View Full Version : model Name help

02-10-2003, 07:39 AM
ok..i download this new skin and i want too switch its name how can i switch this model name?? every time i try and switch the folder name i get in it and my skins are not there..there is just a saber..what do i do too get this name switching thing too work?

02-10-2003, 02:52 PM
Create a base folder on your c: drive


next add those sub-dirs

c:\base\models\players\"your renamed player"

Once that is done move your stuff in there. Next you need to edit the .skin files so they point to your newly renamed character...like this:

If your character was named kyle you would go from this...


to this:

head,models/players/"your renamed player"/head.jpg

Do that for evey texutre in every .skin files.

If you want to add sounds create/copy this dir:

base\sound\chars\"your renamed player"\misc

Put all the sounds in there, mp3 sampled a 44khz and they have to be named correctly.

Install winzip...if not installed already.

Once that's done, go to the models folder/right click and select "winzip" and add to zip file. This will create your basic .pk3 file.

Now if you want sounds, you will repeat the steps but instead of adding to a new zip file, select "add to recently used zip file" and select the zip you just created (most likely models.zip).

Rename to whatever you want and change the extension to .pk3, move that file to your JK2 gamedata\base folder.

02-10-2003, 07:46 PM
ok i now what too do buthow to i open my .skin file?? i been trying forever! how do i do this?? Psyk0Sith add me too msn hpiman004@hotmail.com or aol hpiman004@hotmail.com

02-10-2003, 08:31 PM
Like i said in the pm, i dont have any messenger, you can contact me here or: psykopat@geocities.com