PDA

View Full Version : Why can't I Test or Play my Scenario without it going haywire and closing??


palpy05
02-12-2003, 06:26 PM
I REALLY need help with this.

I am making a Senate scenario to play on the Zone.com. When I Save and Test it, the music starts, then the colors are distorted and it returns me to my desktop while the music is still playing in the background. When I try to play it in Single-Player mode, the same thing happens. How can I get to play and test it? Please help!:confused:

Obese
02-21-2003, 04:32 PM
You appear to have a bug in your scenario. Check through all possible triggers that fire near the beginning, and if something is incorrect, fix it.

palpy05
02-21-2003, 05:21 PM
Thanks for the reply. I'll see if it works.

:deathstar

JamesMartigo
02-22-2003, 03:27 PM
Certain trigger can crash the game. These usually incolve tasking gaia objects. It can easily occur that you make a task trigger, but that the desired object is not properly selected (always press 'go to object' !), and this will cause the game to task EVERY gaia object (even trees etc) to a certain location, and this crashes the game. Gaia unit's don't like task commands...

Sithmaster_821
02-23-2003, 05:32 PM
This happens to me very often. Usually its because a trigger was not filled out completely or was implemented incorrectly. It's a real pain in the ass to have to go back and check every trigger (especially with something like Senate) so my advise would to prevent this from happening in the first place. I recommend testing every 5-10 triggers so you don't have to find that one needle in a haystack of triggers

The Vandhaal
03-03-2003, 05:56 PM
The problem you have can be two things:

(1)The triggers are somewhere wrong and have a conflict which causes a bug/crash.
(this is the most occured problem)

Some advise for creating:

Check(test) and save the campaign always if you have created a important part of your triggers.(under a new name that is)

By this way you can find the parts of the triggers which cause the problem easy

(2) Some times parts of a created terrain in the map can cause problems (for in: when a unit walks/sails/drives over them)
if you have this problem the only way to solve it is to change the parts which makes the game crash

But I think problem nr (1) is your problem

Regards,
The Vandhaal
http://www.freewebs.com/vandhaal/

palpy05
03-31-2003, 08:53 PM
I fixed the problem; thanks SO much for your help!

:atat:

:deathstar :deathii: