PDA

View Full Version : Jedi Academy Mod 1.0


zERoCooL2479
01-02-2003, 07:54 PM
Download Location: http://www.pcgamemods.com/file.php?id=1e48c4420b7073bc11916c6c1de226bb


Description: Built off the popular Vulcanus Admin Mod 2.2 core, this mod is a server only modification designed to control a server. Loaded with admin functions, Cvars, emotes, and CTF tools this is the only mod you will ever need. Customized to meet the expectations of the Jedi Academy (http://academy.jediknightii.net) this mod can be used for any clan server as well as for personal enjoyment. So step on up and download the best Server-side mod of today, tomorrow, and forever.

Additional Information :

All Vulcanus Admin Mod 2.2 functions included.
Everything is now logged to the server.
New Jedi Knight login system and its accompanied commands.
Use of Bacta during duels, disabled.
10 Second rule for duels, disabled.
Sabers igniting at spawn, disabled.
Optimized code for speed.
msay - now sends message to both Trainer and Knight.(Trainer & Knight use only)
mwhois - allows admin to see who is logged in as a Trainer and/or Knight. (Trainer & Knight use only)
mkick - now appends a message to client as well as to the server. (Trainer & Knight use only)
mkickban - now appends a message to client as well as to the server.(Trainer use only)
mtele - teleports user to a desired location. (Trainer use only)
morigin - gets players location on the map.(Trainer use only)
mpunish - punishes client. (Trainer use only)
munpunish - unpunishes client. (Trainer use only)
mreward - rewards client for passing his/her trial.(Trainer use only)
mforceteam - forces a client to a specific CTF team. (Trainer use only)
mdenyvote - denies a certain client to vote. (Trainer use only)
mallowvote - returns voting privelege to client. (Trainer use only)
mlockteam - locks a specific team in CTF mode so no one can join. (Trainer use only)
munlockteam - unlocks a specific team in CTF mode so people can join. (Trainer use only)
All items can now be pushed/pulled.
Added 14 new emotes.

zERoCooL2479
01-02-2003, 07:57 PM
I am already brewing ideas for the next version. I would love to hear ideas, suggestions, or comments. Thanks everyone, it is really appreciated :)

adillon
01-03-2003, 07:59 AM
good stuff chosen ... thanks for sharing with the community.

oh, and i just can't resist ...

CHOSEN ONE FOR JAC!! :D
(look at my sig and i HOPE you'll understand)

Lord Tnuc
01-03-2003, 08:20 AM
Perhaps something like multiple pistols, an auto-targeting(somewhat like what you see on star wars: bounty hunter), a new stealth mode, like the shadow troopers in sp, maybe enable force crystals(the ones you get when you kill shadow troopers) in mp, so that if the max force rank is jedi knight, you pick a few of those up, and you're at jedi master level.
Perhaps, toggle-able(?) saber ignition speeds, lengths, widths.

zERoCooL2479
01-03-2003, 10:13 AM
MY goal here is to keep this mod server-side only. Tnuc, those features you speak of will most likely have to be edited in the client side of things unfortunatly. Great ideas though, keep them coming :)

adillon: Nice comment, hehe...and yes I do know who you are :P

WhiteShdw
01-03-2003, 11:14 AM
Nice Work ZeroCool.

You say the code is optimized for speed. Is there a noticable speed improvement?

I'm asking this, because maybe I'll ask MarS to change the mod on the Vulcanus server to this one. I'm an admin on Vulcanus.

I'm gonna pay a visit to your server. Maybe one of your trainers can demonstrate the new features to me.

zERoCooL2479
01-03-2003, 06:06 PM
What mostly that was optimized is my own code. I got rid of unnecessary calls to functions and redundant use of code. This was a pretty lengthy process, but I can see a difference now than what this mod was in its alpha stage. Thanks for the great comment. I look forward to creating new versions to please those of the Jedi Knight II community.:D

Also, Me and a couple of buddies of mine are creating a script that works with the mod as well has some neat tools that you may find useful when playing jk2. The Jedi Academy Script will be out in a week or so.

