PDA

View Full Version : Real Lighting Problems


UbH
12-10-2002, 02:11 AM
Hey my level has cool multi color lights and stuff all over and just befor i got ready to pack it up i complied it once more to get a look at my tuch ups and my whole level is light up to the point that all my light's stoped showing up, i know i have complied it right
please can someone help me?????????:confused:

Leslie Judge
12-10-2002, 02:57 PM
Be sure that your touch ups didn't make a leak in your map.

Ryick Pa'tran
12-12-2002, 03:55 PM
Can you please explain what you mean by making sure there are no leaks?
I'm having the same problem too.

Leslie Judge
12-12-2002, 06:34 PM
I have to use someone's example again.

You have to build your map as it were a spaceship. It has to be sealed everywhere on the outside. Leak is when there is a hole in the outer hull of your map.

In that case the VIS phase of the compiling process can't decide what can be seen from what area of the map and the LIGHT phase doesn't do the lighting. That's why it is so bright.

Detail brushes and entities (like func_door) are not good for building the hull because they are invisible for the VIS phase, only structural brushes are. Radiant (every) always makes a structural brush when you create a new brush, so don't worry about that.

Ryick Pa'tran
12-13-2002, 03:28 AM
Is therea way for Radiant to search for leaks, or do I have to do it manually?


Thanks in advance.

Leslie Judge
12-13-2002, 05:26 AM
Sorry, I forgot to tell that. :)

First of all, the new GtkRadiant 1.2.11 tells you with red CAPITAL letters in the message window that your map is leaked if the BSP monitoring is turned on (Edit\Preferences\BSP Monitoring).

If not, then you can search for the junk.txt file (probably in TEMP) and open to see what happened during the compilation. If you can see ***** LEAKED ***** then it is leaked.

So, in GtkRadiant you have to load the pointfile (File\Pointfile...), JK2Radiant does it automatically. Thick red lines appear to help you find where the hole is. You can use CTRL+SHIFT+K nad CTRL+SHIFT+L to cycle through leak spots or just find the place where the red line goes outside of the map.

wedge2211
12-13-2002, 11:41 AM
JK2Radiant did this, and I don't know if GTK also does becasue I haven't leaked a map yet in GTK. But if there is a leak and you compile, then when the compile finishes there will be a red line that shows up on the 2d and 3d camera views. The line always starts at a light entitiy and goes through the map until it hits the leak spot, and then it goes out the leak. So you can use the camera, find the start of the line, and then follow it until you find where the leak is. Remember to turn off detail brushes and curves when you do this, it'll make things easier.

Ryick Pa'tran
12-13-2002, 11:03 PM
Thank you both very much. I was wondering what that red line was.:D

|SH|WOLF
12-19-2002, 01:28 AM
I need help, my red line keep going through the middel of a brush instead of going between two brushs so how do I fix a leak in the middel of a brush please help ?:confused:

Leslie Judge
12-19-2002, 04:39 AM
Calm down. :) A leak can't be in the middle of a brush even it seems so. Maybe there is an other location where that red line goes out of your map. If not, then look around that brush.

Of course if you can post a picture from the editor that can help us to figure out something wise. :)

|SH|WOLF
12-19-2002, 06:13 PM
I would like to show you put i dont know how to post a picture or take a picture from the editor :(

Leslie Judge
12-19-2002, 07:29 PM
I forgot to warn you (in case you don't know) that entities and detail brushes are not good to seal a map from the outside.

To take a picture: press Print Screen and then start a picture editing program like Paint and Paste the picture into it if it were copied. Save it as JPG and upload it somewhere. The you can post a link here to the uploaded picture.

|SH|WOLF
12-19-2002, 08:41 PM
I think that is my problem how do I change it back to normal brush. do you only make detail brushes in the inside of a brush right ?

Leslie Judge
12-20-2002, 04:44 AM
Select the brush and click with the right mouse button, then select Make Structural.

And no, not exactly. Not inside a brush but inside your map. Inside a room for example. :)

|SH|WOLF
12-20-2002, 01:24 PM
:D thanks, that worked no more leaks thanks for the help;)

|SH|WOLF
12-22-2002, 11:50 PM
what is the best way to light up a big room other than bunch of light entities

Leslie Judge
12-23-2002, 06:27 AM
Is there any? :)

Some say the ambient lighting. Some say that's not good.

An other idea is to use fewer light entities and give them a bigger scale insted of bigger light value.

Of course you have to make lightsources in your map, because the light which is coming from nowhere is not too realistic.

If we are at light sources: you can use light emitting shaders (textures) instead of light entities.

|SH|WOLF
12-24-2002, 05:15 PM
how do you make a ambient lighting

Leslie Judge
12-24-2002, 07:16 PM
Add the "ambient" key and a value of your choice to the Worldspawn.

|SH|WOLF
12-25-2002, 03:16 AM
what do you mean by worldspawn ? sorry I dont know :( im new at this .

Leslie Judge
12-25-2002, 01:00 PM
Deselect everything and press N to bring up the entity window. Scroll down in the type list to the bottom and click Worldspawn.

You also can find Worldspawn at the bottom of the right click menu but don't try to create one. It is impossible. Wordlspawn always exists.

UbH
01-05-2003, 11:04 AM
Did it again but this time its cause i made a huge map and decided to split some rooms up so it was a telaport level (easyer on the FPS) but what I think did it was the fact that while i was moveing them rooms around i left a light out on the out side of my map and its like what Leslie Judge seaid, it dont know how to light up space so it skips it and just lights up the whole map. hence get rid of that damn light of put it in something to light up :rolleyes:

Leslie Judge
01-05-2003, 05:15 PM
Why don't you just delete that light? :)

UbH
01-05-2003, 06:05 PM
Play much on the CT Chronic Server Leslie Judge?

Leslie Judge
01-06-2003, 04:00 AM
It is very rare (like a white crow) that I play online.