a level. Are there other pros/cons? Do md3s affect framerate the same way that brushes do? Can you do scripting with a brush-built spaceship? (I'm currently attaching my misc_models to a func_plat) Also, I kind of prefer the interfaces of high-end modelling programs for doing detail work.

Any thoughts/ideas?

-drd1138

Wudan
12-10-2002, 05:15 PM
You are limited to 256 misc_models in MP, I forget how many in SP, probably 1024.

Anyway, for details, use md3s they look better.

Basically, don't try to cram too much stuff in the player's view, otherwise, his videocard will melt.

Emon
12-10-2002, 06:27 PM
MD3s? Look better? That's not true at all.

If you ARE going to use map models, use ASE models. Make sure you're using Q3Map2 and GTKRadiant 1.2.11 though.

Wudan
12-10-2002, 06:32 PM
Lol, correct, I haven't even begun to comtemplate the wider variety of models now available thanks to yndar and timbo and the rest of the GTKRadian / Q3map2 crew.

SWEEEEEEET as shugah, this new technology iz!