PDA

View Full Version : MotF: True View Screenies


razorace
02-04-2003, 05:07 AM
There's some screenshots of the new "True View" first person view for Masters of the Force. It's still in the prototype stage so it still hasn't been implimented for Non-Kyle models yet. Eventually it should work with all models (with a simple modification) and all weapons (automatically supported). Once it is all up and running, it will be very easy to make additional models work with the system.

Woah, I have a leg AND a foot! (http://personal.palouse.net/razorace/MotF_R2_B5_shot1.jpg)

I like to call this piece, "Sparks, Two Legs, and the Sky". (http://personal.palouse.net/razorace/MotF_R2_B5_shot2.jpg)

Coming out of a roll in this shot. (http://personal.palouse.net/razorace/MotF_R2_B5_shot3.jpg)

Kyle takes a shot nap. (http://personal.palouse.net/razorace/MotF_R2_B5_shot4.jpg)

Look ma! No..err..anything. (This is the view in the middle of a backflip.) (http://personal.palouse.net/razorace/MotF_R2_B5_shot5.jpg)

Lando getting a charge out of live...for the last 5 seconds of it. (http://personal.palouse.net/razorace/MotF_R2_B5_shot6.jpg)

Lando does the electric boogy. (http://personal.palouse.net/razorace/MotF_R2_B5_shot7.jpg)

Ok, that's enough bad jokes for now. Sides, I'm out of screenies.

Later!

The Truthful Liar
02-04-2003, 05:41 AM
. . . http://64.207.13.28/mysmilies/cwm/3dlil/eek2.gif

razorace
02-04-2003, 05:51 AM
I hope that's a positive "eek". :)

Hellfire Jedi
02-04-2003, 06:17 AM
Oh.
My.
Dear.
God.
That.
Is.
The.
****.

Eldritch
02-04-2003, 03:21 PM
I get nauseous just looking at those screenshots. There's a good reason why you're not supposed to have a first person perspective when rolling and flipping...

Wudan
02-04-2003, 04:01 PM
It's more true to saber combat. Don't do flips if you can't stand to watch. Or close your eyes during flips.

I love it. Make it so that game admins can force it ;P For a true roleplay experience.

(oh, and what would it take for me to get my hands on this spiffy set up ... Me LIKES)

razorace
02-04-2003, 04:50 PM
I'm working on ways to keep if from being a motion sickness magnet. The biggest problem is that a lot of animations move SO quickly that it just looks like a big fat blur.

As for how I'm going to handle release this data, I'll have to talk to the rest of the team. It seems to me that we should release the source for this to maximize the coverage of this feature.

Azymn
02-04-2003, 04:57 PM
Cool. :D

Is that a 3rd-person perspective from in front of the head?

Wudan
02-04-2003, 05:19 PM
Cool. I'll write a tutorial on that spectator cam I ported from Q3. I still think it's pretty cool, I'd like to see it in MOTF. Of course, that's up to you ;)

razorace
02-04-2003, 05:43 PM
Syrup: No, it's linked to the actual eye tag surface on the player model. The model preperation involves blanking out the head on the model. (Otherwise, you'll see parts of the insides of your model's head.)

wudan: Maybe, I'm trying to focus my codding time on stuff that actually effects the gameplay. Sides, I'm not really sure there's a need for additional spectator views.

DarkLord60
02-04-2003, 07:49 PM
So does this work for every model?

razorace
02-04-2003, 07:59 PM
Like I said before, this will work with ANY model with a easy to make addition skin. Look at Kyle's fpls and fpls2 skins for details.

acdcfanbill
02-05-2003, 03:41 AM
Why look, its a few other screenshots :D

acdcfanbill
02-05-2003, 03:44 AM
and try this on for size...

razorace
02-05-2003, 03:55 AM
1. The dooku saber is from Bill's 2 gig JK2 dir, not MotF.
2. Ignore the debug messages in the upper left.
3. Yeah, I suck at saber combat. Bill's such a pull whore. :D

acdcfanbill
02-05-2003, 04:03 AM
yea, i should really find that offensive pk3 and remove it :S i only pull cause razor is pushy :p

PerfectJamie
02-05-2003, 06:50 AM
cool :eek: now thats one thing i always wanted! so when i have a blaster in my hand can i see the same way i can with the saber? (my hand holding the blaster, etc.) one more thing that should be worked out is the force powers, it makes saber combat cheap (pull him down then slash him while spraying lightning on him) how about so you can only do moves like grip, lightning and so on when the saber is off (like the movies) and powers like push, pull and saber throw takes half the force bar and it takes time for it to charge up (mabe jump doesnt take any force)

razorace
02-05-2003, 02:24 PM
That's unrelated to the current stuff I'm working on but, yes, MotF will be altering the Force Powers eventually.

Khier
02-08-2003, 02:07 AM
Hmm, very interesting, this true view is, potential, this mod has :)

wedge2211
02-12-2003, 09:21 PM
FEET! YES!

razorace
02-12-2003, 11:15 PM
Yeah, I figured it was pretty cool too. :)

PerfectJamie
02-13-2003, 06:23 AM
i hope this mod gets released soon! ;)
you didn't answer my question though,

can i see myself holding a blaster just like i can see myself holding a lightsaber?
i hope so :p
now that you have the cool looking legs mabe you can add sp shadows in mp or is it too laggy?

razorace
02-13-2003, 09:43 AM
Sorry, I guess I missed the question. Yes, you can also use True View with the other weapons.