JediLoaf
01-05-2003, 04:10 PM
well theres an alternate download spot:

http://ja.ravencommunity.net//home/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=viewdownload&cid=5


GOod job chosen, my Clan uses the mod on their server :)

Johnny-Rico
01-05-2003, 09:46 PM
howdy chosen.
I was thinking it will be cool if knights could use teleport.
For a trainer u maybe can do amgetallwepons so the trainer wont have to wait for weapons.
Maybe 1 more thing that peeps can do 2vs2 duel like 1vs1

zERoCooL2479
01-06-2003, 04:45 PM
Hehe...I think the Trainers abuse the Teleport more than enough for all of us, including myself..lol. So Knights are going to have to strive to become JAT's if they wanna use those commands.

Or you can simply run your own server with it, hehe...

Johnny-Rico
01-06-2003, 07:39 PM
lol first if i run my own server who will come there lol and second i cant run this mod in it lol doesnt work somewhy i cant make the pass work it says No pass set and i have the pass in the cfg file.

zERoCooL2479
01-06-2003, 11:19 PM
Installation:

1) Create an "academy folder" inside the gamedata folder with everything in it, except for the JediAcademy.bat file.

2) Open academy.cfg file and adjust it to your liking. (passwords, motd, cvars, etc.) and save it.

3) Then Place the JediAcademy.bat file inside the gamedata folder and double click it to run the game. (This loads the mod immediatly without having the hassle of going through the GUI)

4) When you start server, open console and type
"\exec academy.cfg"

It was done this way for that reason as well as if you created a pk3 file, chances are client would still have to download it. So eliminating the pk3 would make the mod truly serverside.

zERoCooL2479
01-13-2003, 12:55 PM
I already began to brainstorm for new ideas for the upcoming version of the mod. If anyone has some ideas they would like to see let me know and I can see what I can do. :)

Hekx
01-27-2003, 01:33 PM
I like this mod very much, I look foward to a next release.

I especially like the /amwait emote. ;)

Although I seem to be getting a problem with it reverting to default settings. IE: Full screen, not executing the autoexec.cfg in the base, settings controls to default, and all video settings being set as their factory settings.

It seems to happen after starting it up for the first time.

Even after I deleted the jk2mp.cfg and start a game, the next time I start JK2 via the .bat or command line, it still reverts to the default factory settings.

It seems to be when I play if offline, I have yet to try server-side. I have even tried adding a blank dummy PK3 in the folder to see if that helps. But with or without the PK3, it still isn't fixed.

Any help would be great, thanks.

zERoCooL2479
01-31-2003, 04:22 PM
The video settings and such are not affected by the mod. When you set your default viewing, etc. all that stuff is saved in your base folder and carried over to your "academy" folder when you start the mod. If they arent. Load the mod and set all your settings for video/sound/etc. Then, load a quick game and exit. Try reloading the Mod again with the .bat file and see what happens...If it occurs again, look to see if you have a server.cfg file that is changing your video settings.

Orbitšl
02-01-2003, 04:52 AM
I have to say I love this mod, however a few small things bug me and I was curious if anyone else has noticed this?

1. /morigin does not work, nor does /amorigin
2. When switching maps via the console, sometimes the mod
deactivates
3. I have found this cvar by doing the following:
loading Academymod, then starting a game. Exiting to main menu, then loading 'recycled', then loading academymod again.
The cvar in question is: g_useWhileThrowing

I'm curious if this is an academy mod function that is buggy, or if I have stumbled onto a cvar where all left socks and paperclips exist?

In case anyone is curious I have the mod installed in an 'academy folder' inside gamedata. I have it setup for server-side and I have a 'dummy'pk3' in as well.

