PDA

View Full Version : Help!!1


Metallus
12-11-2002, 01:50 PM
Ok, I've got all the Quake stuff now. I've got a question though: Is there some way that I can make a shortcut that automatically turns MLOOK on? I know that you can edit the shortcut with commands like -bpp 32 and -width 1024, but I'm wondering if there's something like that for mouse look.

Mort-Hog
12-13-2002, 08:46 PM
In your autoexec.cfg (or config.cfg, whatever you prefer) add the line +mlook to the top

Metallus
12-14-2002, 12:59 PM
I was putting in '+mlook' into the config file (at the bottom, don't if that makes a difference) which worked exactly once. When I started the game up again, the command had been erased from the file! This happened each time I put the command back into the config file.

Anyway, after you pointed out zQuake to me on IRC, I no longer needed to struggle with the config file :). Thanks for your help!

Huz
12-14-2002, 09:40 PM
Just for reference, I think you need to put it in autoexec.cfg, rather than config.cfg

Even so, I used to have this problem, until I set my config files read-only. Take that, Quake!

Mort-Hog
01-06-2003, 03:57 PM
Oh yeah, config.cfg gets cleared for some reason.
It does make a difference whether you use config or autoexec, but I don't remember what. One is loaded when you load QW and one is loaded when you connect to a server, or something like that.

Gabez
01-06-2003, 05:00 PM
For some reason I don't have any autoexec files.

What is zQuake, anyway? What are the advantages with that?

Mort-Hog
01-07-2003, 08:15 AM
ZQuake allows for much better graphics, like lots and lots of Quake mods, but more importantly, it gives you a whole load of different options to scale up or down so you can run it well on pretty much any machine. And also, you can slow down demos, which is really cool for screenshots and stuff.

Huz
01-07-2003, 12:10 PM
Other bonuses of zQuake:

* Runs compressed ".qwz" demos - my 100MB+ of demos went down to less than 20MB after compression. Get hold of "Qizmo" and compress yours today...
* Does the aforementioned slow-motion replays.
* You can host a QuakeWorld server while playing on it. At the same time! On the same computer! Super.
* ...and it has the aforementioned better graphics. The main advantage of these "better graphics" for me is that the fog makes everything lighter...

As for autoexec files, you can just create 'em and fill them with stuff you want set up every time you run Quake, like dodgy cheating aliases and things.

So, Unreal Tournament, er, tournament eh? bgbennyboy mentioned it, and we might just do it. What do you think?

Gabez
01-09-2003, 01:51 PM
Ah, thanks. I might look into that.

And as for Unreal Tournament: maybe, maybe!

scabb
01-30-2003, 03:50 PM
As long as there are no custom maps involved, I'm sure I could get Unreal Tournament installed for a tournament.