And, no, I'm not planning on implimenting SP type shadows in MP. I believe it takes up a lot of CPU time and it might already be in there (if you look for it). :)

ksk h2o
02-13-2003, 09:55 AM
you do indeed have some pretty awesome additions in your mod razorace :D

razorace
02-13-2003, 06:26 PM
Thanks.

Hekx
02-21-2003, 10:32 PM
Any new screenshots of the nifty implimentations planned? :confused:

Modified saber combat code finished?

razorace
02-22-2003, 02:27 AM
Nothing to show yet. I've redo the saber hit detection to make it work better but it's not something I can screenie for.

Sorry things are taking so long. The functions I'm playing with are interconnected and I have to figure things out one thing at a time.

Unnamed Jed1
02-22-2003, 10:26 PM
Damn that looks cool.
Are the movement physics the same speed as in vanilla JK2 third person?

razorace
02-23-2003, 12:35 AM
As of now, yes, but MotF will be changing them eventually.

PerfectJamie
02-23-2003, 12:58 AM
with true view can I actualy do wall runs and rolls without switching to thirdperson?

that would be awsome I might start useing guns with this mod :p

can you make true view for single player? I would like to have that

razorace
02-23-2003, 02:16 AM
Yes.

No, I can't do this for SP without the SP source code.

PerfectJamie
02-23-2003, 02:59 AM
oh, too bad then, well I realy with lucas arts allows raven to release sp source cods and animation programs........

razorace
02-23-2003, 03:51 AM
It happens. Sides, SP already has a (crappy) FPS for the Saber. You'll live. :)

Azymn
02-26-2003, 12:40 AM
Trueview is cool - it has a very immersive feel to it. I played with it for a few minutes, doing wall runs and such and the view actually rotates with the character.
It can be disorienting at first until you get used to it, but it's WAY cool to fight with a lightsaber in 1st person perspective :)

razorace
02-26-2003, 04:10 AM
I agree, until you get used to it, it seems like the camera spins around way too much.

Kstar__2
02-28-2003, 09:09 AM
that looks really nice!

i can't wait for this mod to come out!

Littleman206
03-03-2003, 06:06 AM
Please get this up for download soon (or if tis already up tell us where). It just looks sooo sweet! combine this with promodesque(like aiming increasing your hit chance, none of that weapon proficiency stuff though) saber combat an it'd be sweet!!!!

Business_Eskimo
03-10-2003, 03:48 PM
Wow! :bounce1: All I have to say is that this looks pretty cool! Keep up the good work!

Russ
03-15-2003, 01:00 AM
It's goin' to be hard to be patient! I simply can't wait!

razorace
03-15-2003, 01:43 AM
Things are coming to a head now. We're testing release 2 now. The main bottleneck is Y with the documentation.

DarkLord60
03-16-2003, 03:45 AM
Mo Pics! :D

razorace
03-16-2003, 04:05 AM
Give me 15 freakin' minutes and R2 will be availible for d/l.

razorace
03-16-2003, 04:34 AM
Ok it's up. You can find it at your local jk2 file site or at http://personal.palouse.net/razorace/MotFR2.zip

DarkLord60
03-16-2003, 02:59 PM
Sweet I am trying it right now!

DarkLord60
03-16-2003, 03:25 PM
very cool I wish I could just take dodginng out. cause all characters dodge I dont like that but it is cool for jedi and sith. Overall very nice I give it 8/10 I like.

razorace
03-20-2003, 02:44 AM
Eventually your amount of Dodge will be based on the skills you got. For now, everyone has the same amount to make things easier.

g-blatt
04-02-2003, 04:50 AM
I'm having a problem with MOTF 2 I put the MOTF.pk3 and truevew.cfg in the base folder and nothing hapened! can someone help me please?

razorace
04-02-2003, 04:54 AM
easy, don't do that. You gotta put it in a MotF folder in the gameData directory. Then simply load it in the Setup->mod menu in MP.

g-blatt
04-02-2003, 05:05 AM
I just tried that, and Natha!
Now: the setup/mod menu never seems to do anything for me, I think it's a Mac thing but I don't know...

razorace
04-02-2003, 05:09 AM
woah, you're running the Mac version? I've never tested it on that platform. Do mods normally run on it?

g-blatt
04-02-2003, 12:33 PM
Yes, Mods normally run automatically on the mac version; all I have to do is put the reluvent .pk3, .cfg, ect... files in the base folder and go!





:fett:

razorace
04-02-2003, 03:08 PM
There's no mod menu?! Time to call technical support can't this is different than the PC version...

g-blatt
04-06-2003, 11:10 PM
There is a mod menu it just doesn't do anything

razorace
04-06-2003, 11:26 PM
Hmmm....sorry, I have no clue what the deal is. I suggest you ask technical support @ LEC.

g-blatt
04-17-2003, 01:20 AM
I just did and they gave me the brush off, as long as the mods work there's no problem in there mind. :rolleyes:

razorace
04-17-2003, 01:59 AM
The Mod Menu is normally under the "Setup" button in the main menu. have you looked there?

g-blatt
04-17-2003, 03:49 AM
There is a mod menu it just doesn't do anything

razorace
04-17-2003, 04:40 AM
You have to have the mods setup correctly in the /gameData/modname directory for the mod menu to work.

-=ReApEr=-
04-17-2003, 04:43 AM
try unzipping all the fils at the same time to the directory that normally works
:)