-}GA{-Tetsuo
02-03-2003, 12:16 PM
This is a great mod and you should really work on it, my clan has used it since release in our server and it is very handy, a lot better than Vulcanus, and the amflip emote is great :D

zERoCooL2479
02-05-2003, 11:19 AM
To use the origin command you must either have rcon access or trainer password.

if you have rcon password, login like this: (where hello is the password)

\rconpassword hello

then to use the command, you type:

\rcon morigin username
***************************************
if you have "trainer" access:

\amlogin hello

then you can use the command:

\amorigin username

***************************************
// NOTE: the parameter "username" can be anyone on the server...

If you dont put a username for the morigin, amorigin, it automatically executes on yourself and prints out your location: (x, y, z) When you use the teleport command, dont forget there are 5 parameters needed to execute the command (ex \amtele username 45 600 20 100) The last number "100" is the angle the person is facing, that number can be any number 1-360, does'nt matter really...

zERoCooL2479
02-05-2003, 11:28 AM
Orbitšl:

Question: Why are you loading the mod a second time...The mod stays loaded as long as you dont exit the game entirely. Also, when changing maps...there should be no problem with that and the mod. I, myself, have not encountered such a bug nor have I heard anything from others. If you could write specific steps to repeat I'm sure we can figure out where it went wrong...

Thanks and I'm glad you like the Mod!!!

...and yes, I am working on a new version to be released in the near future. Stay tuned!!

Orbitšl
02-05-2003, 11:17 PM
Ok I'll try to answer this best I can.

First the rcon thing. You were right, I forgot to set it *kicks self*
For what its worth tho, I simply use "viewpos" to get my coordinates. *shrugs*
Secondly, the map switch thing I fixed & I can tell you what it was, but not why it happened.
I had the mod installed in myjk2dir./gamedata/academy
Inside the academy folder was a "vm folder", a "academy.cfg", a "Description.txt", and a "dummy.pk3" (the pk3 was so I could load the mod from the 'mods' menu while in game)

Having it setup this way meant I could not change maps.
If I changed maps, the game "acted like" the mod unloaded.
I can't tell you why as I am not a programer.
I can tell you, however, that by placing the "vm folder" inside a new pk3 (named "academy.pk3") and deleting the "dummy.pk3", the mod werks fine when I switch maps. :D

Ok for the last thing, the cvar I stumbled on was by chance, when I was trying to see why the mod kept "unloading after a map switch". What I would do is, load the mod, then a map, exit to main menu, unload the mod (remember I was testing here), reload a map, then exit to main menu and reload the mod and a map (again plz remember I was trying to determine why when switching maps, the mod "acted as if it unloaded")
While doing this is when I stumbled across the cvar "g_useWhileThrowing". I'm assuming this cvar is part of academymod.

I hope this answered your questions, and I'd like to say since I pk3'd everything, I have no problems with this mod :)

Hekx
02-06-2003, 04:41 PM
I've been able to solve the previous problem. There must've been some settings in the jk2mpconfig.cfg from the base folder it didn't like.

But; now I have an entirely different error. Here (http://www.hekx.cjb.net/stuff/error.jpg)'s a screenshot of the error on the console.
It happens whenever I restart a map with the mod running.
I downloaded the file from pcgamemods.com, could it have been a problem with the file I downloaded?

The mod loads up fine now, works perfectly, but dies apon a map restart.

Any ideas as to the solution?
I really like this mod, I hope that it may even be put into general use by my clan. :)

Orbitšl
02-06-2003, 09:14 PM
Pk3 the vm folder. This is similar to my map_restart problem I posted above. Once I pk3'd everything, the mod werked fine.

Hekx
02-07-2003, 12:10 AM
Originally posted by Orbitšl
Pk3 the vm folder. This is similar to my map_restart problem I posted above. Once I pk3'd everything, the mod werked fine. I shall try that, thanks. :)

zERoCooL2479
02-07-2003, 09:30 AM
I tried several times to try and reproduce that bug but was unable. Perhaps you can lend me a helping hand and send me th corrupt "jk2mpgame.cfg" file if you still have it. This looks like a devastating bug...So any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Mike

PS: my e-mail is chosenone@nyc.com

Orbitšl
02-11-2003, 09:17 PM
I have stopped using academymod for the time being. Don't get me wrong, I love the mod, just I hate some of the bugs.

