PDA

View Full Version : Regions - Secluding map portions for working and compiling


Emon
12-11-2002, 08:02 PM
I've noticed that very many people in the JO mapping community aren't aware of this very simple feature in all versions of Radiant... Regions let you seculde a portion of a map, compile it and test it seperatly from the rest. And all the info is in the Q3Radiant manual that comes with JK2Radiant and GTKRadiant.

This is the easiest thing to do:

1. Select the brushes and entities to be in a region.

2. Click Region > Set Selected Brushes.

You can now work on and compile only that portion of the map for testing. To turn off the regioning, just select Off from the Region menu.


I'm sure this is probably old news for some people, but I rarely see it talked about on JO forums, if ever. I hope some people find this helpful.

Kengo
12-11-2002, 08:23 PM
I didn't know this myself I have to admit (but then I made a few maps without knowing what caulk was either), but it's extremely useful to know, for when you only want to re-compile a certain part of the map to see how changes work out, before I either had to recompile the whole map even if to look at only one part of it, or for cutsceens where you have to re-compile near endlessly to get them right (I do anyway) I made them as seperate maps then pasted them together at the end. Thanks a lot Emon, this should make life a lot easier :)

Emon
12-11-2002, 08:32 PM
No problem. :)

I got a program error in Q3Map2 when compiling my region earlier, I don't know why. Strangly enough, after I clicked it away, it continued and compiled fine. I think it was because I had a "leak", so to speak, in my region. "Leak" meaning there were portions that weren't closed off; not exposed to the void on the full map, but exposed to nothing with the region on.

Kengo
12-11-2002, 08:39 PM
Guess one way around this is to just create a simple, temporary box around the region, then delete it when you're done compiling the region and want to move to another region/the whole map?

Emon
12-11-2002, 08:47 PM
That would work.

Of course, that may not have been the problem, it was just an idea of mine, but it seems like the most logical explination.

WhiteShdw
12-12-2002, 08:40 AM
Hey, i think it works great. I used it a lot when I was lighting DoTF v2. Why would i want to compile a whole map when i only need to see one change?

Also the performance of Radiant is a lot better, especially when you're working on a big map.

lassev
12-13-2002, 09:28 AM
Thanks, Emon. This is one thing I have been wondering a lot, and it's good to know it can be done (and will be done...).