PDA

View Full Version : lighting through objects/translucency


wedge2211
12-12-2002, 02:40 PM
Two half-related questions:

First, how can I make a shader translucent?

Second, every time I compile my city of the ancients map, the game lights through curves that are supposed to be opaque, as if they aren't even there (hit the link in my signature and look at the interior shots of the white temple to see what I mean...that bright lit square on the floor shouldn't be there). How do I fix this? I tried doing extra light passes and it didn't seem to help.

Shadriss
12-12-2002, 04:01 PM
Well, maybe I'm just blind, but I dont see the problem... the only lighting I see ppears to be coming form a light entity you placed under the cross beams of the cieling (nice wood texture BTW - Where did you get that?)

Leslie Judge
12-12-2002, 05:43 PM
Use -patchshadows in the light process! In the new GtkRadiant no q3map2 command is there with this switch. Who knows why? So you have to create a new one or modify an existing.

wedge2211
12-12-2002, 06:16 PM
Shadriss - I think the angle I took that shot at just wasn't the best to see what I meant. The wood, and the plaster on the temple walls, and the weave on the yellow temple altar came form the texture sets in an image editor I have.

Leslie - Oooooh, thanks. That does seem kind of silly not to have in the menu...

So then how about translucency? I thought that maybe I could just copy a glass shader code and change the image it uses to my canopy image, but I thought that that would result in too much transparency. I want to code something so that light/shadow passes through it but you can't actually SEE through it.

Leslie Judge
12-13-2002, 04:08 AM
"4.8.23 trans
Tells q3map that pre-computed visibility should not be blocked by this surface. Generally, any shaders that have blendfuncs should be marked as surfaceparm trans."

"6.2.1.3 blendfunc blend
Shorthand for blendfunc gl_src_alphagl_one_minus_src_alpha. This is conventional transparency, where part of the background is mixed with part of the texture."

- from the Q3A Shader Manual

I think this can help.