On a side-note, in the next version could you remove the teleport effect? I don't mean the 'actual teleport feature', just the 'beam effect'. Reason is, is that it has been known to cause massive drops in framerate on my server.

zERoCooL2479
02-11-2003, 09:46 PM
Another possibility for your corrupt files is that you had run another "admin mod" that could have caused conflict.

You should try and delete these files (games.log, jk2mpconfig.cfg, server.cfg) everywhere you find them, and restart the mod.

I have tried repeatedly to recreate the problems you had and was unsuccessful :( I therefore conclude that they're not bugs. If nothing else, please make sure you installed the mod right and ran it correctly.


Thanks!!

Hekx
02-21-2003, 12:54 PM
Here's some ideas for additions to the 2.0 release, if you plan to release it. :)

Do you think you could add the /g2animent code into the mod?
The 'spawns' are useful for training, and the only other modification to use the code is JediMod. It's meant to be apart of the JKII MP source, but it's not used.

I like the emotes added in 1.0, any chance to add more? There's another animation in the animation.cfg, which is a kneel without your face looking down, this could be amkneel2. There's an 'adjust' emote for JediMod, which might look good for amadjust. There's loads of animations available in the _humanoid.gla file, and it would be nice to have more emotes. :)

Other features might include kicking / wallflipping off walls, yes like JediMod. :D
The admin controls and features currently seem to work well, although I don't really use the Teleport feature.

I'll post some more ideas, if I can think of any. :)

AOD_SySsHoCK
02-22-2003, 02:20 PM
i am not sure about this but what about adding the feature that lets you pic what your saber hilt looks like?

also could i just replace the adminmod jk2mpgame.qvm file with this one and would it work?

Hekx
02-22-2003, 09:59 PM
Custom hilt selection would be great aswell as multiple taunts. ;)

I think if you replace that file, you replace the actual mod. So unless you have edited the Jedi Academy Mod source code and compiled it, I doubt it'll add the features. :)

AOD_SySsHoCK
02-23-2003, 01:04 AM
what i am saying is this tho, i rent a server and would have to have them change the command line to make the mod work properly but what if i just replaced the actual qvm file since it is hte same name and is server side only wouldnt that work? Then i dont have to change the command line on the host pc since it still is loading the info from the adminmod directory

zERoCooL2479
02-23-2003, 06:29 PM
Hekx: I implemented all the g2animent stuff as well as the platoon code...Good idea :)


Thanks and 2.0 should be really awesome!

Here is a sneak peek of what I already done for next version...

-New Custom cVar welcome message in console.

-mgametype - Trainers can now change maps/gametypes.

-amhelp - Helps JAT's, JAK's, Students with admin commands. (Custom help messages capable)

-4 New Custom cVars to display messages for logged in/not logged in adminstrators upon use of admin command.

-Improved Jedi Vs. Merc Mode.

-g_mDebutCheats - enables hidden training modes for Jk2

Zathu Koon
02-26-2003, 02:01 PM
Hidden...training...modes..?

I do have a suggestion, is it possible to have it display the ending HP of the victor of a duel while keeping the mod serverside?

Also, would it be too much to add a cvar that enables side kicking off the wall in air, like in jedimod?

zERoCooL2479
03-01-2003, 01:18 PM
-The hidden training features I reference to are the g2animent and the g2platoon commands found in jedimod 1.2. They spawn NPC (non player characters) Its good for training :)

-I will look into showing stats after duels, while keeping the mod sevrerside only.

-1.1 will be released very soon...be on the lookout :)

Zathu Koon
03-02-2003, 12:15 PM
Yippe. :D

zERoCooL2479
03-04-2003, 12:45 AM
Go Here: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=93886

To find out how you can download it....


Cheers!!:D